We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a stroke of luck to have stayed here with warmhearted, and most helpful Miriam and Garry.”
Review of Mooring House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mooring House
Osnabrück
1 review
“What a stroke of luck to have stayed here with warmhearted, and most helpful Miriam and Garry.”
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Staying at the Mooring House was more than the cherry on the top and made our whole visit to Somerset West a very special one. A dreamy garden and Garry, Miriam and family we really hope to see again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkoudelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
6
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Well located close to Somerset West, Cape Town, airport and The Strand. Amazing views of the Helderburg and great opportunity for a brisk evening walk up the slopes of the mountain to be rewarded with wonderful views over False Bay and surrounding mountains. Everything you need in the apartments so great for Self Catering. Very welcoming, helpful and knowledgable hosts.
Watch out for the spiders (if you leave the garden windows open). A bit scary, but easily removed with a broom! Don't let this put you off (character forming!).
If you need to work - wireless internet connectivity (good signal) is provided free of charge.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BandBTrotter, Owner at Mooring House, responded to this review, 5 September 2010
Rain spiders (or proper term being the African Huntsman Spider) appears extremely scary to those who do not like spiders, but they are actually not aggressive and will not bite unless they feel threatened or provoked but are certainly not deadly to humans. They get their name from fear of the rain and seek shelter a day or two before a rain shower – unfortunately on occasions, in one or other guest room where the windows have been left open and then stay in a corner on the ceiling.

I know they are not the most pleasant of slights especially when you climb into bed at night and look up the ceiling and there staring back at you is this rather large spider – enough to put anyone off their sleep, but please do not kill them as they are considered beneficial because they feed on insects. So if summons by a guests because of this looming threat inside there room I simply take a broom, nudge them to the floor where they will curl up into a little ball and then gently sweep them outside – away from harms way.

Prevention. Unfortunately you will find them in most places where you stay but simply : shut your windows prior to a rain storm and you will have an unthreatened and peaceful nights sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset East
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Stunning tranquil gardens, accomodation clean, bright, spaceous and very comfortable!
Wonderful for the whole family, close to shops, very practically situated!
Brilliant atmosphere, and very private!
Thanks, we enjoyed our stay, we wish it was longer and for a holiday to really appreciate, maybe next time!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rileyhogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letty299
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2010

Gary and miriam are knowledgeable freindly hosts and made our stay very enjoyable. We can't recommend them highly enough. Rooms were comfortable, position excellent, and in it's way as good as the Lord Charles down the road.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letty299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
2.8 mi away
Willowbrook Country House
Willowbrook Country House
#3 of 6 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#18 of 79 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Penny Lane Lodge
Penny Lane Lodge
#61 of 79 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Roosboom Luxury Guest Apartments
Roosboom Luxury Guest Apartments
#5 of 28 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 79 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mooring House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mooring House

Property: Mooring House
Address: 4 Mayfair Avenue | Helena Heights, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mooring House 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal location for holiday accommodation - Somerset West is only 20 minutes from Cape Town International airport. Mooring House offers comfortable lodgings in a tranquil garden setting. Ideal for groups or the individual traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mooring House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mooring House Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing