We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice a professional manner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
KhashaMongo Guesthouse
Ranked #14 of 81 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We are from Spain. The guest house was wonderful with nice people and nice, friendly and professional staff. The owner and the family are a wonderful people and the rest of guests were very nice too..

Room Tip: Rooms were very quiet and nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DANIEL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robby L, Inhaber at KhashaMongo Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear Daniel,
thank you so much for your nice report, it was a pleasure for us to have you us our guests.
Greetings to Spain from all our Family.
Robby Langer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

We spent a few days in Kashamongo and enjoyed the atmosphere, the lovely place, the beautiful garden and the excellent breakfast there. Robby and Chantal made us feel like home, Robby gave plenty of usefull advises to exlore the Cap Region and also for the wineroute. We would recommend this place in any case and left it with plenty of good memories.

Room Tip: three of the four rooms are located near the pool with the Terrasse and the Family breakfast table
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robby L, Inhaber at KhashaMongo Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014
Google Translation

Vielen Dank Euch Beiden für diese Lieben Worte, wir sind froh dass es Euch bei uns so gut gefallen hat!
Ihr wart super Gäste, wir würden uns freuen, Euch bald wieder zu sehen!
Ganz liebe Grüße vom wohl schönsten Ende der Welt!
Robby und Familie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Although this was our 5th visit to South Africa it was our first stay in Somerset West and we weren't disappointed. We were made very welcome by Robby and his family, Robby's advise on where to eat and where to go were excellent. We loved the communal breakfast table giving the chance to chat to fellow guests, when we stayed there we met people from Sweden, Canada, Finland Germany and Belgium a nice change being the only Brits!!!
Somerset West is a good location to see the Cape and if you like golf lots of lovely golf courses only downside is the wind!!!

Room Tip: Amanzie is a lovely big room with a kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robby L, Inhaber at KhashaMongo Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Dear Sheila,
thank you so much for your nice Report, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.
We wish you all the best for your future, you are lovely guests!
Robby and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Thankyou Robbie & Chantele for making our stay so memorable.
Our first time in South Africa and it started with 10 nights at the 'KhashaMongo Guest House' and we were not disapointed, wonderfull family and friendly astmosphere, clean, helpfull, comfortable and a Breakfast second to none......very very fond memories, Thankyou.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winelovers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robby L, Inhaber at KhashaMongo Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you so much for this nice Report, we are so happy about your lovely words.
All the best from Somerset west, hope to see you soon, you are lovely guests!
Robby and family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at KhashaMongo for our first three days in South Africa. It was an excellent start to an excellent holiday. Robby & Chantal have thought of everything a discerning traveler might want. The honesty bar is well stocked with a variety of libations and snacks to satisfy any taste, including an espresso maker for the coffee aficionados. I will be eternally grateful to Robby for introducing me to Savannah Cider. Spacious rooms, tastefully decorated with African themes, are comfortable and well appointed. For those who like making new friends, most of the rooms open onto a common terrace next to the pool. For those who like solitude, there's plenty of space in the rooms, and with the doors closed, one can close out the world. The garden is beautifully planted and well manicured. Belle, the dog, is gentle and friendly but knows her boundaries. The two boys are comfortable with adults and children alike, and add a positive energy to the place. The oldest son was particularly helpful in making selections for the local pizza delivery.

While there is much to see and do in this part of the Cape, one could just spend time at KhashaMongo unwinding in the tranquility. Chantal offers excellent massages at reasonable rates, which this reviewer would highly recommend. We stayed in several wonderful B&Bs during our stay in South Africa; this one won our award for best breakfast, best coffee, and softest bread. We looked forward each morning to enjoying a delicious breakfast and a friendly, multilingual chat with Robby and our fellow guests. Stay at KhashaMongo and you will be embraced by the warmth and beauty this part of the world is known for.

Room Tip: While most of the rooms open onto the common area, there is at least one room with its own private t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robby L, Inhaber at KhashaMongo Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you so much Jeff for the nice and beautiful report.
We are happy that you enjoyed our place, you were great and nice guests.
Wish you all the best for 2014, hope to see you again in the future in our Little paradise....
Hugs from Somerset West from all the Family
Robby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

First time in southafrica, so it was difficult to choose where to stay.

But we made the best descision to stay at the KhashaMongo Guesthouse, it was really nice!!! We travelled around Gardenroute, Capetown, Kruger NP.. we found the most african style rooms in this lodge :)

Also the best breakfast with fresh bread rolls (otherwise it´s everywhere just toast), cold cuts,...
Robby and his family are so nice, lovely and helpful to know more about this very beautiful country.

Its a good position to start all around capetown... just 15 minutes to the airport, 30 minutes capetown city, not far from winelands Stellenbosh, Franschhoek... easy to drive to cape of good hope np,...

I can just really recommend you this lodge!! You wont regret!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9Sally9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robby L, Inhaber at KhashaMongo Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013
Google Translation

Liebe Sally,
vielen Dank für Deine super Bewertung, wir haben uns sehr darüber gefreut!
Du warst ein klasse Gast und wir würden uns freuen, Dich irgendwann wieder hier in unserem kleinen Paradies begrüßen zu dürfen.
Viel Glück für die Zukunft, alles Liebe vom wohl schönsten Ende der Welt!
Robby und Familie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I enjoyed the stay very much at the guest house "KhashaMongo".. You can feel the passion from Robby and his wife of doing all their best to make everyones stay memorable. Chantal has a feeling for a beautiful decoration in the rooms. All the given ideas and advices from Robby helped to enjoy and discover the area around cape town. I definitely will return to this cozy place....and last but not least...an awesome breakfast so that the start in the day could not be better.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nadine002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robby L, Inhaber at KhashaMongo Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013
Google Translation

Liebe Nadine, ganz vielen Dank für Deine tolle Bewertung.
Kann die Komplimente einfach nur zurück geben, Du warst ein super gast und ein unheimlich nettes und sympathisches Mädel!
Liebe Grüße aus Südafrika, freuen uns jetzt schon Dich hoffentlich irgendwann mal wieder zu sehen!
Robby und Familie!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
1.1 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#16 of 81 in Somerset West
149 reviews
0.8 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
382 reviews
3.4 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#5 of 6 in Somerset West
20 reviews
1.9 mi away
Villa Helderberg
Villa Helderberg
#8 of 81 in Somerset West
144 reviews
4.2 mi away
Chelaya Country Lodge
Chelaya Country Lodge
#3 of 30 in Somerset West
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KhashaMongo Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KhashaMongo Guesthouse

Address: 39 Nerina Avenue | Somerset West, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range: £44 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — KhashaMongo Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khasha Mongo - a tranquil retreat, the ideal place to spend comfortable days - balm for your soul. Recreation under old trees in the indigenous garden or relaxing at the pool.KashaMongo Guest house is settled in Somerset West and provides acommodation with a stunning view to the Helderberg and the Hottentots Mountains. The name Khasha Mongo finds his origin in the Zulu language and means: "peaceful home". Chantal and Robby entertain their guests with warm hospitality in an african styled atmosphere. The Khasha Mongo Guest house loves to spoil guests with generous breakfast buffet and also superb dinners on request. The Khasha Mongo is a recommended destination by guests from all over the world - their return to South Africa always includes an extended stay at the guest house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your KhashaMongo Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
KhashaMongo Guesthouse Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing