We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of PiliPili Beach Bar

PiliPili Beach Bar
Ranked #4 of 38 Restaurants in Sedgefield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

PiliPili Beach Bar is, as it's name says, right on the beach. Another 50 meters and you get wet! Sand floor, a blazing fire at night and good pizzas to have with your cocktail or beer.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    135
    34
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sedgefield, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
302 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Excellent pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

The menu had changed quite a lot since our last visit to PiliPili. We found it to be very limited as they are obviously banking on their excellent pizzas to bring in the business. Enjoyed the vibe and lovely setting right by the sand dunes and also loved our choice of pizza but do feel that their menu should be a little more varied.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“PiliPili”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Pizza was delicious and the drinks were good. Service was a bit hectic but it was a busy time of year.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank KatieLynn323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Laid back beach bar serving excellent pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stopped at Pili Pili for a drink and stayed for dinner. The atmosphere was laid back and your table is situated right on the beach. The wood fired pizza's are cooked on the beach in front of you and are excellent, they serve great cocktails too. Service was great. All in all a wonderful ace to enjoy sundowners and a great pizza.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AfricanQueen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, South Africa
Level Contributor
176 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A great place for surfers and the like”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We, my wife and I popped in for a few drinks while on holiday. A very informal pub cum restaurant right on the beach. Not really our type of place but I can imagine this is a very popular place for young people wanting to enjoy the outdoors. Hard to comment as we only had drinks but enjoyed the atmosphere anyway

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GDTravelsMargateRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PiliPili Beach Bar also viewed

 
Knysna, Western Cape
Knysna, Western Cape
 
Knysna, Western Cape
 

Been to PiliPili Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing