We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wholeheartedly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blaauwheim Guest House
Ranked #2 of 78 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wilderness, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wholeheartedly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

Johan and Jo-Anne are superb hosts of an amazingly beautiful house. Our private suite had a full bathroom as well as a separate guests’ toilette, all in honey coloured travertine and stunning bathroom fittings. The king-sized bed is draped in plush linen and silk duvet and pillows and hung with ample, thick sound and light absorbing curtains. Most outstanding are the heirloom pieces and sought after artwork by famous artists in both the private sitting room and bedroom. There is a well stocked bar fridge in the kitchen area. Here you will be able to do a bit of self-catering (equipped with a dishwasher) The kitchenette fits in with the rest of the accommodation with exceptional high standard of finishing Johan, a retired diplomat, dons the chef’s coat with pride. His fruit platters are a decorated artwork. Breakfast is superb starting with the best fresh fruit platter I have ever had, freshly pressed orange juice and a good selection of muesli’s and cheese and a cooked platter. Did I mention that this must be the guesthouse with the best dressed table – Spilhaus silver cutlery and Noritake bone crockery The garden with its collection of rare cycads, indigenous trees such at Outeniqua Yellowwood and Broad-leafed Yellowwood is home to squirrels and numerous birds including paradise flycatcher. Jo-Anne is especially proud of her collection of Clivia Maniata. The garden is ensconced by a lattice of horizontally layered saplings. The guesthouse is situated behind high walls and electronic gates. This friendly guest house is recommended wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsabe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Elsabé

Talking about Blaauwheim in such glowing terms almost make me blush! Thank you for this wonderful review. It is really special because it comes from the owners of such an esteemed establishment who understand every aspect of this industry and who know that the devil is in the detail! It was so lovely talking to you and to realize that all owners of guest houses share Murphy as a "friend"... Keep up the good work in your nick of the woods!

It will be a pleasure and an honour to welcome you back at Blaauwheim.

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
162
29
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Blaauwheim on two separate occasions while on a golfing holiday in the Western Cape. We booked the Pinotage suite as we were travelling with golf clubs and it is on the bottom floor so much easier for carrying clubs from the car to the suite. The accommodation is excellent and furnished to a high standard and Johan and Jo-Anne are great hosts, who try very hard to make their guests feel at home so we have no hesitation in highly recommending Blaauwheim.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SpanishflyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear SpanishFly

It was lovely meeting you and really like welcoming you home when you arrived for the second stay at Blaauwheim. The lovely aromas wafting our way from Pinotage often tempted us to report for dinner and the tasters you saved were beyond delicious. And the laughs. And the anecdotes. Simply the conviviality. Your review made our day - thanks so much. Beware: next time we might just demand dinner...

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

When I stayed at Blaauwheim for the first time in January last year I had found „my Somerset home“ far away from actual home in Germany (after many previous visits to Somerset). It was clear to me that this was the only place I would stay when visiting Somerset West in future. So I did in January this year, when I got the confirmation that my choice was absolutely right. There is certainly no better Guest House in the area.

The hosts Jo-Anne and Johan always go out of their way to really make you feel like being home and the way they run their guest house is simply amazing. Though the official grading considers a maximum of five stars Blaauwheim certainly deserves a 6th. Every aspect making ones stay enjoyable and relaxing cannot be described more positively. The cozy Shiraz room and the two suites are immaculately clean and furnished with everything (and more) for a perfect stay. The daily highlight undoubtedly is the breakfast on the terrace. The huge fruit platter prepared by Johan is a piece of art with changing designs and with a minimum of eight fruits used. Eggs prepared in many variations are available, whatever else you ask for you will get it.

I can only praise Blaauwheim in the highest way and will definitely be back to „my home away from home" next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Claus

Blaauwheim is abuzz with excitement when we receive your booking and even Richard looks forward to your visits. It is effortless to have you here and the leisurely way in which you enjoy breakfast rubs off on all the other guests. Enjoying simple things in a big way is usually indicative of a great mind. We love your review and appreciate the time and thought going into it. Looking forward to having you in Chardonnay next time.

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mossel Bay, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

A definite must for anyone on either business or leisure breaks. We stayed in the luxury unit for one night only and found it to be great in every way. It was clean, lots of attention to detail and the breakfast was fresh and very well presented. Johan and Joanne made us feel very welcome and we had great conversations.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyB111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Bets

It was a delight to host the two of you since we have so much in common. Thank you for the lovely review and do come around to Blaauwheim next time!

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

After an unfortunate problem with our holiday booking elsewhere we were quite by chance redirected to Blaauwheim. This turned out to be the best advice we have ever had and rescued what could have been a disastrous holiday experience! From a most welcoming greeting by Johan and Jo-Anne, for the next six days we were treated to the most luxurious accommodation imaginable with everything you could possibly want and served breakfasts on the stoep which were more artforms than meals! Both of them go out of their way to ensure that your stay is a success and are able to advise where to eat , shop and generally make the most of this delightful area.We have already reccommended this B&B to all our friends!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Dear Ian

Someone else's loss was our gain in having the honour to host you at Blaauwheim. It was a Wow! experience for us to meet a couple with the wisdom of a lifetime and the energy to last another. You are truly an inspiration to us. We appreciate the review so much - thank you.

Fortuna adiuvat fortitudo! (my substitution of "fortitudo" for "fortes").

We are so looking forward to the next time!

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Johan and Jo-Anne are absolutely fantastic hosts who will go to any lengths to make your stay welcome. Breakfast time you need not be shy to ask for your eggs and bacon cooked the way you like to have it at home and if there is something exotic like the cheeses I like, Johan will go shopping and the rolls and cheese you fancy will be on the breakfast table the next morning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadowPretoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Shadow

Thank you for this lovely review and for highlighting the little things! We loved the anecdotes and the history - all of which now are part of our Blaauwheim (hi)story. Even though you have a house in Somerset West now, you are most welcome to pop in for a cuppa and a few more of those stories!

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Blaauwheim Guest House is a fantastic place to stay if you are heading to Cape Town. The location is excellent being close to a number of places including Cape Town, Stellenbosch, Strand and Gordon's Bay. The facilities are 5 star, the staff are very friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was amazing! I would highly recommend this guesthouse no matter how long you intend to stay - 1 night or 3 months! Jo-anne and Johan take great pride in maintaining their guesthouse to the highest standard and are more than willing to assist their guests in any way they can. Fantastic experience, we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Traveler0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Happy_Traveler

The name you have chosen suggests that your visit to South Africa has been a positive experience. Once you two Aussies breezed into Blaauwheim as if it were your own home, we knew you were having a good time. Thanks for the review and for not talking sports... We can do that when next you visit our shores and come home to Blaauwheim!

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
3.9 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cape Vermeer
Cape Vermeer
#1 of 78 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.9 mi away
Silver Forest Boutique Lodge & Spa
2.6 mi away
Albourne Boutique Guest House
Albourne Boutique Guest House
#7 of 78 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blaauwheim Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaauwheim Guest House

Property: Blaauwheim Guest House
Address: 22 Bakkerskloof Road | Jonkershoogte, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blaauwheim Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blaauwheim Guesthouse is a luxurious upmarket 5 Star Guest House offering bed & breafast accommodation in Somerset West near Cape Town, South Africa. Nestled at the foot of the Helderberg Mountain in the Cape Winelands, Somerset West is a tranquil and up market suburb in Cape Town East, only 20 minutes from Cape Town International and a 40 minutes from Cape Town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Blaauwheim Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blaauwheim Guest House Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing