We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful accommodation with very friendly hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blaauwheim Guest House
Ranked #1 of 79 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Beautiful accommodation with very friendly hosts”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We have just returned from a 10 night holiday in South Africa of which we spent two nights at Blaauwheim Guest House. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome and our hosts, Johan and Jo-Anne, could not do enough to ensure we had a good time. They happily made reservations for us at restaurants, arranged transport to a local winery, and Johan himself picked us up after an evening at a restaurant.
The suites are immaculate and extremely comfortable.
Breakfast was out of this world. The plates of fruit that were set out for us were a delight to look at let alone eat.
I would highly recommend this five star guest house without hesitation.
Thank you Johan and Jo-Anne for your hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cranbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Dear Cranbourne

We are glad that you had a good time - we did too with the lively banter, laughing and teasing especially around the breakfast table. Thanks for expressing it in your review! Thanks also for returning to South Africa over and over. Now that you've found Blaauwheim, we know we'll see you again, and soon, that is.

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
166
30
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Me and my wife had a fantastic night and day at this Blaauwheim. A perfect home away from home! We would love to come back and stay at this place again. This is luxurious place with lovely hosts. Thanks for having us here!

Tine & Askil from Norway

Room Tip: Take the Chardonnay room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank askilholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Askil and Tine

You came a long way to spend part of your honeymoon at Blaauwheim. We are glad you enjoyed it - we enjoyed having you. Your review is highly appreciated. Please bring you guitar next time!

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We stayed in the Chardonnay Suite which has a little balcony with a nice sofa and a great view into the garden and the mountains. The suite is very generous in size and nicely furnished in soft colors. It really looked like the pictures on the internet – no creative photography involved! The bed was very comfortable and the air con a great plus at the end of a hot day. The suite has a living room with large sofas and a tv, a fully equipped kitchen (with refrigerator/freezer combination like you would have it at home) on one wall and a dining room table with 4 comfortable chairs in the other corner. There is a lot of storage space in the bedroom. The suit has a big bathroom with both shower and bathtub and another separate toilet. The only minor irritation was maybe the very busy road just behind the house which spoiled the serene view of the mountains with traffic noise.
The breakfast on the terrace provided a nice selection of everything you might want for breakfast and in addition a chat with the owners. Internet is available and you can settle your bill with credit card. There is also a small pool in a court yard and some sun chairs.
The Blaauwheim Guest House is situated only 20 min from Cape Town International Airport and very easy to find. The area is apparently great for golfing – we were only on our way through so didn’t really explore all the things you can do in the Somerset West area. The owners were very flexible to let us stay for only one night minimum-stay policy.
We felt very welcome at the Blaauwheim Guest House. They fully deserve all the good reviews on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N0i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear N0i

Wow! Thanks for this review: objective, comprehensive and professional. It was a wonderful experience meeting such an interested and interesting couple. We were both sorry that it was such a brief encounter - maybe longer next time!

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Thankyou so much! We enjoyed our stay here so much! The guest house was perfectly equipped with everything we needed and we felt very much at home. The house and suites are beautiful and it's in an excellent location. Johan and Jo-Anne helped us with everything we needed and welcomed us very warmly. We

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Rebecca

Thank you for the positive review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you had a good experience of the Cape and the Winelands. We know that you'll be thinking of Blaauwheim and the South African sunshine until you come back.

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We booked our stay at Blaauwheim after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. After 24 hours of travel from the USA we arrived at 11:15 pm and both Johan an Jo-Anne wecomed as to our room. There was no rush, no "go to bed it is late". They showed us all the ins and outs and what an amazing place.

Wonderful accomodation, huge room, best breakfast ever.

Very special.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms. Each is unique and no one is worse than the other. All 3 are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear Chris

Thanks for you review and for mentioning time. If you want to own and manage a Guest House, your time "belongs" to your guests. Time does not make your Guest House tick - guests do. Hope your journey home did not feel that long. You can return to Blaauwheim on the same late flight. We'll be waiting!

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Thank you very much ! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The suite was lovely and the bed the most comfortable I have ever slept in. I was impressed with how easy it was to find and navigate to Blaauwheim using Google Maps. I will be back soon. Jo-anne's garden is truly a paradise - breakfast on the stoep is not to be missed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJCotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear LJC

You always comment about the comfy beds to us. Thanks for mentioning it in your review - proving that providing for good sleeping should be the primary function of any Guest House. Glad Google Maps help! You know the way and you like the beds: you are most welcome to come again! The garden will reflect the season.

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
1 review
Reviewed 24 December 2012

I had the priviledge of spending the week before Christmas 2012 at Blaauwheim. On arriving i knew I was somewhere special. I was greeted by a splash of colour from the garden, and the mountain in the background added to the beauty. The smiling and friendly welcome from Johan and Jo-Anne made you feel relaxed and at home. The accommodation was luxurious and clean, yet it had a wonderfuly relaxed and homely feel. I knew I had made the right choice. Breakfast was a culinary treat of good old fashioned SA cooking, prepared by Johan and Jo-Anne. Once again you are greeted by a splash of colour from the fruit platter with its array of fruits and berries, artistically layed out by Johan. Breakfast on the verandah, with the backdrop of the Cape beauty, the sound of the birds and the sight of squirrels prancing across the lawn, made you feel as if you were in paradise. The relaxed and friendly atmosphere, and Johan's and Jo-Anne's wonderful sense of humour, made it a unique experience. On a scale of 1 - 10 how would I rate Blaauwheim? For me personally, I would have to say more than 10. Apart from the beauty and the luxury, it's the little things which go unnoticed that Johan and Jo-Anne offer guests that makes your stay so very special. It's impossible to list them all but one word sums it all up - caring. They care about you and your needs. Will I return to Blaauwheim and recommend it to my friends and colleagues - yes, definitely! Thank you Johan and Jo-Anne for a truly wonderful holiday experience.
Dr. Trevor Clarke

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Dear Dr Trevor

It was wonderful hosting such an appreciative guest at Blaauwheim. You missed nothing and that reminded us how special our place in Somerset West and indeed the Cape really is. The summer heat has prompted whorls of cycad leaves and even some cones to appear and the next flush of roses is delighting visitors at the moment. Your appreciation shows that our hard work does not go unnoticed. Thanks so much and see you (and your Mom) soon.

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
3.9 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cape Vermeer
Cape Vermeer
#2 of 79 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.9 mi away
Silver Forest Boutique Lodge & Spa
2.6 mi away
Albourne Boutique Guest House
Albourne Boutique Guest House
#6 of 79 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blaauwheim Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaauwheim Guest House

Property: Blaauwheim Guest House
Address: 22 Bakkerskloof Road | Jonkershoogte, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blaauwheim Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blaauwheim Guesthouse is a luxurious upmarket 5 Star Guest House offering bed & breafast accommodation in Somerset West near Cape Town, South Africa. Nestled at the foot of the Helderberg Mountain in the Cape Winelands, Somerset West is a tranquil and up market suburb in Cape Town East, only 20 minutes from Cape Town International and a 40 minutes from Cape Town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Blaauwheim Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blaauwheim Guest House Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing