We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy with awesome hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Olive Garden Country Lodge
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This establishment is very cosy but must admit that was expecting more regarding the rooms, in the middle of winter a fireplace is a major necessity and having to jump out of bed in the middle of the night to add more wood to a fire is not my idea of fun and as well as running out of wood left us a little chilly. The rooms needs a major overall for the price as they decor doesn't make sense and is a bot dated. As for the hospitality from the owners though.....amazing! The food is something we have never had before and maybe the first places to ever try olive oil and ice cream.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clinton1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our stay lasted 3 nights during the Cape Epic. This required early starts and our hosts were kind enough to cook hot breakfasts at 5am each morning. (Always with smiling faces) We also took advantage of Fernand's wonderful meals each evening. Nothing was a problem. A friendly guest house, a home away from home with the addition of beautiful views and unique decor. Would recommend highly to anyone who wants a quiet place to stay while in this part of SA. Also enjoy the IGADI olive oil that comes from the many olive trees surrounding the house. Wonderful memories!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The Lodge is located in a lovely area. The layout of the chalets allows for good views of the surrounding area and hills from the veranda. The bathroom and bedroom were quite spacious and the veranda was also a good size. The complimentary tapas and glass of wine served on our veranda at sunset was a lovely touch. Breakfast was good with various different types of preserves and cheeses on offer. We did not have dinner at the Lodge, but opted for dinner at the Fraai Uitzight farm restaurant, which was stunning!

The room, although clean, needed urgent general maintenance. Slate tiles on bathroom floor and in shower looked (are?) grubby. Paint was coming off the walls in the bathroom and the entire unit was in desperate need of a new coat of paint. The plug in the one the basins was stuck and wouldn't let the water out. The bedding was old and very tired. The once white (now a scary grey) bathrobes need to be replaced, or removed. One of the pillowcases on the bed was torn and the old foam mattress was like a rock. The brown towels supplied are not my favourite as these are normally used to hide stains. By advertising it as a working farm does it imply that the overall condition of the room including the quality of linen and toweling supplied can be neglected? I don't think so...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hummock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Olive Garden Country Lodge is quite unique and special and that is courtesy of its owners Gina and Fernand. We were sadly only there for one night and arrived just after dark due to some badly judged timing of driving distances by me! Our disorganisation continued as I had neglected to inform Gina in advance that I am vegetarian. Both Gina and Fernand were nothing but extremely gracious and Gina was quick to decide on a tasty risotto for me (while I was offering to just have an omelette!). Our family room was extremely comfortable (and warm, despite the cold night), with a superb outdoor seating / braai area. Indoor and outdoor bathrooms were well equipped. However for me it wasn't the accommodation that made this place special, it was the passion of the owners for their olives, their evident hospitality skills and superb and often highly original cooking. We felt as though we had been welcomed into their home - yet with the independence and privacy of our cottage retreat. Gina has great plans for the future, including cookery courses, and although I am not normally much of a foodie I would love to return and spend a few days here relaxing, chatting to Gina and Fernand, exploring the beautiful farm and learning more about cooking and olives...their passion is quite infectious!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ngoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

A private valley next to the wine route, extremely friendly service and a Grand Chef 's table based on own local bio products combined with fine olive tasting made by IGADI self, makes this experience heavenly

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

This place is something different but special.Gina and Fernand are special.There love for good olive oil and great food is special.An experience not to be missed.I shared a lodge with 2 friends .I had a very special covered outside bathroom with a shower etc and it was a great experience.
The meals we were served were exceptional and unique.A place not to be missed if you are visitng The Garden Route Wine Region.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the outside bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We have never seen hospitality like that provided by Gina and Fernand at Olive Garden Country Lodge. Our room was beautiful and the baby cot already set up for us. We were welcomed with wine, cheese, and homemade snacks. Their working farm is in a private valley of high desert, fruit trees, olive groves, and lovely hikes. Fernand was our private chef treating us to the best meals we have had in South Africa. Lamb, fruits, and olive oil fresh from the farm here paired delightfully with wines from the surrounding vineyards. Wonderful desserts including home made goats cheese ice cream. Would plan on eating dinner every night it is an option here. Gina and Fernand made us feel like family welcoming us and our baby in for New Years Eve. Our son very much enjoyed the fresh organic baby food that Gina made for him daily and sent us on our way with. We also drove through and spent time in Stellenbosh, but in hindsight would gave stuck to the Robertson Valley area and south of here and along R43 east of the mountains. Would highly recommend the riverboat picnic at Viljoensdrift followed by a desert at Van Loveren lovely tasting room just down the road.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robertson hotels
0.7 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
11.9 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#3 of 25 in Robertson
399 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pat Busch Mountain Reserve
Pat Busch Mountain Reserve
#3 of 22 in Robertson
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#2 of 25 in Robertson
661 reviews
5.8 mi away
Randrivier Guest House
Randrivier Guest House
#11 of 25 in Robertson
15 reviews
5.6 mi away
Cedar Lodge Guest House
Cedar Lodge Guest House
#12 of 25 in Robertson
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Garden Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Garden Country Lodge

Address: Concordia Farm | Klaas Voogds West, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Robertson
Price Range: £74 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olive Garden Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olive Garden Estate surrounded by olive trees in the most secret valley out of Robertson Klaasvoogd West completely sheltered from the Langeberg.Nature at his best -Tranquility-Enjoy. The plentiful use of natural materials from the estate set the tone and ambience, mesmerizing even the most lavish guest!!! Attention to detail fulfill all expectations. Warm, earthly hues, soft fabrics ,Egyptian cotton and stylish comfortable furnishings set the tone for a relaxing stay.All rooms have equally breathtaking and frontal mountain and views from their balconies. From here, the spectacular view over the valley is exceptional. A real Tuscan feeling "Far Niente" or doing nothing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Olive Garden Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing