We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fraai Uitzicht 1798
Nearby Hotels
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Loganda Karoo Lodge(Touwsrivier)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
182
28
3
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
28
3
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury cottagecertain days of the weekexcellent foodoutdoor showerherb gardenone nightwine makerbeautiful countrysidefabulous mealwine pairinghis wifethe cottagesstayed longernext morningthis wonderful placethose placestwo nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2011

A group of four of us arrived looking for a possible late lunch venue and a tasting from a vineyard we hadn't experienced before. We found a beautiful setting, interesting lush gardens, a warm friendly welcome by a hostess who conducted a tasting in a pleasant informative way aound an outside table. It was all very relaxed and informal. One of our party was standing in such a way that the tip of his shoe rested on the edge of the arm of a wooden outside chair, when, who one can only presume was the owner, walked into our group with a cloth excused himself and made a spectacle of wiping it thoroughly and leaving.
Needless to say that conduct which made us feel most unwelcome resulted in lunch enquiries being made elsewhere.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
Thank bruce s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

i've had lunch here twice including feb 2011.Its a fabulous place with scenic views excellent food and wine and great staff and service.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank recordable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

The whole experience was amazing - from the booking via e-mail, the room, the views, the supper to the AMAZING breakfast.

The host makes the wine and the hostess is the chef with a recipe book to her name. Visit their website - what you see there is really what you get.

Although quite pricey, we enjoyed our stay very much & would definitely stay there again. No need to book the most expensive room - even the cheapest is a lovely suite with a living area, bar fridge, TV , coffee making facility and private verandah. We booked quite late & this was the only room available - I would book it again.

A lovely pool & deck chairs in the stunning garden are available for guests.

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelsanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

We chose to stay here for the last night of our holiday and it couldn't have been better. Situated up a peaceful side road, the location is lovely. For dinner we chose the Fine Wine & Dine menu which gives you a great selection of food and local wine, although you may need to starve yourself beforehand to fit in all six courses. All the staff were extremely helpful, efficient and good humoured and you really get the impression that Karl, the owner, wants to do all he can to make you enjoy your stay.

The room we stayed in was very comfortable, even if the remote controlled lighting was unnecessarily complicated and slightly temperamental. The trendy open plan shower meant wet feet to get to the toilet but these are minor niggles from a very enjoyable stay. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HairyHighlander22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2010

We had a fantabulous weekend at Fraai Uitzicht!The food was amazing,the wine was outstanding,the accomodation was lovely and pleasantly different!The owners are very friendly,insightful and Karl's knowledge of wines and wine growing is impressive.Sandra's food is so good that the memories will last a lifetime!A really special place ! I will recommend it to all my friends!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggy1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews