We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique!”
Review of Teniqua Treetops

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Teniqua Treetops
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is a great place providing you understand what to expect. If you are uncomfortable with the thought of large spiders and other insects sharing you living quarters, one to avoid (though it's nothing like "I'm a celebrity"). If you are a nature lover though this will provide a great experience in glamping (glamorous camping). All the local bugs and beasties are well explained in the room literature. Staff are very friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. BBQ (braai!) facilities in the room/tent/log cabin with a fridge, hob and other creature comforts. Buy a six pack and watch the sun set over the mountain in style.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hi, pleased you enjoyed your stay. It is a forest and while there is nothing dangerous insects abound. I am from a city it took me a while to get used to it
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    148
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
115
253
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Loved everything about Teniqua. The tented rooms, the green fields with horses, the walking trail straight out of a fairy tale, the loeries and swimming in the rock pools at the bottom of the ravine. Magical Place!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tracy-lee V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Manager at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you, hope to see you again in the future
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I recommend the Gorge View cabin. It is amazingly luxurious but still keep the illusion of camping in the forest. Everything is green and the human footprint is kept to a minimal. The river walk is just challenging enough to give a sense of accomplishment once completed. Don't forget to just take a moment to take in the awe inspiring surroundings. You wont regret staying an extra day just to sit on your deck and admiring the view while reading a book.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wiets W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thanks Wiets, I think we are so fortunate to own a piece of paradise. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Good Location, Nice View out of the rooms, Good bathroom, it was very lovely , Many birds , nice Sundowner, very silent, good bedroom , good sleeping, good staff, we will come back ervery time in a other seosans



  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Reiner T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Hi Reiner, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you come back. We get a few really hot and really cold days, but generally our climate is mild and its wonderful all year around. Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We had a very pleasant stay there. But dont´except climbing until the top of big trees and having a night there, the hut are built on piles in a forest on a slope. Expensive for what it is, even if very nice. The hiking path is not maintained with care, that make the walk no so pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sabie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Hi, thanks for the input on the path, we will go and recheck it. Its summer and a forest and its been wet so trees grow fast and keeping a path open without damaging the trees is an ongoing maintenance issue. We clearly need to go down again this week and check on it. We keep the path as an adventure, so you will need to climb over and under branches and down rocks. And it is narrow. But it must be open and navigable and wild
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This was the best place we stayed in the whole of Southern Africa.
As soon as we got onto the property it was so peaceful and beautiful.
It was awesome being able to see the stars while we slept and being able to have a Braai in the outdoor living area was great.
I loved the bathroom too. The walk down to the river to swim was also a highlight

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you Sarah. Our resort is unique and guests tend to have strong emotions about it. Its wild and yet we hope really comfortable. I am pleased you appreciated it. Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This is most definitely the place for if you're looking for a quiet and peaceful location set in the forest, as it has everything you may expect, and a bit more...

My wife & I stayed over for a romantic weekend away in February to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary and loved the isolation offered by the treetop tents! We were escorted by Beatrice, after a very friendly welcome, to the furthest tent named 'Moon over Milkwood'. There was however a nearby tent quite a lot closer than we would have expected, but it had sadly burnt down a few months prior.

The views over the gorge from the deck were spectacular, with nothing but the sounds of birds and a few other animal calls. The tent is fully out-fitted, with a kitchen that supplies almost anything you might need and a very comfortable bed! The outside bathroom is something to get used to, with an 'eco-waterless' toilet. Hot water is provided by either the solar panels or gas and is extremely hot - tip if you want to run a bath, start it at least 30 minutes before, as the water pressure is very low.

It is unfortunate that only charcoal (remember to bring your own AND firelighters) fires are allowed in the provided weber, but at the same time understandable with all of the surrounding dry wood/trees.

Night time is the most "interesting" time of day, when after a beautiful sunset over the valley, the numerous spiders start appearing! So if you are deathly afraid, I wouldn't recommend staying here, as we were visited by 6 (that we saw) 3-6" huntsman rain-spiders over the two days, along with the many expected mosquitoes of course.

The communal entertainment area is great, offering a kiddies jungle-gyms, a large swimming pool with cross-beam, a smaller jet-pool, large outdoor chess, pool table, table tennis, darts, as well as books, games and a big-screen satellite TV with DVDs.

On the second day, we took the advertised hiking route down to the river pools. Be warned - if you are not a regular outdoor adventurer/hiker than you will find it very strenuous and tricky, with the walk along the river difficult. The "clear" river pools were also disappointing, covered by an unpleasant foam layer. You can also expect to be bitten by mosquitoes, as we came back covered in bites on our legs!

All in all, this is a wonderful location for quiet time away shared with everything that nature has to offer some good & some bad.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamienZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Hi, great pictures thanks and I appreciate the long review. I am interested in the scum on the water, it does occasionally appear and I have no idea what causes it. I will try and find out more about it - you sometimes see in on the sea as well. I don't think its dirt. Regards Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
15.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
803 reviews
7.5 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
11.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
530 reviews
12.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
14.8 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#1 of 103 in Knysna
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teniqua Treetops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teniqua Treetops

Property: Teniqua Treetops
Address: Foot hills | between Knysna and Sedgefield, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Teniqua Treetops 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree house accommodation. Teniqua Treetops is a beautiful nature lovers' resort. With 8 gorgeous hand-crafted, self-catering, eco-friendly treehouses hidden in the indigenous forest. Enjoy wonderful forest and river walks, fabulous birds - a truly authentic woodland experience, an ideal romantic honeymoon destination. Kids will also enjoy the pool and playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Teniqua Treetops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing