We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food heaven”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Robertson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fraai Uitzicht 1798
Ranked #5 of 25 Robertson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We had picked Fraai Uitzicht as a destination based on the accommodation and location...it was only when we arrived that we realised we were in for a gourmet extravaganza!! We were in the Shiraz room, which was an individual building overlooking the gardens and swimming pool with a lovely little terrace outside. Lovely spacious well furnished bedroom and large sitting area, fabulous bathroom and an outdoor shower, which was beautifully laid out and we used that rather than the indoor one, because it was there! Carl and Sandra were good hosts,and the dinner menu was stunning,.....try the tasting menu...out of this world! A lovely breakfast, taken on the terrace set us up for a day of exploring vineyards recommended by Janine. We do need to go on a diet now after such wonderful food! A great stay on many levels.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennydecember12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2013

We have stayed here twice, and enjoy the hospitality, ambience, excellent food and the property's own wine. Their Merlot is superb.
Carl, Sandra and Janine show a real passion for making their guests welcome and it is a great place to relax, with a nice pool and garden and beautiful accomodation. Walking around the neighbouring vineyards in the spectacular scenery is most enjoyable, making it an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Merlot is a lovely suite and nicely situated in the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Romantic, good food, friendly staff .... we loved our time here ... we traveled from Bonnievale and this was the perfect stop over at the end of our trip ... but the best part of the stay was the food, it was simply the best meal we have ever had! We came as guests and left as friends. Overall this was a first class place with first class food and we would love to stay there again if we are ever lucky enough to return to South Africa.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luuk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

A very beautiful accommodation, with a lots of special details in the rooms and garden.
A very friendly staff and one of the best restaurants in the Western Cape.
Go for the "Wine & Dine" menu and you will be surprised!!
Definitely a place to come back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arthurvdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Our only mistake is that we spent only one night at Fraai Uitzicht. The location, just outside Robertson, makes it easy to visit other excellent wine estates nearby. The rooms (we had cottage "Merlot") are luxurious and spacious and set in magnificent gardens overlooking the pool and herb garden. There was personal interaction from management and when we had locked our keys in our car and had to wait for a locksmith, we were assured we neednt hurry to vacate our room and were offered champagne! The food was outstanding and the service excellent. Can't fault them on anything and would readily recommend this establishment again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We, a Swedish group of experienced travellers, had selected the Fraai Uitzicht 1798 as a most interesting place to stay and to test wines. We had alrady "tested" the excellent Steenberg in Constantia and Zevenwacht in Stellenbosch.
This place was a little different. It is a small place, at the end of a road leading "nowhere". We were met at the gate and given the proper directions to get to our sleeping quarters. The rooms were OK - one might perhaps expect a slightly higher standard. But from now on everything was remarcable. The presentation of the wines at the wine tasting was something better than we have ever experienced earlier - not only on this trip, but my 11 years in South Africa included. It was a most personal and professional "wiminar" where the various processes were dealt with intimately. Maybe the summit of the wine tasting was the presentation of a new "experimental" wine. Not only was the wine very nice and inviting, but we were also informed about what courses on the menu would go best with this wine - and the others as well. We also had the opportunity to meet Karl, the wine maker, who gave us some aditional information.
We had a splendid evening - and a sad good bye the next morning. But we had to leave - to meet new, exciting adventures.

Room Tip: Book well in advance. Double rooms are more than twice as good as the single ones. Don't miss t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Heading for Stellenbosch we were absolutely lucky to have found this Fraai Uitzicht guesthouse and winery. The access from the parking area to the entrance of the main building promises the best there can be and indeed... dreams come true.
We were three couples and stayed in great rooms with all possible comfort and amenities. Also free WIFI !!
We had dinner in their restaurant that serves excellent food both for quality and presentation.
The host and his staff are most friendly and even entertaining.
Breakfast was fabulous with a bottle of pink quality sparkling wine served. Heaven !!
The establishment is perfectly located amidst its vinyards and with great views of the surrounding mountains.
Excellent value for money. We would recommend this place to all who visit the area.

Room Tip: Try to have a room close to the main lounge. Some rooms are a bit far from the 'heart' of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umberto-Huby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robertson hotels
6.9 mi away
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
1.1 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
6.8 mi away
Ballinderry, The Robertson Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
MO & ROSE at Soekershof
#7 of 25 in Robertson
147 reviews
12.8 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#3 of 25 in Robertson
377 reviews
4.2 mi away
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
Excelsior Manor Guesthouse
#4 of 25 in Robertson
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fraai Uitzicht 1798? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fraai Uitzicht 1798

Address: Klaas Voogds East, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Robertson
Hotel Class:4 star — Fraai Uitzicht 1798 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Fraai Uitzicht 1798 Hotel Robertson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing