We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blaauwheim Guest House
Ranked #1 of 82 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed in the Chardonnay Suite which has a little balcony with a nice sofa and a great view into the garden and the mountains. The suite is very generous in size and nicely furnished in soft colors. It really looked like the pictures on the internet – no creative photography involved! The bed was very comfortable and the air con a great plus at the end of a hot day. The suite has a living room with large sofas and a tv, a fully equipped kitchen (with refrigerator/freezer combination like you would have it at home) on one wall and a dining room table with 4 comfortable chairs in the other corner. There is a lot of storage space in the bedroom. The suit has a big bathroom with both shower and bathtub and another separate toilet. The only minor irritation was maybe the very busy road just behind the house which spoiled the serene view of the mountains with traffic noise.
The breakfast on the terrace provided a nice selection of everything you might want for breakfast and in addition a chat with the owners. Internet is available and you can settle your bill with credit card. There is also a small pool in a court yard and some sun chairs.
The Blaauwheim Guest House is situated only 20 min from Cape Town International Airport and very easy to find. The area is apparently great for golfing – we were only on our way through so didn’t really explore all the things you can do in the Somerset West area. The owners were very flexible to let us stay for only one night minimum-stay policy.
We felt very welcome at the Blaauwheim Guest House. They fully deserve all the good reviews on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N0i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear N0i

Wow! Thanks for this review: objective, comprehensive and professional. It was a wonderful experience meeting such an interested and interesting couple. We were both sorry that it was such a brief encounter - maybe longer next time!

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2013

Thankyou so much! We enjoyed our stay here so much! The guest house was perfectly equipped with everything we needed and we felt very much at home. The house and suites are beautiful and it's in an excellent location. Johan and Jo-Anne helped us with everything we needed and welcomed us very warmly. We

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear Rebecca

Thank you for the positive review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you had a good experience of the Cape and the Winelands. We know that you'll be thinking of Blaauwheim and the South African sunshine until you come back.

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We booked our stay at Blaauwheim after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. After 24 hours of travel from the USA we arrived at 11:15 pm and both Johan an Jo-Anne wecomed as to our room. There was no rush, no "go to bed it is late". They showed us all the ins and outs and what an amazing place.

Wonderful accomodation, huge room, best breakfast ever.

Very special.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms. Each is unique and no one is worse than the other. All 3 are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear Chris

Thanks for you review and for mentioning time. If you want to own and manage a Guest House, your time "belongs" to your guests. Time does not make your Guest House tick - guests do. Hope your journey home did not feel that long. You can return to Blaauwheim on the same late flight. We'll be waiting!

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Thank you very much ! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The suite was lovely and the bed the most comfortable I have ever slept in. I was impressed with how easy it was to find and navigate to Blaauwheim using Google Maps. I will be back soon. Jo-anne's garden is truly a paradise - breakfast on the stoep is not to be missed.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJCotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2013

Dear LJC

You always comment about the comfy beds to us. Thanks for mentioning it in your review - proving that providing for good sleeping should be the primary function of any Guest House. Glad Google Maps help! You know the way and you like the beds: you are most welcome to come again! The garden will reflect the season.

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I had the priviledge of spending the week before Christmas 2012 at Blaauwheim. On arriving i knew I was somewhere special. I was greeted by a splash of colour from the garden, and the mountain in the background added to the beauty. The smiling and friendly welcome from Johan and Jo-Anne made you feel relaxed and at home. The accommodation was luxurious and clean, yet it had a wonderfuly relaxed and homely feel. I knew I had made the right choice. Breakfast was a culinary treat of good old fashioned SA cooking, prepared by Johan and Jo-Anne. Once again you are greeted by a splash of colour from the fruit platter with its array of fruits and berries, artistically layed out by Johan. Breakfast on the verandah, with the backdrop of the Cape beauty, the sound of the birds and the sight of squirrels prancing across the lawn, made you feel as if you were in paradise. The relaxed and friendly atmosphere, and Johan's and Jo-Anne's wonderful sense of humour, made it a unique experience. On a scale of 1 - 10 how would I rate Blaauwheim? For me personally, I would have to say more than 10. Apart from the beauty and the luxury, it's the little things which go unnoticed that Johan and Jo-Anne offer guests that makes your stay so very special. It's impossible to list them all but one word sums it all up - caring. They care about you and your needs. Will I return to Blaauwheim and recommend it to my friends and colleagues - yes, definitely! Thank you Johan and Jo-Anne for a truly wonderful holiday experience.
Dr. Trevor Clarke

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Dear Dr Trevor

It was wonderful hosting such an appreciative guest at Blaauwheim. You missed nothing and that reminded us how special our place in Somerset West and indeed the Cape really is. The summer heat has prompted whorls of cycad leaves and even some cones to appear and the next flush of roses is delighting visitors at the moment. Your appreciation shows that our hard work does not go unnoticed. Thanks so much and see you (and your Mom) soon.

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

We had the most wonderful experience at Blaauwheim, every aspect of our stay here has been perfect. The service and setting is exceptional. Johan and Jo-Anne offer a friendly and relaxed holiday experience and I can't wait to visit again. I would highly recommend this as the best accommodation I have experienced.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Shiraz and I would definitey request this room again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Dear René

Thanks for the lovely review. There is nothing like positive feedback to motivate us to make Blaauwheim even beter than what it is. You are always welcome and we are looking forward to your next visit. Maybe you should try one of the luxury suites next time. Best regards. Johan and Jo-Anne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I visited Blaauwheim for a weekend and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The rooms were beautiful and well serviced, containing absolutely everything one could need. The owners were very hospitable and I felt very much at home.

The breakfast each morning was great and really caters to anyone's needs.

I will definitely return to Blaauwheim and I recommend it to anyone looking for accommodation in the Cape.

Room Tip: The bigger suite contains a full kitchen, dining and sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Dear Monika

Thank you so much for the lovely review. It was a privilege for us to be your host for the weekend and we really enjoyed having you as our guest. We hope to see you again soon.

Johan & Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
3.9 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
316 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
356 reviews
8.1 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Dongola Guest House
Dongola Guest House
#1 of 40 in Constantia
452 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cape Vermeer
Cape Vermeer
#3 of 82 in Somerset West
154 reviews
4.3 mi away
43 on Sandstone Guest House
43 on Sandstone Guest House
#2 of 82 in Somerset West
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blaauwheim Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaauwheim Guest House

Address: 22 Bakkerskloof Road | Jonkershoogte, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range: £116 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blaauwheim Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blaauwheim Guesthouse is a luxurious upmarket 5 Star Guest House offering bed & breafast accommodation in Somerset West near Cape Town, South Africa. Nestled at the foot of the Helderberg Mountain in the Cape Winelands, Somerset West is a tranquil and up market suburb in Cape Town East, only 20 minutes from Cape Town International and a 40 minutes from Cape Town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blaauwheim Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blaauwheim Guest House Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing