We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly this was my last visit”
Review of Sedgefield Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sedgefield Arms
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sadly this was my last visit”
Reviewed 5 January 2011

The Sedgefield Arms is a pretty little holiday spot, tucked away from busy highways but conveniently situated near a small shopping centre.

I first stayed there in December 2009 where I spent a wonderful and peaceful two weeks. It was such a blissful stay, in fact, that I booked another two week stay in the same unit over the last festive season.

Sedgefield Arms is located one street away from the N2 highway but you don't hear the traffic. It is a cluster of self-catering cottages with a restaurant and bar overlooking a swimming pool. The restaurant serves great food and it was great to be able to jump into the pool after coming back from the beach.

The website for the Sedgefield Arms claim the accommodation is luxurious, but I would rather call it clean, spacious and quaint. The lounge furniture and bedding were updated since last year, but the kitchen needs a revamp too. I heard that there are plans underway for further renovations and improvements for the units.

But after my first enjoyable stay, I now feel that that the Sedgefield Arms - now under new management - is a place I will not return to. In the past the pub stayed open only until 10pm. Now it remains buzzing until 2am, which is not fun for residents of the units located so close by. A raucous party is not great if you are forced to listen to it from your bed, situated less than about 10 metres away.

I had specifically asked, when I heard that there are new owners a month before my trip, if the pub would still close at 10pm, as I had booked the very same unit I had used the previous year, which was situated extremely close to the entertainment action. Her response was that business hours had been extended, but at the same time ensured me that noise levels would be managed. It was too late to cancel my holiday but I was happy with her assurance.

On the first night of my holiday I phoned the manager to complain about the noise from the bar in the early hours of the morning . "The liquor licence states that we can stay open till 2 am," I was told. And then: "I can't tell my customers to keep the noise down". I realised after that that I would just have to complete my holiday there and never return.

So one happy holiday, followed by another not-so-great one has left me feeling extremely disappointed.

I cannot recommend this charming little spot to anyone wanting to choose their own sleeping hours on holiday.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travellerza101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston P, Guest Relations Manager at Sedgefield Arms, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Dear Travellerza101

It is with great disappointment that I have come across your review for the Sedgefield Arms and cannot apologise enough for your bad experience with us in 2010, however the new owners of the Arms have gone to great lengths to keep the Peace and tranquil environment that you so fondly speak of on your first stay with us.

We have since revamped the Arm and do hope that you will soon return and experience the joy that you had on your first holiday with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    30
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
28
29
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedgefield hotels
4.3 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
156 reviews
5.5 mi away
Teniqua Treetops
Teniqua Treetops
#1 of 21 in Sedgefield
434 reviews
4.8 mi away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pelican Lodge
Pelican Lodge
#2 of 12 in Sedgefield
71 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
141 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shearwater On Sea
Shearwater On Sea
#8 of 21 in Sedgefield
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sedgefield Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sedgefield Arms

Property: Sedgefield Arms
Address: 28 Pelican Lane, Sedgefield, Knysna 6573, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sedgefield Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us be your home from home on South Africa's Garden Route. Luxury self-catering cottages and apartments amidst manicured gardens, offering stylish comfort, warmth and relaxation.All are delicately furnished and fully equipped with the convenience of modern appliances that make self-catering a pleasure. a laundry service is available. Non-smoking apartments are also available.The Sedgefield Arms restaurant, with fully licensed pub and fenced in swimming pool form the heart of the complex and provide delectable meals, refreshment and entertainment.We are open for breakfast 6 days a week (Monday till Saturday) which is served until 11h00. We also host functions such as weddings, birthday parties etc. We run daily value for money specials in the restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sedgefield Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing