We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Blackwaters River Lodge(Knysna)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
US$56
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Wilderness Hotel(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$78
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
US$176
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$641
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
87
12
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
87
12
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdee deebenguela restaurantfresh sconesgarden routethe water's edgecheesecakesay goodbyeexecutive chefdeep tissuevan rooyennespresso machineb blittle touchesenjoyed our stayspectacular viewswater sportsblown away
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We were warmly welcomed by Jean and John, who provided us with a perfect room to meet our requirements - followed by a complementary sherry to enjoy with the exquisite view of the lake. The self-catering apartment was clean, well-equipped and beautifully presented and our en-suite even had a jacuzzi bath. Plenty to do locally and at the lodge - swimming, canoeing, tennis, golf-chipping course, honesty bar, snooker table, bird-watching, fishing, mountain bikes, hiking and more. Although best of all is the tranquility, idyllic view and warm welcome. Thank you Jean and John for a perfect stay at Lakeside Lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Every year my husband and I (and now our two children) celebrate our wedding anniversay by staying at Lakeside Lodge. We have, for the last 10 years, never been disappointed by the service, the accommodation, the facilities, the spectacular setting and the abundant bird life. We consider the lodge our very special home away from home.

Room Tip: The honeymoon room is heavenly and ideal for couples. We always stayed there before our children came along. Both Fish Eagle and Guinea Fowl/Sunbird are great for family holidays. They are away from the other guests and are close to the pool.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GudrunRudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This was an amazing B&B. There were four of us travelling in our group and we found Lakeside Lodge to be so friendly, clean with an abundance of birds for our 'birdwatching' friends. Jean and her husband could not have been more helpful and informative, making us feel very relaxed and completely at ease. I can not recommend this place enough. Thank you for making part of our holiday so special. Jo, Dean, Vron and Ricky.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BedfordshireChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Lakeside was our Garden Route gem. We travelled all the way to Sedgefield from Capetown in one day. We took a detour en route to Ronnie's Sex Shop- it's not what you think!! Well worth a visit.
Our welcome at Lakeside was splendid. A glass of sherry in beautiful surroundings within minutes of our arrival. Our rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean and the sunken bath a delight after a long journey. We spent a pleasant evening at a local restaurant which had been recommended and booked for us by Jean, our hostess.
It was difficult to tear ourselves away from the abundance of birds and amazing view the next morning. After a very hearty breakfast, we made our way to walk with the elephants not far from Lakeside. A very worthwhile trip where we felt the elephants were being properly treated. Onwards to Plettenburg Bay for a delicious lunch before returning to our b&b where we made use of the residents lounge. A very relaxing end to our hectic day.
For 'twitchers' this is a superb place to while away some early morning and late afternoon hours.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acrepeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

One of the most stunning places on the Garden Route. You really can't beat waking up to a view at Lakeside Lodge. The staff are fantastic, very accommodating, friendly and full of great tips and advice on what to do around the area. Only a few minutes away from the beach and about a half an hour away from Knysna and George, its perfectly placed. I really can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bozsedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews