We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome”
Review of AlphaBed B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AlphaBed B&B
Ranked #15 of 81 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We were looking for a nice place not too far from the airport and we found it at AlphaBed. Nathalie gave us a very warm welcome. The room was beautiful and overlooking the garden and the pool. We enjoyed the breakfast on the veranda in the morning. We can recommend it very much and it is a place to go back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingeborg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

We had occasion to be in Somerset West on business and searched the net for a B&B. Now sometimes what you see on the net and what you actually get are vastly different. AlphaBed was true to the last word and much much more. We were met by Natalie and shown to our splendid rooms over looking the pool and garden, she volunteered to make our restaurant reservations. The rooms were to die for and my bathroom was out of this world. Small little add ons make the difference, the Belguim chocolate, the little jar of Jacobs coffee to help you face the morning. The breakfast was great and the ambience of the roaring fire [in April!] in the kitchen/breakfast room was a surprising treat.

Everything from the moment we arrived to when we reluctantly had to move on was fantastic.

We are planning our return, business or not!!!

Room Tip: I think it was room one - they only have three rooms but it is the closest to the dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russell a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Alphabed B&B was our first contact with South-Africa - we arrived late at night after a long flight from Amsterdam and a first try at driving left. Nathalie & Chris gave us a warm welcome and showed us to their cosy family suite - a room for us and an even more comfortable room for our daughters (they got the chocolates). Next morning we had a delicious breakfast, while Nathalie introduced us to the neighborhood, and her daughters charmed our's. We stayed four nights at Alphabed, touring the coast and the Winelands. Nathalie pointed us, amongst others, to a wonderful beach (Dapat se gat) and pinguins without tourists (Betty's Bay). Our girls of course liked Alphabed's swimming pool, for them a bigger attraction than a famous winery. So yes, we very much enjoyed Alphabed and will gladly return there, given the chance.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanProvoost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I stayed at Alpha B&B for a conference up the road. I must say the service was fantastic, and the owners were so friendly.The rooms were absolutely beautiful with all the ammenities you need. The highlight for me, was the delicious breakfast that was served in the mornings. I can highly recommend Alpha B&B to anyone visiting Somerset West.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

we had been travelling for 2 weeks in south africa (jo'burg - pe - tsitsikama - plettenburg bay - swellendam - hermanus - cape town - somerset west) and had booked a room in alphabed b&b at the end of our trip.
we arrived late in the evening but received a very warm welcome from nathalie.
we felt immediately at ease in our a lovely room with terrace.
we had an excellent rest in this quiet environment and we can surely recommend the well equiped bathroom.
the breakfast with personal touch was a royal treat!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcus s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed for two nights at Alpha B&B prior to our departure from S. Africa. The room was very comfortable and private and breakfast was very filling. Natalie, the Hostess was very welcoming and accommodating. We even had a packed breakfast prepared for us as we had to leave for the airport early in the morning. A very pleasant stay and we would recommend it...

Room Tip: The upstairs room with its own lounge area is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabradyp16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Very nice and comfortable rooms and bathroom.
Good and more than enough braekfast
Nice accomodation and swimmingpool.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
1.7 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
384 reviews
2.1 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
345 reviews
0.5 mi away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#5 of 6 in Somerset West
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Villa Helderberg
Villa Helderberg
#8 of 81 in Somerset West
144 reviews
1.4 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#17 of 81 in Somerset West
149 reviews
3.4 mi away
Chelaya Country Lodge
Chelaya Country Lodge
#3 of 30 in Somerset West
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AlphaBed B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AlphaBed B&B

Address: 7 Prospect Avenue, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range: £66 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — AlphaBed B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AlphaBed B&B is situated central in Somerset West, restaurants and shops in walking distance and near to the world famous wine estate 'Vergelegen' and golf club 'Erinvale' (3km). AlphaBed is an ideal base to explore the beautiful Cape peninsula and the surrounding winelands. Cape Town is at 30 minutes’ drive, Stellenbosch, Franschhoek, the beaches of the False Bay and Hermanus are at easy reach. This charming thatched house offers three stylish guestrooms: 2 Double Rooms with queen size beds and 1 Junior Suite with king size bed. The suite is privately situated on the first floor in the main house. All rooms have en suite bathrooms, towels, free toiletries, hair dryer, tea and coffee facilities, fridge, fan, safe, flat screen TV, DSTV (satellite), DVD, pool towels and free WIFI. Guests can enjoy a daily generous and varied breakfast. They can also relax by the outdoor saltwater swimming pool or under the lapa. Secure parking on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your AlphaBed B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
AlphaBed B&B Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing