We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mallowdeen Gardens
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Loganda Karoo Lodge(Touwsrivier)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
18
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
1
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We had a most relaxing 4night stay in one of the cottages by the pool. All our needs were catered for by Rita & Wim which included delicious, appealingly presented breakfasts with plenty of choice and an interesting method of poaching eggs. They were most helpful with restaurant recommendations and reservations. It turned out we were within a few minutes drive of 3 of the best 4 restaurants in the Robertson area. The Japanese garden is Rita's labour of love and a very short stroll from the cottage. The dog enjoys the walk too.The birdlife was a treat and the views and sunsets truly spectacular. We intend to return later this year for a longer stay and explore more of the area and its friendly, hospitable people.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Hives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

My wife and I stayed in one of the cottages at Mallowdeen for 2 blissful nights. The hosts were friendly and helpful throughout our stay, helping with recommendations for wineries and restaurants and preparing our lovely poolside breakfast. The cottage is comfortable and fun, with a nice kitchen and braai area for self catering. There were even some very special touches in the room like the African drum to use as a stool at the vanity and a complimentary bottle of wine.

Fair warning: There is no bathroom door. So be prepared to get to know your travel partner very well!

I would love to go back here with a large enough group to rent out the entire property. In 2 days, we barely scratched the surface of all that is available in the Robertson area and we look forward to coming back ASAP!

Room Tip: Stay in the cottages!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevFDev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

One of the most relaxing places i have ever stayed.
Not too far from the near by wineries. Beautiful little cottages surrounded by tranquil gardens and a lovely clear pool.
Wonderful helpful hosts.
Was very hard to leave.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgie_Diogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This place is VERY,VERY,VERY special. This was our second visit and we managed to book in for a whole week. Rita and Wim are exceptional. It is their home, but they make you feel that for a short time it is yours too. They have poured love and energy into the gardens . The "Rondevals" are not air conditioned and don't have the opulence and luxury of some hotels,but their is a studied style and every comfort is catered for. Too hot,just slide into the well maintained pool outside your door! Visit before it is too late! They will not be around for ever and you will NOT find kinder, better hosts anywhere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eliza1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed at Mallowdeen guest house for the 3 nights over the Wacky Wine festival period.

I would recommend this guest house to anyone going to the Robertson area. Wim and Rita's (and their beautiful dogs) hospitality is wonderful.

The special care taken every morning with a wonderful breakfast is amazing. The cottages are beautiful and extra care was taken in laying it out. They have beautiful gardens,stunning pool and tranquil surroundings

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the cottages around the pool and it was wonderful
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanria-kemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews