We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant wait to go back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somerset West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Topsy Turvy Guesthouse
Ranked #35 of 80 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Cant wait to go back!”
Reviewed 23 February 2011

My husband and I and some friends booked all 5 of topsy turvy's rooms for the weekend in order to attend a friends wedding in February. We were excited to find that the rooms were modern and spacious with every amenity. The hosts were warm and hospitable, nothing was too much to ask for. The breakfasts were fresh and absolutely delicious with a home-made touch, but the best part of all was the heated swimming pool overlooking an incredible view. My husband and I loved it so much that we decided to stay an extra night! I can't wait for an excuse to go back!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keryn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
43
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Church Crookham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2011

We found Topsy Turvy via Trip Advisor and were not disappointed. The setting of the guest house is high up above Somerset West affording fantastic views over False Bay and Gordon's Bay and while 3 or 4 kms away from the main town is all the better for having the calmness, peace and quiet you'd hope of being slightly off the beaten track.

Our bedroom and bathroom were both very spacious, bright, clean and comfortable and only a few steps down to the beautiful swimming pool, with an infinity edge and those gorgeous views. Breakfast was always a sumptious meal, beautifully presented, bundles of choice and very tasty. Ritje and Eric recommended and arranged reservations for us at 3 local restaurants which were all absolutely excellent in their different ways, Steffanie's Place, The Big Easy and Restaurant at Waterkloof. They also arranged a massage for us at the guest house which was delightful.

Everything was excellent and we can't wait to come back and see Topsy Turvy and Ritje and Eric again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AandA2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We stayed at Topsy Turvy for 9 days. The first week was booked in advance, but we liked it so much, that we extended our stay here for the 2 nights we had left on our trip to South Africa. The beautiful villa with it's spacious rooms, the lovely owners Ritje and Erik, the stunning view, the delicious breakfast and the big heated pool really made our stay unforgetable !

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sayanora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimbergen, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

I stayed at Topsy Turvy with my wife and teenage son in December, 2010. After a horrendous, stress-filled journey from Brussels to Cape Town, Topsy Turvy was like a welcoming oasis in a desert. The owners are friendly and welcoming, the rooms good sized, and the pool refreshing. Not the cheapest place you will ever find, but definitely value for money. Our only regret ? That we had only booked for 2 nights !

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rollenbollen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geel, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 3 January 2011

After having finalised a tour in South Africa, we wanted a nice and quiet location to conclude our trip and to visit the wine area; Topsy Turvy was the perfect location fitting our expectations.

Arriving at the guesthouse, we were immediately invited to drink a glass of wine with Ritje and Eric before visiting the rooms. The hospitality we experienced from the very beginning remained during whole our stay.
We were immediately asked whether we needed assistance to book a restaurant for the evening.

The following morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast, with fresh orange juice, fresh bread, fresh fruit salad,..realy superb.
Eric gave us all the tips regarding "do's and dont's" to maximise our visits to the wine estates which are very close to the guesthouse.

At Chrismas day we stayed at the heated pool and we concluded with a barbeque prepared by Eric and Ritje.

In total we stayed three nights and enjoyed every minute in the guesthouse, with beautiful, quiet, clean and spacious.rooms. Also the surrounding area is worthwhile to be discovered.

We were very pleased to discover the hidden gem "Topsy Turvy".

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddy_S3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schilde
1 review
Reviewed 10 December 2010

Friendly reception in nice surroundings - recommendable

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merlucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2010

A beautiful place to stay and visit Capetown, Stellenbosch, Sommerset-West, Hermanus, Helderberg region for a walk. Tast the great wine and food of the region!
The hospitality of Ritje and Eric is so nice that you feel comfortable immediately.
Great rooms, lots of space, beautiful garden, swimming pool to relax, view on the mountains and sea. A wonderful breakfast which leaves no wishes open.
We could not think about a better or nicer stay as here. Our first choice if we visit South Africa again. Raymund and Helene

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Africa201011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
1.8 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 80 in Somerset West
366 reviews
1.9 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
320 reviews
1.3 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#17 of 80 in Somerset West
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
304 reviews
1.5 mi away
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Southern Cross Guesthouse
#5 of 80 in Somerset West
220 reviews
1.5 mi away
a'Vue Guesthouse
a'Vue Guesthouse
#61 of 80 in Somerset West
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topsy Turvy Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topsy Turvy Guesthouse

Property: Topsy Turvy Guesthouse
Address: 68 Silverboom Kloof Street | Spanish Farm, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upmarket guesthouse on the slopes of the Helderberg. Owner operated with attention to detail. Contemporary, stylish bedrooms, with airco, flat screen TV, safe, minibar, coffee/tea tray etc. Finest restaurants nearby. 5 top golf courses in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Topsy Turvy Guesthouse Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing