We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay!”
Review of Villa Vista

Villa Vista
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somerset West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Villa Vista
München
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Villa Vista is a very nice place to stay. It is a home away from home, with everything you need for self catering and the hosts are very nice and helpfull people.
We will come back, when travelling to South Africa again!

Room Tip: Take the big apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Explorer_1141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed for the fourth time at Villa Vista in April, and were pleasantly surprised to find the living area revamped with new kitchen units and laminated floors throughout. Once again a very pleasant stay, and an ideal venue with lots of space to entertain our relatives who reside in Somerset West.
Thanks to our hosts Elise and Jake we were made welcome and we will certainly return again in the future.

Room Tip: If you plan on having visitors, we recommend the larger of the two units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pegasus40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We were pleasanty surprised with our stay at Villa Vista. All the home luxuries, beautiful view, peaceful, easy access to many tourist attractions. The hostess pays attention to detail and ensures a warm and friendly welcome. I will definitely go back, just to sit and enjoy the view. Thanks for the comfortable and clean units!

Heidi C

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Heidi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

I am writing this for my aunt who wanted to rate Villa Vista but is not very good with computers :)!
She stayed twice as long as intended and was sorry when she had to leave, fabulous friendly hosts! Very comfortable and clean room, and the whole place felt very safe and secure. She is looking forward to a return visit in the near future.

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Clayton T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bywong, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Villa Vista was the perfect accommodation choice for our trip to Somerset West. It is in a peaceful and stunning location set high in the suburbs overlooking the Strand with sea views in the distance. With a hire car at our disposal we were only 2 minutes from the shops and 5 minutes from Somerset West town and had excellent secure parking at the apartment. We stayed in the larger of the 2 apartments which is vast and fully equipped for self catering. Elise and Jake were in the background but available at a moment's notice by phone call no matter where you were and were ably supported by Betty (room servicing) and Jessie's (border collie) regular visits. We will be returning to Villa Vista on all future visits to Somerset West and have no hesitation in recommending this jewel in the suburbs.

Room Tip: Large apartment wonderfully spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walvis Bay, Namibia
1 review
Reviewed 28 December 2011

In a beautiful safe, quiet spot in Somerset West, Villa Vista gives you all the home comforts you need in a comfortable and clean self-catering unit, with stunning views and looking onto a beautiful garden. Everything you need is on hand; Jake will even bring you a bucket of ice if you run short! Definitely a place to return to.

Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank inthedunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

We have just returned from our third visit to South Africa and this is the second time we have stayed at Villa Vista. We cannot recommend it highly enough - it just ticks all the boxes. Our hosts Jake and Elise are so welcoming and helpful; they make you feel more like friends than guests, with little touches such as drinks on arrival and fresh flowers on the table. There are two apartments, one of which is a studio apartment but we always stay in the larger one which has the most floor area of anywhere we have ever stayed. The apartment is furnished to a high standard but still retains that "homely" feeling. The kitchen has just been refurbished to a very high standard and extras such as satellite TV, washing machine, bath plus shower and comfortable sofas make it a real home from home. We look forward to opening our patio door in the morning and having breakfast next to the large pool or having a braai in the evening in the lapa next to the pool. The location is excellent as there are many golf courses nearby as well as shopping malls and some excellent restaurants. The view from the garden over False Bay is stunning. Cape Town is only a 45 min drive away and the airport is only 20mins. We have rebooked for next year and can't wait to go back as it feels like "coming home" from the moment we open the door. And we can't forget Jess the dog who is always waiting for us when we get back and the hope of a tasty titbit if she is lucky! Thanks again Elise and Jake for another magical holiday in the Cape and most of all for sharing your beautiful home with us. Davie & Jackie

Room Tip: Book well in advance and ask for the larger suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SpanishflyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
1.1 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
310 reviews
0.6 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#17 of 78 in Somerset West
136 reviews
2.6 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
a'Vue Guesthouse
a'Vue Guesthouse
#59 of 78 in Somerset West
23 reviews
0.9 mi away
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Southern Cross Guesthouse
#5 of 78 in Somerset West
220 reviews
2.1 mi away
Willowbrook Country House
Willowbrook Country House
#3 of 6 in Somerset West
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Vista

Property: Villa Vista
Address: 47 Firmount Road, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Vista 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Vista, situated in the heart of Somerset West at the foot of the Helderberg Mounains, is an ideal breakaway for those who love comfort, tranquility, wine, golf, swimming, hiking and dining-out because of its close proximity to the beautiful winelands, swimming beaches, golf courses, award winning restaurants. The two self-catering apartments with their own private entrances offer beautiful views from a magnificent garden, a sparkling swimming pool and secure and safe parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa Vista Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing