We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant, romantic and soothing to the soul” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of SW1 Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SW1 Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Elegant, romantic and soothing to the soul”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We spent our anniversary night in the hobeymoon suite at SW1 where our room was immaculate, spacious and beautiful. We also enjoyed use of their spa facilities and were pampered with full body massages and facials. The jacuzzi is also available to overnight guests. Loved the decor of the place and felt like we were on holiday even though we only a short distance from home for one night only.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tahmeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri C, Owner at SW1 Lodge, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Dear Tahmee

Thank you so much for the positive comments. We are thrilled that we made this special occasion memorable for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    12
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
70
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
cape town
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

We celebrated our 11th anniversary at SW1 and couldn't have asked for better. Staff were friendly and attentive, food is magnificant and the accomodation OMW. The ladies at the spa has heavenly hands, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarletmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri C, Owner at SW1 Lodge, responded to this review, 30 September 2012
WOW!! We are so thrilled that you had a fantastic 11th anniversary experience at SW1. Thank you for taking time to post such a positive review. The staff of SW1 will so appreciate your remarks.
We look forward to a return visit from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape town
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012

I stayed at SW1 a couple of weeks ago and believe me l had a wonderful time. This is a hidden germ for sure from the outside you can't really tell as soon as you step into the premises its a different story. I have never seen such beautiful decor and its unique. All the rooms are have different decor and art, not to talk about the way she played with the colours l just loved it. The staff is very friendly, l was impressed with the young black lady at reception she always carries a smile on her face, the way she talks and how she explained to us about the decor it was amazing. l had a wonderful time and we are planning to come back in summer.

Room Tip: Thula Thula is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri C, Owner at SW1 Lodge, responded to this review, 14 September 2012
Dear Shaun

We are bowled over by your wonderful review of SW1! Thank you so very much!
It was our pleasure to have you stay with us. The staff member you refer to is Kerry and she is indeed a star. I will ensure she receives your compliment.
And thank you very much for your compliments about SW1's decor. It was a labour of love for me and I thoroughly enjoyed doing it. I am so pleased that you enjoy the outcome.

We look forward to welcoming you back to SW1 very soon.

Warm regards

Terri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

Last visit was in summer 2011. It was so lovely that we stayed twice, the second time for one month! It is so convenient for everything....restaurants,shopping, the beach, the wineries, fact everything. Some friends visited and used the spa which they highly praised. Staff were wonderful. This time we are here in the cold of winter/ spring. It is a beautiful and tranquil setting, superb for R&R. The Staff are friendly, courteous and very helpful. To us it feels like coming home and we don't want to leave. In fact we will be back in the summer. I always leave,feeling my batteries have been recharged. A wonderful place to stay.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wildrovr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri C, Owner at SW1 Lodge, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Wildrovr

The response you have posted on this your 3rd visit to SW1 is the reason why, we in the very provocative hospitality industry, remain committed to what we do. Your warm and positive review is so heartening and will be incredibly appreciated by Tobie and his staff. It means a tremendous amount to me to hear that the SW1 team have proven themselves not once, not twice, BUT THREE TIMES to you! You have had time on each occasion to test our abilities and I am very proud that we have passed so well!!

THANK YOU!

We look forward to your 4th visit back with us :)

Warm regards

Terri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

I want to thank Terri and her staff for organising my wife's fabulous 50th birthday last night. The venue was amazing from decor to food and hospitality. We had 30 guests which for the size of the venue was perfect and everyone had a great time. We had a few rooms booked overnight as well and the bedrooms and venue truly 5 star. Highly recommended for small events or even a couple of nights ' stopover' when you are in the Cape.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri C, Owner at SW1 Lodge, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear David and Carol

WOW! Thank you so very much for such a positive review on Carol's 50th at SW1 and you stayover with us. It was an absolute pleasure to host this special occasion for you! We thoroughly enjoyed making the Great Lapa glam for you and your guests. And I'm so pleased that you enjoyed the food! Tobie, Chef Os, Moira, Sharlene, Jay and the SW1 team put their all into the occasion and I'm really chuffed that their efforts have impressed you.

Please come and visit when you're next here from Joey's. And hoepfully next time the weather will be better....

Warm wishes

Terri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Beautiful spacious rooms. Ultimate luxury. Very beautiful and elegant. Loved to room. Only one negative point. The staff arent too friendly. The person on night shift didnt make us feel very welcome. And everytime we asked for some assistance with lighting the fire or helping us order takeout or shampagne he either couldnt help us or just made us feel like it is so much trouble to be bothered that we just decided to do it ourselves. Love the ambience of the place, the setting, the elegance. But a bit of staff etiket and performance training would go a long way.

Room Tip: Ask for Tsala tsala. Ample space and luxury. And beautiful decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marius N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri C, Owner at SW1 Lodge, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear Marius

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to SW1

We appreciate your compliments about the decor and ambience. We agree that SW1 is a very speciallace with a unique feel.

It is most concerning to hear that you experienced an unhelpful staff member. Our promise is to go beyond what's expected and I'm sorry that this did not happen in your case. I would appreciate it if you could provide details of your stay - date etc and if possible, the name or description of the staff member who was on duty on the night in question. We will take the necessary action to ensure this poor service is eliminated.

We do hope you will return to SW1 again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

My husband and I stayed at the SW1 Lodge for 2 nights. What a disaster on every level!!! Firstly this establishment is DEFINATELY not 5 star. The weekend we went was freezing cold and the room's air-con/heating unit was broken, the panel heater didn't work either. We finally managed to organise wood for the fireplace in the room. Unfortunately it smoked us out most of the week-end.... They tried to charge us for it.... The bedding was not clean and we had to change the bedding ourselves!! The electricity went out which was not the establishments fault, however it added to the 'nightmare' of the weekend. I always take candles on weekends away & luckily I had a box of matches which the establishment loaned and never returned as they never had any to light the other guests candles!!!! Not a big deal but I'm just trying to make a point here! The wine glasses in the room cabinet were filthy! Their must have been a pool motor on the otherside of our bed as it hummed all night keeping us awake, the door to the room we were in had a glass inlay, so the lights from the reception area shone in all night & the noise from reception could be heard in our room!!!! We could hear guests arriving/departing. For a honeymoon suite, this is a joke. It has no privacy, the windows overlook the carpark and entrance to the establishment! The breakfast was disgusting to say the least. They stipulate items and when we arrived they were not on the table nor replenished. The bread rolls were stale and at least 2 days old and there were no croissants. On arriving home our suitcases were full of fishmoths!!!! To add the final insult to injury we were sent a bill of R600 for spa treatments telling us to pay asap when we never even had spa treatments!!!! This establishment is seriously mismanaged and very misleading from the website. The night staff/security were great & very helpful, I can't fault them. All in all a dismal excuse for a guesthouse.

Room Tip: Definately a room further back in the establishment near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SammyKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri C, Owner at SW1 Lodge, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
Dear SammyKim

I have read your review of SW1 with disappointment and great surprise. You came to us as a Daddy's Deals client and the e-mail contact prior to your arrival seemed efficient and courteous. I have met with every member of staff you did and may have come into contact with during your stay. I have also contacted other guests who were at my establishment at the same time as you and when we experienced the unavoidable lengthy power failure. Except for your complaint we had only very satisfied guests. This can also be verified by looking at our Guest Comment book for the weekend in question.

We accept full responsibility for the fact that our generator batteries were in for re-conditioning as this power failure was a regional one and not a load shedding event that we were given notice of. We were caught on the back foot with the length of the power outage and we have now taken measures to ensure our contingencies are in place.

However, it seems that whilst there is definitely room for improvement from our side, it seems that very little could be done to please you and that you were adamant to find fault with even the smallest thing. Our rooms are known to be highly superior and our amenties also. I am sorry that you were not impressed by either. Every staff member interrogated by me said that you arrived with a bad impression of SW1 and that trying to please you made them nervous as you were quite hostile.

I do not want to defend every point you make as we have taken on the chin the points that are valid but have chosen to let go of the points that are unfounded or grossly exaggerated - such as the remark you make about making your own bed. This I can categorically say is not true. Desmond was making your bed for you after you insisted that the clean linen wasn't clean enough and you told him to stop making it and that you preferred to do it yourself.

We have earned our 5 stars through the consistent application of high standards and going beyond what's expected. We have recently been re-evaluated by the Grading Council on their more stringent grading rules and we passed with flying colours. We are 5 star and we are proud of it. We kniow that we must always be on the alert to respond receptively to constructive feedback as this is how we can continually improve on our offering. But we also are aware that we cannot please everyone 100% of the time despite our commitment to try to do so.

We accept your decison not to return to SW1 and find it regretful but understandable. We wish you all the best with your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
3.2 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 78 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Southern Cross Guesthouse
#5 of 78 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cape Vermeer
Cape Vermeer
#2 of 78 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
5.1 mi away
Chelaya Country Lodge
Chelaya Country Lodge
#3 of 26 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SW1 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SW1 Lodge

Property: SW1 Lodge
Address: 32 Elsenham, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Speciality Lodging in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — SW1 Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Luxury in Somerset West Do you want to experience undiluted Euro-African chic and opulence in magnificent surroundings? Enjoy delicious chef prepared meals? Be treated with dignified enthusiasm by well trained staff who really enjoy what they do? Then Somerset West's best kept secret is the place for you - SW1 Lodge - a treasure in the Helderberg. SW1 Lodge Offers 5 uniquely decorated and individualised rooms all en-suite, a magnificent dining area, reading/ relaxation, TV lounge and bar, conference facilities, a swimming pool, BBQ, sauna and an exquisite garden setting. Whether it is business or pleasure SW1 Lodge & Spa Retreat has no equal in the Helderberg. It is THE place to unwind, take a break, have a conference or that all-important business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your SW1 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SW1 Lodge Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing