We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice base to explore the Garden route”
Review of Pine Lake Marina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pine Lake Marina
Ranked #4 of 12 Sedgefield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A nice base to explore the Garden route”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

For what we were looking for it was perfect; a place to use as a base to travel the Garden route, activities for the kids and a place to have drinks in the evening. If you're looking for a top end resort this is not it, but if you're looking for a solid family resort that's clean and have loads of activities that's free (and others that are well price), then Pine Lake Marina is your place. Solid value for money and staff who are friendly with loads of water sports. We had a good time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Richard W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a response. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Pine Lake Marina. We agree that the location (in the heart of the Garden Route) makes exploring the surrounding area a breeze and the resort offers enough activities to keep adults and kids alike well occupied and entertained.

We'll pass your kind words on to the staff.

We hope to see you again soon and please do check out our new online booking facility!

Kind regards,

The Pine Lake Marina Team :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    38
    30
    16
    4
See reviews for
104
18
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had to wait to book in as they said there were people that stayed the night before, granted we were early as we just booked out of a Knysna accommodation
With our arrival while unpacking there were some ladies that had an argument about a towel that was mistakenly taken from the pool ... needles to say the language that was used and the fight that ensued was absolutely disgusting which already got my dander up. I tried calling the front desk but no one answered. I got into my car to see if I can at least get security to come and sort it out. at the front desk it was very peaceful and when I told them of what was happening they said they will follow up on it.

The room that was supposedly cleaned before we could move in ... was not, the glass in the bathroom that you use to rinse your mouth after brushing your teeth had a huge dead spider in it. We had to wash some of the glasses out that was still dirty

Overall it was not a good experience staying there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andre64B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Dear AndreSMOCapeTown,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience.

We recall the situation of the fight between the two groups of guests. Our staff interjected as soon as they arrived on the scene. One of the parties left the resort of their own accord. We made sure the instigators were removed from the resort that night. Apologies for the situation, the safety of our guests is something we take seriously and we don't tolerate this type of behaviour.

Thank you for highlighting the cleanliness issue, we were very dissapointed about this and the housekeeping manager and staff were addressed about this - if something like this happens again please report it and we will have it resolved within minutes!

We are currently busy with a refurbishment program which is about 50% complete and we should have the vast majority of the resort completed by the end of the year.

We do hope that you can visit us again and we look forward with providing you with a vastly improved experience.

Kind regards,

The Pine Lake Marina Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Well maintained, clean, friendly. Price wise was industry standard.
Will be coming back again, our unit was on the water close to the play area.
Our children loved it.
There was a blocked sink we let the front know and it was sorted out right away.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walvis Bay, Namibia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We booked in on 14 February on Valentines day. We reserved a waterfront cabana for the two nights. Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendly staff which directed us to the unit right on the end. Wow what a beautiful view. We enjoyed sunset drinks and a braai on the balcony. The next morning we were up early to start the host of activities, we started with the pedallos, followed by along relaxing pool session and ended with a sunset cruise.
That evening we booked a Jucuzzi session followed by light dinner at Pine Vibe, the food was very tasty and the service great. I was sad to leave the next day because we had to be in Plettenberg Bay for our next adventure but I will definitely be back soon, there's so much to do on the resort, I didn't get to half of it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charls007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We booked in at Pine Lake Marina on the morning of the 08th of February 2014 for a romantic evening away. Upon arrival we greeted by the friendly staff who then explained where the pools etc. are. We were provided with a map of the resort and a welcome letter. When we got to our little 2 bedroom studio, it was beautiful, clean and fully equipped with the necessary cutlery and crockery. It felt like home away from home. Seeing that we only booked for one evening we tried to do as much as the activities as possible, we started by having a pick nick at the beach with the pick nick basket that they made up for us filled with biltong and all things yummy it was so nice to finally sit back and enjoy the view. We then booked our Jacuzzi session at the Pine Express shop [not even a 4 min walk from our room] and then went to play mini golf. After the mini golf we went on the paddle boat, it was so relaxing. When we finally got back to our room we started to braai, once dinner was done we decided to walk down to Pine Vibe where we enjoyed hot chocolate on the patio next to the pool. It was truly a wonderful evening and I absolutely loved it at Pine Lake the only down side from the resort was the extremely unfriendly and unprofessional staff at Pine Vibe and Pine Express. When we entered at Pine Vibe we were not greeted at all, after waiting almost 5 minutes next to a dirty table we were handed a menu and the waitress never returned eventually I went inside to the staff member at the bar finding him on his blackberry texting [which is rude considering nobody assisted us to take our order] and I asked him if I can place my order, he didn’t seem to be in the mood to work at all. When it was time to pay the bill his card maiden was at Pine Express so we walked over there with him, at Pine Express there was ± 4 staff members chewing gum with their mouths open, talking to each other, laughing loudly and handing out cigarettes to each other in front of us. Yet once again not greeting us or in the mood to work. Aside from the Pine Vibe and Pine Express staff and service we would definitely return to Pine Lake Marina for a holiday, the place is absolutely wonderful.

Room Tip: The little houses in the middle [for example T19 the room we had] was right in the middle of everyth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Shani S,

Thank you very much for your review - we are so glad you enjoyed the your stay with us. We are very dissapointed in the staff at PineVibe and PineXpress - they have been notified and we have corrected the situation. We hope your next visit will be a complete joy and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

The Pine Lake Marina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oudtshoorn, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

we were very disappointed that we didn't even get to stay at the resort as i was told they only have 3, 2 bedroom 4 sleeper units in the whole resort-very strange.
You can however get a 2 bedroom 6 sleeper with a sleeper couch for R250 more a night -our problem we were only 4 and for our 9 night stay to pay NEARLY R2500 more for something we didn't need was unfair and unaffordable.
we are now staying elsewhere-very sad .

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Helen B,

Thank you for your note on our accommodation layout. We rent the chalets out on a per chalet basis irrespective of number of occupants and because of the added feature in some chalets of a sleeper couch they command slightly higher fees. However if you were booking for February 2014 (as per your "Stayed at" date) the difference in fees would R140 per night for Garden View chalets and R170 per night for a waterfront unit.

The 2 Bedroom units with sleeper couches provides a more affordable option for families with children under 12years of age than having to book a seperate room for children.

We hope this helps to answer your query and look forward to welcoming you to Pine Lake Marina in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Pine Lake Marina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I recommend that your front line staff should be better trained in order to handle guest bookings especially in terms of listening what the guest's needs are. Also follow up on email requests and sending confirmation of bookings is poor. I booked on 29/01/2014, paid m y deposit and by 4/2/2013 had not received any confirmation as yet. I had to phone in to confirm my booking.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PineLakeMarina, Manager at Pine Lake Marina, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Tilly O,

Thanks for letting us know about your experience. As I am sure the reservations staff have informed you we switched to a new reservation system late in January, during this process there was a lot of work required to ensure the existing bookings were brought across correctly.

This caused our reservations staff to respond more slowly to enquiries than is the norm. Things are settling down now and our first class personal service should have resumed.

The new system should automatically have sent an email confirmation to you and if you had not received it, we apologise as this would clearly have been either a system glitch, or perhaps a reservationist noted down the email address incorrectly.

We hope when making your next booking with us the experience will be a much smoother one!

Kind regards,

Team Pine Lake Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
0.7 mi away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
100 reviews
17.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
4.1 mi away
Shearwater On Sea
Shearwater On Sea
#7 of 21 in Sedgefield
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
Afrovibe Adventure Lodge
#2 of 21 in Sedgefield
260 reviews
4.4 mi away
Pelican Lodge
Pelican Lodge
#2 of 12 in Sedgefield
71 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lake Pleasant Living
Lake Pleasant Living
#3 of 21 in Sedgefield
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Lake Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lake Marina

Property: Pine Lake Marina
Address: Pine Lake Marina Resort | N2 (Swartvlei exit), Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Lake Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Lake Marina (SATOUR 3 star graded) is a self-catering family orientated holiday resort situated on the banks of the spectacular Swartvlei Lake, outside Sedgefield - in the heart of the Garden Route, South Africa. Rates include a variety of activities, for example, tennis, squash, kayaking, pedalos, mini-golf, etc. that can be done on site, whilst the location means it is a short drive to explore all that this wonderful area has to offer! Swimming beaches are close by and the area offers an abundance of activities to enjoy including Mountain Biking; Bungee Jumping; Paragliding; kite-surfing; Trail Running; .The newly completed conference centre and restaurant offers a beautiful setting for weddings and other functions at very affordable rates.Across the road there is an associated short golf course, The Sedge Links - where you can improve your short-game or learn the game for the first time! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Pine Lake Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Lake Marina Hotel Sedgefield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing