We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Service”
Review of SW1 Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SW1 Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Never ever come to this spa in Somerset West called SW1. Service is terrible and unprofessional. Firstly on arrival they took 10 minutes just for reception to open the gates or answer there telephones. Me and my wife pre-booked a 10am appointment for a couple massage and overnight stay. We were asked by reception if the massage could be postponed to 12pm which we didn't mind. We then got a call around 12pm in our room to say that they fully booked and do not have any openings for massages for the day. Reception then tried to call other hotels in the area and found a hotel who would offer a similar massage at a more expensive price which we had to cover ourselves. We then were also told that we cant use any of the spa services such as the jacuzzi and sauna because this service is closed in winter. No where on there website does it say this nor is there any disclaimer indicating this on there premises. So we found ourselves going to a spa that gave us no spa services. Absolute terrible service. Do not put your foot near it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awilson1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for SW1 Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

I attended a Business Networking breakfast on Thurs 1st August at SW1 Lodge and the stunning decor and beautiful surroundings made this the perfect venue for this stylish event for 50 people. The staff were very helpful and friendly and ensured the event progressed without a hitch. After welcome tea/coffee we were seated for a delicious breakfast and then moved into the conference room to listen to our guest speaker. During the morning we were also given an opportunity to take a look at the facilities and accommodation at the Lodge which are truly 5 star and its a real gem hidden in the quieter suburbs of Somerset West. A unique retreat with its very own Spa - wonderful for a weekend in the Winelands. It would clearly be a superb venue for a celebration function such as a wedding or birthday but also perfect for the smaller business event where attention to detail is required.

Room Tip: each room is unique and they are all furnished with beautiful decor so could not choose one to recom...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

It is worth the money, we had a great stay. the Lodge is perfectly located in the suburbs so it is perfect if you need peace and quiet and it is stylish, clean and cosy! The staff is very helpful and very accommodating and they offer great services! one thing i would say is that maybe breakfast should be included but overall there is nothing better than SW1, WE LOVED IT!

Room Tip: If you are tall ask for a bed which has no footer.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chant13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

A double booking spa treatment mistake by them was rectified with * Spa Treatment, * Overnight Stay (Thula-Thula) and * Lunch at Jenna Viva Restaurant! Excellent service and extremely professional. Thanks.

Room Tip: Thula-Thula room!!!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_Strand_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri C, Owner at SW1 Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Dear Mr and Mr S

We are so pleased we were able to make up for the double booking that inconvenienced you.. You were most accommodating of this error and proved to be amazing guests. It is so refreshing to have people who are so easy to get along with and who appreciate the service provided.
SW1 is open to you any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

I saw a promotion advertised at JennaVIVA (my favourite restaurant in Somerset West) for a spa called SW1. Being a spa bunny I thought I'd try it out. I never expected what I got. A beautiful hidden setting right here in Somerset West with the most fantastic decor and the most friendly and well trained staff. I've only been back a few months from a long stint in Europe and there I was spolit for choice with spas. But SW1 was just wonderful. I went with a friend and we had an amazing half day spa package that included a delicious lunch. Megan and Michelle pampered us and we were totally relaxed when we left. You have to see SW1 to believe it. It is SPECTACULAR and the owner who I am told did all the decor has got exceptionlly good taste and very good ideas. Next time I am definitely staying over for the night.

Room Tip: I didn't stay over but asked to see the rooms. Every room looked awesome. I want to stay in the...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alda2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri C, Owner at SW1 Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Dear Alda

We are blown away by your fantastic feedback! This type of review makes what we do well worth all the effort.
We have to insist that you come and savour our luxurious rooms!!
You are always welcome at SW1

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed for one night on a mid-week break.

Good Points:
- large and clean room and bathroom
- quiet and relaxed setting
- breakfast staff were friendly and freshly baked cheese rolls were delicious

Bad Points:
- Lady at reception was not very friendly and had a bit of an attitude
- Jacuzzi was "out of order" but just looked like it needed to be cleaned
- Pool was dirty and needed cleaning
- Person at reception in the evening did not know how to put the pool lights on and eventually said that they didn't work
- Artwork in rooms is quite disturbing and should be more neutral (who wants a huge eye staring at you while your sleep)

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rini9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We spent our anniversary night in the hobeymoon suite at SW1 where our room was immaculate, spacious and beautiful. We also enjoyed use of their spa facilities and were pampered with full body massages and facials. The jacuzzi is also available to overnight guests. Loved the decor of the place and felt like we were on holiday even though we only a short distance from home for one night only.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tahmeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terri C, Owner at SW1 Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Dear Tahmee

Thank you so much for the positive comments. We are thrilled that we made this special occasion memorable for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
1.0 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
340 reviews
3.2 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#17 of 82 in Somerset West
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 82 in Somerset West
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Southern Cross Guesthouse
#5 of 82 in Somerset West
222 reviews
1.3 mi away
Silver Forest Boutique Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SW1 Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SW1 Lodge

Address: 32 Elsenham, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Somerset West
Price Range: £73 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SW1 Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in Luxury in Somerset West. Do you want to experience undiluted Euro-African chic and opulence in magnificent surroundings? Enjoy delicious chef prepared meals? Be treated with dignified enthusiasm by well trained staff who really enjoy what they do? Then Somerset West's best kept secret is the place for you - SW1 Lodge - a treasure in the Helderberg. SW1 Lodge offers 5 uniquely decorated and individualised rooms all en-suite, a magnificent dining area, reading / relaxation, TV lounge and bar, conference facilities, a swimming pool, BBQ, sauna and an exquisite garden setting. Whether it is business or pleasure, SW1 Lodge & Spa Retreat has no equal in the Helderberg. It is THE place to unwind, take a break, have a conference or that all-important business meeting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your SW1 Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SW1 Lodge Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing