We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hottentots Mountain View
Ranked #34 of 81 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

Our stay was short but amazing! We had a great welcome from yvo And Josianne. The place is wonderful. Lovely big rooms with a Nice big bathroom. The garden And swimming pool area is realy peacefull. The perfect location to go to Cape Town, Hermanus, wine routes!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ripi-moons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

Good breakfast, lovely clean room and nice place to relax, well presented and car parking on site as well. We will return.
The beds and bed linen are wonderful, we both slept very well.
The pool is kept really clean and has nice loungers for relaxing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurreyLenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. Nice location, excellent accommodation, well presented and secure. We only had breakfast whilst there, which was very nice, and of good quality. We have no problem recommending Hottentots View as a place to stay.

Room Tip: The first floor suites overlooking the pool that we had, were plush and well furnished, and well pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We can recommend this Guesthouse as it is situated in a beautiful spot with a charming garden and an excellent pool in a residential area.
We enjoyed an excellent breakfast and Josiane and Ivo made us feel very welcome.
It also a perfect place to go visit the wineries and to discover the town of Stellenbosch.
Somerset West is just placed between Cape Town and Hermanus, so ideal for day trips.
There are nice restaurants in the neighbourhood and if you like shoping, the Somerset shopping mall is close-by with a great number of stores.
We stayed for two nights, but we come back for sure next year.
Ton and Roos

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank roseandton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Our two weeks stay was really wonderful. Every day it was a little bit like coming home. A wonderful, secure and peaceful place to be. Warm hospitality, a lot of valuable advices and a lot of more things you normally don't expect. We come back - for sure !

Room Tip: all nice !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We were 6 people and all of us enjoyed the stay at Hottentots view very much! That excellent breakfast in combination with the very very friendly owners Josiane and Yvo plus the very nice and peacefull location might be difficult to beat! You can experience a wonderfull view at the mountains or relax in the pool and if you need any good advice or help Yvo and Josiane will always give their best support. We realy felt at home under friends and we will surely come back if we are in ZA again.
Dirk

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Our stay at Hottentots View Gasthouse was a great experience. Beautifully situated with larges rooms very well equipped. Very nice breakfast and personal welcome. Excursions can be made to and around Cape Town --> Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sven h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
1.6 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#17 of 81 in Somerset West
144 reviews
2.4 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 81 in Somerset West
377 reviews
2.1 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
324 reviews
1.2 mi away
Golf and Garden
Golf and Garden
#41 of 81 in Somerset West
6 reviews
3.7 mi away
Chelaya Country Lodge
Chelaya Country Lodge
#3 of 29 in Somerset West
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hottentots Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hottentots Mountain View

Address: 51 Oldenland Road, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range: £89 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hottentots Mountain View 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We'd like to welcome you in our luxury accommodation near Capetown, in guesthouse Hottentots View in the residential area of Somerset West, at the start of the wine route and at the foothills of the Hottentots Holland mountains. Use this guesthouse as a base to explore the Cape Peninsula, the Western Cape and the Cape Winelands, Hottentots View is only a 5 minutes drive from the white sandy beach from False Bay, 15 minutes from Stellenbosch, 25 minutes from Cape Town International Airport and 45 minutes from Cape Town table mountain and V&A Waterfront. Relax in one of the 5 "deluxe" garden cottages, situated around the swimming pool in the magnificent garden with palm and olive trees, braai area and sunny deck. They all consist of spacious bedrooms with en-suite bathroom, terrace with stunning views over the Hottentots-Holland mountains, the Helderberg and False bay, and all rooms have a separate, exterior entrance. A sumptuous breakfast is included in the price and will be served each morning in the brand new garden room or on the roof terrace with its stunning views. Lunch, a delicious dinner or braai (barbecue) can be served on request in the evening. You will certainly find peace and tranquility in the lush greenery of the gardens, by the sparkling swimming pool, in the shade of the patios, or on the new roof terrace with 180° views on the mountains and the Atlantic Ocean. We look forward to welcoming you in our "oasis of peace and tranquility"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hottentots Mountain View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hottentots Mountain View Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing