We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“diamond in the woods”
Review of Teniqua Treetops

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Teniqua Treetops
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Brilliant place.didn't want to check out, almost decided to hide in the woods.stunning views,excellent service, perfectly secluded, well equipped, a little pricey but worth it.perfect dose of tranquility!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi MIke, so pleased you enjoyed your stay, it is beautiful in paradise. We are so spoiled. Hope to see you again soon. Regards Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
There are newer reviews for Teniqua Treetops
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

One night was not enough time to really explore all that you can do on the property! What a cool place to stay, quirky tree houses with incredible views. I especially love the outdoor bathrooms and braai deck!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JoBetween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi Jo
Pleased you your stay. I agree, it is best to spend a few days here to relax and enjoy the peace and traquility. We are a destination , not a drive through. So please come again. The walks, though tough are specatular, 35 hectares of pristine indigenous forest.
Regards
Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife and I spent a lovely weekend at Teniqua Treetops. Units are raised of the ground on wooden poles amongst the surrounding forest and fynbos. Wooden kitchen & bathroom with permanent tented main bedroom. Accommodation is rustic but clean, neat and well-equipped. Lovely outdoor bath with view of surrounding nature. Very eco-friendly establishment! Lovely, albeit steep walk to the river below, definitely worth the effort. Only negative is that we never saw a loerie!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Shaun_Stell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi, I am sorry you never saw a loerie, well...you will have to come again. There are a few days whe we don't see them. I have never yet found a nest, or a baby. They are confusig birds. I have however seen a Narina Trogon twice in the last week. Which is very exciting they are so rare
Regards
Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

After some horrible days in Cape Town we arrived at Teniqua last minute, which was no problem.

What a surprise!!!! Great place, great idea, great people, we loved it. The toilet and water system are wonderful and worthwhile. Yes, prices are high for travellers but it was worth it! Totally relaxed and a nice walk to the river. Braai was great, the night was freezing, but with heath Blankets doable!

Recommend this to anyone!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Ronja v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hi Ronja, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. The electric blankets are a must for winter and they are low wattage. So its an environmentally friendly way of staying warm. The last few nights have been sooo cold. I know we do charge more, but our maintenance is high (and ongoing). The distance between each tree house dramatically increases privacy, reduces the impact on the forest and increases the costs. See you again soon.
Regards
Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed being close to nature with forest experience being peaceful and relaxing. The unit is well appointed and the design unique being constructed by locals with glass, wood and canvas.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hi Derek. We try and be creative. I think if left without any maintenance, any people, in about 10 years if you came here, the foerst would have returned the tree houses to mulch, not sure what would happen to the windows though ! We try to be as natural as possible, creative and organic. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Regards Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

What an experience - next time we'll make sure our trip is planned for longer! Was awesome relaxing under the milky way and looking at the shooting stars. We loved the early morning forest walk and sunrise over the valley. Awesome, well done guys!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Angie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hi Angie, we do't often get East London guests, welcome. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, we would love to have you stay longer. The stars are truly magnificent in a place with no light pollution.
Regards
Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Teniqua treetops is an awesome place to stay if you want to get away and be totally relaxed... The views of the mountains are really stunning. Robyn was also is extremely helpful and made sure we settled in nicely... I really recommend this place to stay... the best thing is that they are also very environmental friendly which is a bonus.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jared H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Hi Jared
I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciated what we try and achieve here. Low environmental impact and a gentle hideout. Regards Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
25.0 mi away
Tsala Treetop Lodge
Tsala Treetop Lodge
#1 of 2 in Harkerville
547 reviews
12.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
13.2 mi away
The Turbine Boutique Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#1 of 106 in Knysna
333 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lake Pleasant Living
Lake Pleasant Living
#3 of 22 in Sedgefield
182 reviews
14.8 mi away
Amanzi Island Lodge
Amanzi Island Lodge
#14 of 127 in Knysna
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teniqua Treetops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teniqua Treetops

Address: Foot hills | between Knysna and Sedgefield, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Speciality Lodging in Sedgefield
Price Range: £65 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Teniqua Treetops 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree house accommodation. Teniqua Treetops is a beautiful nature lovers' resort. With 8 gorgeous hand-crafted, self-catering, eco-friendly treehouses hidden in the indigenous forest. Enjoy wonderful forest and river walks, fabulous birds - a truly authentic woodland experience, an ideal romantic honeymoon destination. Kids will also enjoy the pool and playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Teniqua Treetops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing