We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail and perfect breakfast!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedgefield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Purple Heron Guest House
Ranked #6 of 12 Sedgefield B&B and Inns
South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Attention to detail and perfect breakfast!”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We had a lovely stay at Purple Heron in December 2013. We sadly only stayed for one night. The rooms are beautifully decorated and everything was very clean and neat. We loved the location and the view from the room.

Breakfast was amazing! With fresh fruit salad and home baked scones with fresh raspberries and cream. The hosts and staff are friendly and welcoming. Would love to visit again!

Room Tip: Room Fish Eagle is lovely and very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolette_nel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
17
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We found this beautifully situated bed/breakfast guest house in Sedgefield South Africa. We recently attended a friend of mine's 60th birthday. We found the guesthouse on the internet and we we were really surprised at the level and standard of the guesthouse we found and stayed at. Paul and Jenny were perfect hosts and Jenny's breakfasts were superb with lovely touches .We stayed there for 4 nights and were very comfortable and would recommend to prospective guests. The birdlife around the guest house was also a real pleasure and bonus!!!

The only negative we could comment on was that the rooms do not have their own access to movie/sport tv channels and have to be obtained by the owners changing their main TV. The Tv's in the rooms do have the local channels though. This is the only negative in a list of outstanding qualities and we highly recommend.

Room Tip: All the rooms were well positioned with a lovely balcony off our room. It appeared that one of the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We have just enjoyed another stay at the Purple Heron Guest House.
It was such a relief when we found them in 2008 as they are one of the very few Guest Houses/B& B's along the Garden Route that are accessible for wheelchair users.
Jenny and Paul are great hosts and have put a lot of effort into making their facilities 'wheelchair-friendly' and are always receptive to new ideas, so we have been back every year since 2008.

The bathroom in the ground floor room has grab rails and a roll-in shower with a fold-down seat, which suits Crystal as she can only walk a few steps.
There are other unobtrusive features that make the stay a pleasure for a wheelchair user including remote controls, and portable ramps when needed to bridge the small steps to the front and back doors.
Breakfast is always enjoyable and I particularly enjoy the homemade bread and selection of fresh fruit.
Jenny’s herb garden in pots and containers outside the kitchen ensures a ready supply of fresh herbs..

There is bird life everywhere and a family of guinea fowl regularly visit the front garden looking for food. The surrounding area is flat and Crystal is able to ride from the house across the wide grass verge to the edge of the river to watch the water birds.


Crystal and Tony, Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape.
Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple.

Room Tip: Book well in advance if you need the ground floor room, as the other rooms are up stairs on the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We only stayed for one night, though I wish it'd been longer. Paul and Jenny were super hosts and they run a fantastic guest house. Very personable, friendly and engaging. The location is right across from the water so the views can be great. The rooms are clean, large and very comfortable. The breakfast is delicious with fresh bread and muffins as well as cereal etc.

In terms of pricing - well, overall it is slightly more expensive than some other options, but worth it in my view.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevernscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

This place is superb. Paul and Jenny are the most perfect hosts and always prepared to walk the extra mile. We were booked for two nights and in the end we stayed for 7! If we could, we would've stayed longer, but by then they were fully booked. The entrance is not at the kitchen door. There's a lovely front entrance with an extra entrance at the back from the parking area. This entrance has a lovely decorated foyer. Their breakfast is the best we have ever had at a guest house. Thanks Paul and Jenny for even offering our own guests something to drink and for braaiing for us on New Year's Eve. I can recommend this place with conviction as good value for money.

Room Tip: We were in the Guinea Fowl room. It's the smallest room, but has a lovely view over the lagoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anelle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny M, Owner at Purple Heron Guest House, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! It is only a pleasure to know that your stay was a good one! We are glad that we could accommodate your extra days here and look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards and take care. Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I booked at the Purple Heron after reading the previous reviews.
The entrance is through the owner's back door (kitchen door?).
The room we were booked into (Spoonbill) did not look like the room on the website. The bed linen was completely creased. The furniture looked worn. The tv was an old box set - I tried to switch it on.. nothing happened. Could not find any info leaflet in the room.
The bathroom was clean, though there was a cake of blue soap stuck to the inside of the toilet bowl.
The hot water works on gas, so you have to adjust it very carefully - otherwise you end up having a cold shower.
No sign of "luxury" as rated by other reviewers. We booked for 3 nights, but checked out after the first night, but paid for the whole stay. We did not complain to the owners, simply because it did not seem worth the effort.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Penelope M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny M, Owner at Purple Heron Guest House, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Oh dear. I am so sorry the guest left disappointed without revealing the real reasons for leaving early. The mix-up with the rooms, for which I apologise, could easily have been sorted out if we had been given the chance - it was a genuine mistake. We do try very hard to make our guests' stays with us as wonderful as possible and this was an exception to the rule. By the way, the blue block of soap in the toilet bowl is a toilet sanitiser and fragrance which is fairly new on the market - maybe the guests were not familiar with it and hence their confusion. Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Backnang, Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We where recommended by a friendly lady which we met in the Kruger NP. SHe was absolutely right. THe warm welcome, the clean and calm rooms with view over the riever. All the animals arround. Perfect place to stay. Thanks for the perfect welcome and the warm stay we have received. It was brilliant and the breakfast was delicious.

Thanks so much! J&C from Germany!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny M, Owner at Purple Heron Guest House, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Thank you so much! We really enjoyed having you to stay. I hope that the rest of your trip was wonderful and that you come back to South Africa many times and maybe to Sedgefield again too.
Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedgefield hotels
2.8 mi away
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
Lakeside Lodge & Spa
#1 of 1 in Sedgefield
99 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dover on Sea B&B
Dover on Sea B&B
#1 of 12 in Sedgefield
139 reviews
2.3 mi away
Afrovibe Beach House
Afrovibe Beach House
#4 of 12 in Sedgefield
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Pelican Lodge
Pelican Lodge
#2 of 12 in Sedgefield
71 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pine Lake Marina
Pine Lake Marina
#5 of 12 in Sedgefield
152 reviews
2.0 mi away
Shearwater On Sea
Shearwater On Sea
#7 of 20 in Sedgefield
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Heron Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Heron Guest House

Property: Purple Heron Guest House
Address: 12 Charles Te Water Street, Sedgefield, Knysna, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Sedgefield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sedgefield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Purple Heron Guest House is a luxury accommodation establishment, situated in an urban nature conservancy on the banks of the Swartvlei River. The area abounds with bird life and the river offers water activities such as safe swimming and canoeing. The beautiful surrounds offer a feast of outdoor activities - bird watching, walking, hiking, cycling and lazing on the beach. Sedgefield is also one of the top paragliding areas in South Africa. Numerous excellent restaurants can be found close by and popular attractions such as Knysna, Plett, Oudtshoorn, Mossel Bay, Wilderness and George are all an easy drive away. The world famous Wild Oats Farmers' Market held every Saturday morning is a must and attending the annual "Slow Town" Festival held in April every year is highly recommended.At Purple Heron Guest House, our beds ensure an excellent night's sleep and our breakfasts send you out ready to enjoy a truly enjoyable day here on the truly beautiful Garden Route.Egret, a double room downstairs, is wheel chair accessible as are all the public rooms downstairs. The bathroom is suitable for visitors needing some adaption or who have someone to assist them. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing