We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feed them!”

Monkey Town Primate Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Feed them!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a great place to spend a few hours. Easy trip from CT along the N2 to Somerset West, but make sure you get good directions or you could miss the turning. I visited a few years ago, but must say that the place looked better this time around - cleaner and better cared for. Great to enjoy the experience of feeding the squirrel and wolf monkeys, although the lemurs didn't want to show their faces :( Guide was excellent and funny too! Cafe was closed when we visited, but it didn't matter as we had taken a picnic and sat in the play park area. Well worth a few hours.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jangles_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    52
    29
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent day!!!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We just spent a day at monkey land and bird sanctuary - what a fun experience to see all the different primates interaction and open spaces available to them - the guide was very knowledgable and I would highly recommend it for an afternoon - thanks!!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PuraVida001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A very pleasant visit”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A very enjoyable experience. There are loads of monkeys and birds to keep you entertained for a few hours. The enclosures are well laid out especially the 'jungle one' where the monkey's have loads of space and trees and it is you that is walking in an enclosure. Try visit over lunch time when a lot of the monkeys are been fed. Kids loved the gorrilla who kept spitting at them.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Monkey Town, Somerset West - an excellent primate centre”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I have never been a fan of zoos or places that keeps animals in confined spaces, but Monkey Town is so close to my brother's house I almost fell in the door one day. The chimps are in a space smaller than I would have liked, but the rest of the primates were in a huge enclosure and seem well cared for. If you visit be sure to pay the extra to meet the Squirrel Monkeys - an experience my children and I will never forget. Also under the remit of the centre is a brilliant play park for children, some small farm animals and a small pool with slides. You could easily make a whole day out here.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank bimblegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordon's Bay, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“FANTASITIC FOR ANY OUTING”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

YOU MUST GO TO MONKEY TOWN...
We often take our kids there for an outing...and they love it and so do we..best play park for kids in the whole of the Helderberg area, and entertainment for adults as well...i love the concerts the most

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SamanthaQ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monkey Town Primate Centre also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
 
Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Monkey Town Primate Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing