We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Howard and Grace Judah - A superb experience at Woodlands” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodlands Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Woodlands Guest House
Ranked #18 of 78 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Howard and Grace Judah - A superb experience at Woodlands”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The hosts were excellent to say the least and superbly customer orientated and friendly. I did not expect such a clean environment. Even the smallest shortcomings (like a blown lamp) was attended to immediately.

I told the hosts (Carl and Emsie) that their BB was equivalent to a first class hotel accommodation.

Room Tip: I am unable to recommend any particular room. If the one I stayed in (ground floor on the right) is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HowardJudah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsGuestHouse, Manager at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for a wonderful comment.

We enjoyed having you here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    33
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
30
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Highly recommended! I could not fault my stay at Woodlands in any way. The Hospitality of the host was attentive but not overly, my room was very comfortable, the location made all of Cape Town accessible.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank StJohnJones1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsGuestHouse, Manager at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for a wonderful comment.

We enjoyed having you here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We enjoyed a peaceful and comfortable stay at the Woodlands Guest House in Somerset West. Our hosts could not have been more kind and helpful and we enjoyed a sumptuous breakfast each morning, served in the beautifully decorated Cape home. Our room was quiet and tastefully decorated and also very clean and comfortable, with discreet and excellent servicing every day. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsGuestHouse, Manager at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for a wonderful comment.

We enjoyed having you here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chartwell, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Beautiful guest house and Emsie's cooking is superb. Made it feel like home away from home. Good advice on what to do and where to eat and overall was a lovely relaxing stay. Make sure to order some dinner from Emsie.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsGuestHouse, Manager at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for a wonderful comment.

We enjoyed having you here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

A very friendly atmosphere in a well situated and spacious house.
We were very well taken care of and the breakfast was excellent.
A quiet and large room with a kitchenette.
The hosting couple were very helpful and assisting.



  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hans F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsGuestHouse, Manager at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you very much.
We enjoyed having you here with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

I'm traveling a lot for business and are constantly staying in B&Bs, hotels and self catering guest houses. The reception and service at Woodlands guest house was very friendly, accommodating for late arrivals and all and all a very pleasant experience. I will certainly make use of their hospitality in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonpics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaalpark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

My husband and myself stayed over under sad personal circumstances as my brother in law was at the time already admitted to Hospice. But we took the time to admire the beautiful guest house surroundings, not even to mention the amazing view towards the sea and light tower far in the distance. Absolutely so beautiful. I felt so grateful being able to return to such beautiful and tranquil surrounding inside the guesthouse and gardens at the end of each day. Which we could have stayed over longer than the few days that we were there! We sincerely hope that we will be able to attend your guesthouse again - this time for a holiday (my brother in law has since passed away - maybe therefor the delay in replying to your e-mail). We would strongly recommend your guesthouse as this is good value for beautiful surroundings. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hannes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WoodlandsGuestHouse, Manager at Woodlands Guest House, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Google Translation
Baie dankie vir die terugvoer en ons inige simpatie met die heengaan van jul geliefde. Was waarlik vir ons 'n voorreg om jul hier te ontvang. So dankbaar saam met julle dat jul nog tyd saam kon geniet en saam gaan uit eet. Vir hom is dit nou vrede en geen pyn en vir jul die wete daar is LEWE na die dood.

Kom hou vakansie nou in die Kaap, hy is steeds net so mooi.

Groete

Carl en Emsie
Woodlands Guesthouse (B&B)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
1.4 mi away
Winelands Villa Guesthouse & Cottages
Winelands Villa Guesthouse & Cot...
#19 of 78 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.9 mi away
Albourne Boutique Guest House
Albourne Boutique Guest House
#6 of 78 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.9 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#20 of 78 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Stellendal Guesthouse
Stellendal Guesthouse
#8 of 78 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
3.6 mi away
Vredenburg Manor House
Vredenburg Manor House
#7 of 78 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bay View Somerset West
Bay View Somerset West
#11 of 78 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guest House

Property: Woodlands Guest House
Address: 16 Woodlands Road, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Woodlands Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands Guest House (B&B), with its Cape Dutch charm is a warm and welcoming Guest House for any traveller. Whether you are looking for the perfect location for that long break, or just needing an over night stop with a difference, Woodlands Guest House (B&B) is the right choice. With its welcoming atmosphere, comfortable rooms and beautiful setting, Woodlands Guest House (B&B) will become your regular destination once you have experienced the Woodlands Guest House (B&B) hospitality. - Looking forward to seeing you! - ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Woodlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Guest House Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing