We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply stunning!”
Review of Montecello

Montecello
Ranked #1 of 38 Restaurants in Sedgefield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
125 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Simply stunning!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

For the best steak ever, go for the Espatada. I had 300 gms of fillet steak chunks suspended from a skewer, which was absolutely divine and cooked to a perfect rare. For me, the chips were a bit soggy and I saw no need for the bread roll served with them but I just devoured the steak, served with a piece of garlic butter which simply melted and oozed its way down to the bottom of the stack. Desserts are home made and overall pricing extremely good value. Our waitress, Ashley, was bright and jovial and made us welcome. We shall certainly be taking friends there in future.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmiller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    85
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sedgefield, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
302 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Disappointing Paella”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We visited the restaurant with 4 friends visiting from the UK. First of all, we found it very dark and had to ask for extra candles on the table to be able to read the menu. They all picked the paella as it came well recommended but were very disappointed. They found the rice stodgy and the meal to be extremely salty. However, on the plus side my husband and I picked the steak which was cooked to perfection.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgefield, South Africa
Level Contributor
130 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Sedgefields steakhouse”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Theres no where on the garden route that provides steaks at such good value like Montecellos. Its on the west side of town on the right hand sideroad going towards George. Ask for fillet, its not on the menu, which is pretty much the same for the last 10 years that we know off. The favourite seems to be Espetados dripping in garlic butter. Theres fish and pizzas also available. Preferably book, its the most consistently popular restaurant in Sedgefield.
When family visit from the UK,this is the first destination so that they can realise what wonderful steak is still available. On cool evenings theres a super log fire burning. Decore is basic, but who cares when the food is so good. Accommodation is also available.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FRED B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food and service and reasonably priced”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Did not know that a small town could have great restaurant like this. Highly recommend their 300gm Rump steak cooked to perfection Well Done

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mkushi, Zambia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Sedgefield”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Good food and good atmosphere. A winner. Would highly recommend this place. Always need to book as very popular with locals and travellers alike

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 35maryroseM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Montecello also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to Montecello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing