We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lake Pleasant Living
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
95
55
15
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
55
15
12
5
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The suites at this resort are huge. The bed was big enough to sleep 2 adults, 2 kids and the family dogs (not that we did this of course!). The grounds are lovely as is the setting next to the lake. It's only a kilometer or so from Sedgefield where there are plenty of shops and restaurants.

This resort, as with a lot of places that have Spa's on the premises, tend to bit a little fussy about children and noise around the Spa area and there are signs that children may only use the kids pool in the garden which is quite small. The rim flow pool at the Spa is much nicer but that is not much help if you can't take the kids with you. We let our kids (aged 10 and up) swim at the Spa Pool and a clearly irritated attendant shut the doors to the Spa. Sorry for that.

The biggest let down is the restaurant. Although it is not badly priced, the food is pretty disappointing. I had a lamb curry which was mainly bones, tasteless and mild even though I ordered it hot. The fish dish was also poor. The kids enjoyed their pizzas though. On day one the breakfast was quite good with a good selection of fresh fruit. Day two wasn't so good as it took ages to get the eggs we ordered and when they arrived the bacon had run out. The white bread they put out for toast was still partly frozen.

Overall, the staff were very friendly. In summary, this is a good but fairly pricey resort with great accommodation and grounds, but you should rather self cater than use the Bistro. Not every unit seems to have a braai though - we had to borrow a Weber. I wouldn't recommend it for people with younger kids.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lpl-n2, General Manager at Lake Pleasant Living, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we appreciate the feedback and any constructive criticism. Your comments regarding the food was disappointing, as this is not normally the case, but it shall be looked into dealt with accordingly.

As you mentioned, the pool around the Spa is not child friendly as we do not want our guests having treatments being disturbed, as I am sure you will appreciate. It is for this reason we have a separate pool for the younger ones who may make as much noise as they like, which is what they like to do when having fun in a pool. You failed to mention the vast gardens and children’s play area and the spaciousness of the suites and villas. For this reason we believe our property is family friendly and must thus disagree with your comments on it not being so. We trust you enjoyed your stay along the Garden Route and we look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again on your next trip. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We have visited this restaurant several times and always had a pleasant experience but this is the first time I am reviewing it.
We have visited twice this week: the first occasion we had the full buffet at breakfast which offered excellent value for money. Today we returned for breakfast but as we arrived quite late we decided against the buffet and went for the option on the menu of a plated breakfast consisting of 2 eggs, bacon, 2 sausages, mushrooms, tomato, potato rosti, coffee, toast and preserves. It was served piping hot and we must commend the staff who were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lpl-n2, General Manager at Lake Pleasant Living, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Dear Coleen M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the Bistro. We are so glad you have enjoyed your breakfasts with us and we trust that we will host you many more to come.

Kind regards, the LPL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed here recently, food shockingly bad, dining area filthy, never cleaned during our stay. Tin roof over our so called veranda (hardly 5 star). Guests from a tour group totally took over the hotel, who were rude and loud in dining area and rooms. Best was trying to pay the bill and being told by the MANAGER he had no change, I had to suggest trying the bar for change or the shop next door. The most unhelpful fool! Was then told to just pay by credit card, I believe as a guest I have the right to bloody well pay however I like after previously having my card scammed. So no help from the manager I left and went and got change from the lovely friendly staff at the campsite next door, who surprise surprise being a business had some cash on the premises. Change of the equivalent to €10 is not that much to ask for now in fairness. Will not be back and certainly will not recommend it to anyone

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lpl-n2, General Manager at Lake Pleasant Living, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review, we appreciate the participation, so long as the criticism is constructive. It is with regret that your stay with us was marred by the quality of the food you experienced and the incident of the shortage of change. This is certainly not the norm, as other reviews will confirm. However, we have noted your remarks and shall act accordingly. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Have lost count of the number of times we have stayed at Lake Pleasant Living Hotel. Every time it is just wonderful! The accommodation is superb! The restaurant serves delicious food - at wonderful value for money! The hake & chips as always is a winner. The seafood platter is an absolute MUST for fish lovers - and is EXCELLENT value for money.
The staff is friendly and very helpful all the time.
We can't wait to be back...

Room Tip: The villas are the best!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marliese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lpl-n2, General Manager at Lake Pleasant Living, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear Marliese,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to submit your review. It is always a pleasure hosting you and we look forward to your next trip. May you have a wonderful festive season and may 2014 bring you all you wish for. Have a safe passage wherever you may be travelling.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

We are staying in a beautiful suite at Lake Pleasant. Our room is overlooking the beautiful Green Lake. The SPA treatments were great. We would love to visit this place again.The suite were are staying in is built for kings.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Christo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lpl-n2, General Manager at Lake Pleasant Living, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of our property, we appreciate your input. We are equally happy that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again on your next visit to the Garden Route.

Kind regards from all at LPL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews