We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, comfortable stop on R62 with excellent food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Olive Garden Country Lodge
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, comfortable stop on R62 with excellent food”
Reviewed 16 August 2009

The welcome at the Olive Garden is fabulous with welcome drinks and a tour of the cottages and facilities by Gina. The seperate cottages are well appointed with comfortable rooms. Ours had a luxurious bathroom and the second bedroom had an outdoor ensuite with shower, which our teenage children used. We especially liked the log fire when the sun went down as it does get chilly in the winter. Fernand's meals were delicious and excellent value. The location is on the olive farm that Gina and Fernand are developing and we were delighted to be given a small gift of olive oil on our departure. The 'doggy welcoming committee'was great, - just ignore the loud barks as you roll up to reception: both dogs are very friendly and keen to see what you are up to whenever you're out and about.
The swimming pool should be great in summer and there's also a hot tub.
The views over the farm and mountains are great and the peace and quiet is refreshing, and is only a short drive from Robertson.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HunsleyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    18
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
48
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

We decided quite late deciding our South African Itinerary to book a night here based upon the rave reviews in Trip Advisor. We are so please we managed to stay here and sample for ourselves the superb atmosphere and food of the Olive garden. Gina, Fernand and their family made us (family of four) most welcome. The accommodation is just outside Robertson on the R60 towards Ashton. It is off the main road along a well maintained dirt road. On arrival we met Gina and Fernand who were fresh back from the “Taste of the Cape” festival.
The small group of self contained houses are located on one side of the valley along with a small clean pool and a great Jacuzzi nestling in an Olive Grove. The garden is well maintained and contains many wonderful pots and sculptures. The restaurant is also located in this area. Gina and Fernand enjoy art and the whole area has a lovely bohemian feel to it. Our accommodation was very beautifully decorated and had a fridge and an outside BBQ area. Internally there were two bedrooms, one with an en suite outside toilet and shower, there was a lovely bathroom with shower and bath and a sitting room. The bed linen was particularly worth a mention, beautifully white and crisp.
We quickly made use of the pool and Jacuzzi and relaxed into the Olive garden atmosphere. Gina brought through some snacks and drinks to welcome us.
They also have two wonderfully friendly boxers and we fell in love with them both.
At the time we were the only residents and it was lovely to have the whole area to ourselves with views across the valley and to the farmhouse where Gina & Fernand live. The surrounding mountains looked particularly striking in the evening sunlight.
That evening we indulged in a superb 3 course meal complete with a selection of wines with each course. A tempter was the farm produced olive oil “Agadi” with bread, a delicious springbok pate with home produced jams and chutneys. Followed by the most tender Sirloin steak in peppercorn sauce accompanied by caramelised peaches and Belgian fries. Pudding was a divine tart made with farm grapes. This was followed by coffee made in antique silver filter pots.
The whole evening was fantastic. Gina was a great host and Fernand a great chef.
We slept very well in the cosiest of beds.
The following morning we again tucked into a delicious breakfast, the freshest of pineapples, cereals, freshly squeezed orange juice, lovely coffee, then a cordon bleu hot breakfast of smoked salmon on blini, a herb filled omelette and crispy bacon on rhubarb jam on a bini. A taste explosion! For those who have a more traditional taste in breakfasts, like my daughter, you can tuck into bacon and eggs.

We were going to leave after breakfast but quickly decided to relax in the Olive garden atmosphere for as long as possible and head off at lunchtime to our next port of call in Oudtshoorn.

The Olive garden is a truly amazing place and the enthusiasm of Gina and Fernand is infectious. The atmosphere here is very relaxing and we would have loved to stay longer to explore the area in more detail. If you love art and good food you will love it here. Of course there is delicious Olive Oil and homemade preserves to buy and remember those lazy crazy food filled evenings in the Olive Garden.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

"Maman, we want to stay here", that is the sentence my kids spoke to me on the day we have to leave Olive Country lodge. The place is as beautiful as the best romentic view in Hollywood movie. The room which we stayed is a family room which is very comfortable, nice decoration, very private and infrond of us is olive garden. Gina and her husband who I saw only two days but already become as close as my unle and aunty. They are so kind and their food: oh lala, c'est tres bon!!!!!!!!!!!! After trying your food in several restaurant in Cape Town, you could feel like you are eating FOOD of The King when you are here: in Olive Country Lodge. Please come to try and stay here during your trip to Cape. I guarantee you will catch your chance to come back as soon as you have holiday.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linhserene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2009

Wonderful setting in a hidden valley close to R62. Gina is a wonderful host and Fernand a great chef. They give you South African hospitality combined with Belgian "savoir vivre". The active olive farm produces a top quality organic oil. We will definitely visit them again.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank africabaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersfoort, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2008

Olive Garden country Lodge is situated in a Valley in Klaas Voogd West (near Robertson). The lodge is only just renovated and consist of 4 room in 2 cottages (some have a fireplace) and a family room. We stayed in a so called pool view room. This is a nice, spacious room with separate bath and shower. On our request (for next time when we bring the family) the familly cottage. This is also very nice with 2 double bedrooms, a lounge one bathroom in the cottage and one "outdoor' , connected to the cottage, bathroom and a big patio with a braai. All nicely decorated. The views from the patio's of the rooms are very nice towards the mountains. The pool itself is a bit small (3x6 meter) but you will also find a hot tub near the pool. The outside temparatures were allready high so I didn't need the hot tub, but maybe in the winter it would be nice.
Olive Garden is a working olive farm. The Belgian owners have transformed the previous self catering cottages into very nice rooms with nice bathrooms with seperate bath and shower. The garden is lovelly with lots of flowers and of course olive trees. The delicious breakfast is served in a small "restaurant" in a seperate building . On request it is also possible to have dinner here (set 3 course dinner).
The lodge is situated in a very quiet valley next to the Pat Bush nature reserve. The owners will try to help you arrange any trip you want, they arranged our horseriding on a farm in the Robertson valley.
In the Breede river valley you will find some fantastic winecellars (especially Springfield). People in the valley are very friendly, it is a lot less touristy than Stellenbosch.

  • Liked — comfort, peace, friendly
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ekholland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Robertson hotels
6.2 mi away
The Robertson Small Hotel
The Robertson Small Hotel
#2 of 25 in Robertson
544 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rosendal Winery & Wellness Retreat
11.8 mi away
Orange Grove Farm
Orange Grove Farm
#3 of 25 in Robertson
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
GUBAS DE HOEK meet eat sleep
6.6 mi away
Randrivier Guest House
Randrivier Guest House
#11 of 25 in Robertson
13 reviews
1.2 mi away
Pat Busch Mountain Reserve
Pat Busch Mountain Reserve
#3 of 20 in Robertson
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olive Garden Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olive Garden Country Lodge

Property: Olive Garden Country Lodge
Address: Concordia Farm | KlaasVoogds West, Robertson 6705, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Robertson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Robertson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Olive Garden Country Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olive Garden Estate surrounded by olive trees in the most secret valley out of Robertson Klaasvoogd West completely sheltered from the Langeberg.Nature at his best -Tranquility-Enjoy. The plentiful use of natural materials from the estate set the tone and ambience, mesmerizing even the most lavish guest!!! Attention to detail fulfill all expectations. Warm, earthly hues, soft fabrics ,Egyptian cotton and stylish comfortable furnishings set the tone for a relaxing stay.All rooms have equally breathtaking and frontal mountain and views from their balconies. From here, the spectacular view over the valley is exceptional. A real Tuscan feeling "Far Niente" or doing nothing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Olive Garden Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing