We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Garden Route Tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeside Lodge & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sedgefield
Certificate of Excellence
Gordon's Bay
1 review
“Garden Route Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Lakeside Lodge has always been one of my favourite places to stay with tourists. Thanks again to Jean my guests had a wonderful time. Comments from the group.
Paula Oldham and Ann Wyatt - Superb view, hospitality excellent and the birds, just gorgeous. It was so lovely I could stay forever!! Jean is an excellent hostess, so pleasant and friendly.
Linda Faultless - Wonderful welcome by Jean, friendly, helpful second to none. A truly remarkable stay one of our best whilst touring around South Africa. Jean runs a good house.
Heather Richards - Wow! What a gorgeous place and staff to match

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eyeofafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Propatrea, Guest Relations Manager at Lakeside Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about Lakeside Lodge and the views & hospitality that you so enjoyed. It is so gratifying to hear your and your guests' comments and we hope to welcome you all back very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    10
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
48
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Market Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Lakeside Lodge is such a beautiful holiday spot, right on the water's edge, with wonderful views. Travelling from Cape Town on the Garden Route, it was the perfect stop off point at the end of the first day's drive, and easy to find as it is so close to the N2.

There is so much to do there. I tried the watersports which were great fun, and it was lovely in the evening, cooking over the Boma fire pit. It's very comfortable in the lodges, you can see that they have been recently upgraded. Everyone was very friendly, and it was a relief to have Wi-Fi on site.

I will certainly be back again - for longer next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Propatrea, Guest Relations Manager at Lakeside Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you! We are so pleased you enjoyed all the on-site facilities and hope that you come back and see us again soon. We have holiday guests from the UK, USA, Germany and many other countries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I had a great holiday at Lakeside and was so glad I found it on the internet when planning my trip from England. The private lakeside facilities at the Lodge are excellent. It is right on the water's edge with shallow launching on site and moorings. You can leave dinghies and kayaks on the water's edge. So it saves a lot of the hassle you otherwise get in having to launch and store boats safely every day.
What's great is the size of the Swartvlei too and that it is surrounded by such lovely countryside, and it's safe. So if you love your watersports then it's the perfect holiday spot. Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank howardmaryon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Propatrea, Guest Relations Manager at Lakeside Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your feedback: delighted you enjoyed your South African holiday with us. We hope to see you again very soon - please visit our Lakeside Lodge web to see updates on our watersports facilities and events, on Lake Swartvlei and in the Garden Route National Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mkushi, Zambia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have spent our holiday once again at Lakeside Lodge. As always, the hospitality of Jean, the Manager is superb. Unfortunately, the calm and tranquility which we have come to enjoy, was completely spoilt by the renovations being made by new owners. We fear that the charm of the place will be changed forever but the views will always be wonderful. Due to all the changes, we notice that rates will be increased by a minimum of 100%. We will not be coming again. What a Shame

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 35maryroseM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Propatrea, Guest Relations Manager at Lakeside Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
The new owners carried out extensive upgrading of the facilities to bring Lakeside Lodge up to the highest standards of accommodation. We apologise for any disturbance by building works, which as far as possible were when the Lodge was unoccupied, to minimise noise or disturbance. Pricing reflects the new standard of accommodation & remains highly competitive with other destinations. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

We were surprised that a small picturesque town like Sedgefield had such a beautiful B&B. The rooms open up to the lake where you can go for a swim if you like. We were woken up by the birds chirping and seeing the sun rising over the lake was magnificent. The wifi was a little slow, but you dont need internet on a holiday eh! The bathrooms were huge and very well maintained. The manager was such a helpful lady, she even helped us machine wash our clothes since we were backpacking. Would definitely go back again if we get a chance.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Propatrea, Guest Relations Manager at Lakeside Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
Glad you enjoyed your visit. We do hope that you will come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

What a fantastic B&B. Lovely accommodation, lovely gardens, lovely views and lovely people to look after you. We were a party of 6 (2 x USA, 2 x NZ, 2 x SA) traveling up the Garden Route and spent 2 nights at this gem. We wish it had been more and at one stage gave thought to extending our stay. We will be back. Thanks Jean, you were marvelous.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Propatrea, Guest Relations Manager at Lakeside Lodge & Spa, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thanks so much for the feedback. Hope you will return soon now we have refurbished and upgraded accomodation and facilities
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
135 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

Sedgefield is a small town on the Coast of the Garden Route. The B&B was booked through a 4-day tour with Hotspot departing from Cape Town. The B&B is very comfortable with an extra large bathroom, friendly staff, free wifi....however, the highlight is truly the magnificent view from the rooms to the natural lake that is just feet away from the room . The locate is remote, but if you like natural beauty in a comfortable room, then I recommend staying here.

Room Tip: All rooms face the lake and are all fine. Only 7 rooms total
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RugglesTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgefield
21.1 mi away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#7 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
11.9 mi away
Blackwaters River Lodge
16.5 mi away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Knysna Quays
18.4 mi away
Turbine Hotel & Spa
Turbine Hotel & Spa
#6 of 30 in Knysna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
17.2 mi away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Lodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Lodge & Spa

Property: Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Address: 3 Lakeside Drive | Swartvlei, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lakeside Lodge & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the magnificent Wilderness National Park amidst lush vegetation, Lakeside Lodge & Spa literally is situated on the banks of the beautiful Swartvlei Lake. The Lodge & Spa is unique and offers luxury accommodation. Lakeside Lodge & Spa is truly a wonderful place to escape from city life so simply kick back and enjoy. We offer the following facilities: We have the Benguela Brasserie at the lodge. The Brasserie is open 7 days a week from 8 am for breakfast right the way through the day until 9.00 pm. Serving a delicious local menu and wines at cellar door prices from The Benguela Cove Lagoon Wine Estate. Lakeside Lodge & Spa is fully licensed for your enjoyment. The rooms are all luxurious and include full bathrooms, free standing baths and 2 of the rooms have spa baths. Every bedroom has a large walk in shower. Complimentary luxury toiletries and soft fluffy white towels fresh every day. The rooms all have king size beds, beautiful linen, flat screen TVs, minibar, safe, air conditioning, fans, Nespresso coffee, alarm clocks and music. The bedrooms are all beautifully decorated, with luxurious linen and every bedroom is Lake facing. The Lodge has its own spa so why not treat yourself to a massage? In addition to these facilities Lakeside Lodge & Spa being a water retreat has its own jetty and hotel guests are welcome to bring their own boats (sail, power, jet ski). The lodge has shallow water launch facilities and deep-water facilities close by. Secure boat parking. The lodge also have a number of mountain bikes for the complimentary use of our guests as well as canoes, kayaks, windsurfers, a pontoon boat, a speed boat and fishing facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lakeside Lodge & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing