We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fraai Uitzicht 1798
Nearby Hotels
US$138
US$117
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$283
US$240
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$246
US$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Loganda Karoo Lodge(Touwsrivier)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
182
28
3
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
28
3
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury cottagecertain days of the weekexcellent foodoutdoor showerherb gardenone nightwine makerbeautiful countrysidefabulous mealwine pairinghis wifethe cottagesstayed longernext morningthis wonderful placethose placestwo nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2011

We chose to stay here for the last night of our holiday and it couldn't have been better. Situated up a peaceful side road, the location is lovely. For dinner we chose the Fine Wine & Dine menu which gives you a great selection of food and local wine, although you may need to starve yourself beforehand to fit in all six courses. All the staff were extremely helpful, efficient and good humoured and you really get the impression that Karl, the owner, wants to do all he can to make you enjoy your stay.

The room we stayed in was very comfortable, even if the remote controlled lighting was unnecessarily complicated and slightly temperamental. The trendy open plan shower meant wet feet to get to the toilet but these are minor niggles from a very enjoyable stay. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HairyHighlander22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

We had a fantabulous weekend at Fraai Uitzicht!The food was amazing,the wine was outstanding,the accomodation was lovely and pleasantly different!The owners are very friendly,insightful and Karl's knowledge of wines and wine growing is impressive.Sandra's food is so good that the memories will last a lifetime!A really special place ! I will recommend it to all my friends!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggy1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

I had the pleasure of having my 40th birthday dinner at Fraai Uitzicht with 24 friends and family. We were offered three options - beef, salmon-trout and polenta which we organised with friends and family a week before arriving. They served a starter of tomato soup and ended with a chocolate fondant. Everyone told me their meals were delicious and Fraai Uitzicht's wine was excellent. The host Karl and chef Sandra (and Jonine and their waiters) were perfectly unobtrusive and had the event very well timed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nic_see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Very peaceful location with welcoming and attentive owners and staff. Accomodation is simple (almost rustic) but high quality bedding etc. Good kitchen and their own wines as well as others are available. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DieHoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

We stayed at Fraai Uitzict as part of a long trip along the garden route. We initially found the location a bit too far off the beaten track, but once we found we could drive at 50mph on the 6km long gravel road, it wasn't bad at all. The location is very peacefull, and the accomodation was really like something out of a fairy tale. We had a small cottage, adjoining the main building with a loft mezannine double bed, and kitchen, lounge and 2nd bedroom on the ground floor. The outdoor bathroom was something new for us to try, and showering outside in the morning was a lovely experience with views over the vineyards. The staff were extremely helpful. I needed to visit a doctors unfortunately and the hosts booked an appointment nearby within 1 hour.
The food had to have been one of the best meals we had in South Africa. The 7 course wine tasting menu was a memorable experience.
Well worth a couple of nights, or more.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews