We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended for service and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blaauwheim Guest House
Ranked #1 of 81 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed at this establishment just last week on a business trip and found it to be a most enjoyable experience .The attention to detail, spacious rooms and personal interest in your comfort from Johan and Jo-Anne was second to none. Breakfast was excellent with fresh fruit and a choice and abundance of breakfast foods that would keep you sustained for the day. I was only sorry that I could not stay longer and use it as a base for a longer holiday stay in Cape Town. I must return.

NOK

Room Tip: Go for the apartment suite - it is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NOK31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear NOK31

I love the echoes ringing in my ears after reading your lovely review! "I must return" - indeed, do just that. Choosing Somerset West for a base from which to explore this region is a sterling idea. Your wife will also think the same. I hear that the weather is turning grey and wet in Ireland...

Just speak the word and Johan will put on his apron!

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (406)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Very nice and good atmosphere. Rooms are spacious and well decorated. Family is running the guesthouse very well and breakfast is prepared fresh every morning as much as you want. Jo-Anne and Johan are very warm en friendly owners and give you the feeling like your at home. Really enjoyed the stay last week!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Anton

Thanks for the review and compliments! We are glad that you enjoyed being here with us and would like to welcome you again soon.

Good luck with the little one!

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We were very impressed with the beautiful and perfect guesthouse although we only stayed one night and couldn't enjoy all the facilities. The guesthouse owners were extremely helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to make you feel at home. We only had breakfast and were very impressed, more than you ever eat! And sooo beautifully served. the owners take a lot of pride in their guesthouse with very good reason, well done!!

Room Tip: All rooms perfect, but bottom room with own entrance was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlaine01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Charlaine and Johan

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope the next visit will be a little bit longer. See you soon.

Kind regards

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Recently stayed in the Chardonnay suite as part of a honeymoon trip to South Africa. We had a great stay at Blaauwheim and wish that we could have stayed longer. Jo-Anne and Johan were so welcoming that we felt really comfortable staying with them. It was nice to be far enough away from everything to have a peaceful, relaxing atmosphere but to also be close enough that a short drive had us in the middle of wine country or at the V&A Waterfront.

Breakfast every morning was extremely tasty and plentiful. The fruit plates are a great way to start and were always fresh. Also, make sure to arrange to have Johan Braai for you one evening; it was so tasty, you would be doing yourself a disservice by not having some great meat.

I wouldn't hesitate to return to Blaauwheim and hope to visit again one day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

Dear Friends

Thank you so much for choosing Blaauwheim as your Honeymoon destination. We trust that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we will see you again somewhere in the future, soon!!!!.

Take care

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed in Chardonnay and loved it. The suite is equipped with every comfort and modern convenience you can expect and more. I enjoyed sipping my complementary sherry, sitting on my balcony, enjoying the beautiful view and the antics of the squirrels in the trees. I only mentioned that I enjoyed a mug of hot milk at bedtime and the next day I got a small bottle of milk, not just the amount needed for coffee or tea. As I was travelling alone and we found we had interests in common, I enjoyed having a chat will the two warm and welcoming, down to earth hosts, Johan and Jo-Anne. Breakfast offered lovely fresh fruit, ( thankfully not mashed into the usual fruit salad and joghurt concoction!), good coffee and Johan cooked a beautiful breakfast every time! Good location in relation to tourist attractions as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrietMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Thank you so much for the lovely review. It was such an honour for us to have you as our guest at Blaauwheim. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back at Blaauwheim in the very near future. Bring the rest of the family along next time. Greetings. Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We spent 4 unforgettable nights at Blaauwheim. We stayed in Chardonnay suit and felt like royalty. The suit was beautiful, spacious, neat and really comfortable. The king size bed is a real treat! Johan prepared us a killer breakfast every morning, with sliced fresh fruit followed by a full english breakfast. Blaauwheim is situated in a great location for anyone wanting to do all the different wine routes that the Cape has to offer. Johan and Jo-Anne were lovely host and were always willing to help or go the extra mile to make our stay as pleasant as possible! We would recommend Blaauwheim to anyone anyday!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Our tip would be to ask Johan to prepare a snoek! You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regardt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear Friends

Thank you so much for the lovely review and thank you for choosing Blaauwheim as your honeymoon destination. May your memories of Blaauwheim stay with you for the rest of your lives and if you ever want to go on a second honeymoon, you know where to go. Take care. Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

An absolute gem! We just had the one night here in early March - There is absolutely nothing we could fault except that it wasn't long enough to enjoy the decadence of such a place. Stunning gardens, dreamy beds, a bathroom to die for. There was everything one could possibly want. And Johan's breakfast was the best we had in our entire holiday in SA. Jo-Anne and Johan are fabulous, interesting and welcoming hosts - even finding a chameleon for us to see as we had never seen one before! I'd definitely recommend Blaauwheim to anyone looking for somewhere decent to stay with a "touch of class" - it was certainly above and beyond our expectations!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandilyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2013

Dear Dandilyon

Thanks so much for your kind words. We are glad that you had a lovely time here. This proves once again that foes on the rugby field can be great friends at Blaauwheim! We hope to see you again.

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
23.9 mi away
Bliss Boutique Hotel
Bliss Boutique Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bloubergstrand
174 reviews
22.5 mi away
Dongola Guest House
Dongola Guest House
#1 of 40 in Constantia
472 reviews
8.1 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
4 Heaven Guesthouse
4 Heaven Guesthouse
#2 of 81 in Somerset West
324 reviews
1.9 mi away
Silver Forest Boutique Lodge & Spa
22.7 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blaauwheim Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaauwheim Guest House

Address: 22 Bakkerskloof Road | Jonkershoogte, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range: £123 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blaauwheim Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blaauwheim Guesthouse is a luxurious upmarket 5 Star Guest House offering bed & breafast accommodation in Somerset West near Cape Town, South Africa. Nestled at the foot of the Helderberg Mountain in the Cape Winelands, Somerset West is a tranquil and up market suburb in Cape Town East, only 20 minutes from Cape Town International and a 40 minutes from Cape Town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blaauwheim Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blaauwheim Guest House Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing