We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful escape into someplace speciall”
Review of Teniqua Treetops

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Teniqua Treetops
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful escape into someplace speciall”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Our family of four, incl two boys of 9 and 11, stayed for 2 nights in Philosophers Perch in July. The treehouse was kitted out very well; the outside bath and toilet a delight to my children, the kitchen had all that was needed for long or short stays, heating blankets and hotties to ward off the cold. The tents were wonderfully cosy and what a treat to have our meals in a fabulous kitchen amongst the trees and birds. The walk down to the river is lovely, and the pools and waterfall spectacular, well worth the climb, which we didn't find too difficult. There is plenty to do on site, from pool, chess, board games, ping pong, reading of books and magazines that were provided and of course balancing across the swimming pools' beam, and subsequently enjoying the inevitable splash into the water, even although it was the middle of winter and no more than 12 deg outside. We were visited regularly by delightful Katja the cat which my sons were tempted to stow away in one of our suitcases. We've stayed in many self-catering places in many parts of the world, but this is one of my favorites. A beautiful and special place that lacks absolutely nothing, run by two wonderful people. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rednel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I always worry about guests in winter as it can get really cold as you experienced. So I am pleased that the electric blankets and heaters made enough of a difference. Keep smiling, Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    145
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
112
250
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Wow! What a fantastic, soul_fulfilling experience! The Forest Elders offered great quality linen, electric blankets, heaters and well equipped kitchen, but the best has to be the view from the bath!! We did ample stargazing and an adventurous river walk. Sure to recommend and go back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anetha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Manager at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Great
Pleased you enjoyed it. And loved our new tree house. Regards Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A group of 6 of us stayed for two nights in the Philosophers Perch and Eeyrie. The management were great, cabins beautifully built and the surrounding forests with walks and an amazing lookout over the valley were just stunning.

I very much recommend this as a stop on your way along the garden route or a relaxed, escape into nature for a few days.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Hi, I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay
It does work well for larger groups, especially if you also utilize the communal areas, it gives you both privacy and community

Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We loved the tranquility and being 'away from the madding crowd'. Being in the treetops with the birds and birdsong, was simply wonderful. Electric blankets on the beds was a real treat and the huge bath with a view through the trees was a highlight. The kitchen and braai facilities were great and we loved the eco-friendly technology.

Suggestions: The quadbikes riding to and from the units intermittently during the day, were very disruptive to the peace. Perhaps there could be an allocated time for the staff to use the bikes for transporting cleaning materials, or they could be parked at the top gate and staff walk to the units?
There was a dog barking most of the night, which was disruptive to sleep. Perhaps you could look into why it is incessantly barking?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Hi Kate, I appreciate your input. I will raise the quad bikes with my staff. Where your tree house was, there should have been 2 bikes, 2 trips per day no more, unless you can here the bikes going to other tree houses. I will implement a monitoring system to try and work out why and address the problem. Dogs barking, I apologize but have discovered its beyond my control, they bark at otther nocturnal animals. Sorry
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Everything was absolutely fantastic. The views were amazing... even from the loo, that took a little getting used to, but would not have swopped it for the world. Was hoping to see more creepy crawlies, but I guess it is winter.
Thank you for making the first week of our Honeymoon a memorable one.


  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Congratulations on your wedding. Pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Brilliant place.didn't want to check out, almost decided to hide in the woods.stunning views,excellent service, perfectly secluded, well equipped, a little pricey but worth it.perfect dose of tranquility!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi MIke, so pleased you enjoyed your stay, it is beautiful in paradise. We are so spoiled. Hope to see you again soon. Regards Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mui Ne, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

One night was not enough time to really explore all that you can do on the property! What a cool place to stay, quirky tree houses with incredible views. I especially love the outdoor bathrooms and braai deck!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JoBetween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teniqua, Owner at Teniqua Treetops, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi Jo
Pleased you your stay. I agree, it is best to spend a few days here to relax and enjoy the peace and traquility. We are a destination , not a drive through. So please come again. The walks, though tough are specatular, 35 hectares of pristine indigenous forest.
Regards
Robyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
15.9 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
7.5 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
11.8 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Phantom Forest Eco-Reserve
14.8 mi away
Under Milkwood Chalets
Under Milkwood Chalets
#3 of 101 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
7.5 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#5 of 12 in Sedgefield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teniqua Treetops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teniqua Treetops

Property: Teniqua Treetops
Address: Foot hills | between Knysna and Sedgefield, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Teniqua Treetops 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tree house accommodation. Teniqua Treetops is a beautiful nature lovers' resort. With 8 gorgeous hand-crafted, self-catering, eco-friendly treehouses hidden in the indigenous forest. Enjoy wonderful forest and river walks, fabulous birds - a truly authentic woodland experience, an ideal romantic honeymoon destination. Kids will also enjoy the pool and playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Teniqua Treetops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing