We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blaauwheim Guest House
Ranked #1 of 82 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

It was my first visit at Blauuwheim. I enjoyed my stay in your house very much. Your breakfast
Was excellent, and the beds were very comfortable.
I hope to visite you next year again and thanks for the hospitality.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Karen

Thank you for taking time to write this lovely review. It was great to have you at Blaauwheim and to meet your friends as well. It is wonderful to see how you travel and manage everything all by yourself. Hope to wee you again.

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

How lovely it was to return to this wonderful Guest House in Somerset West.
Johan and Jo-Anne gave us such a great welcome and we quickly relaxed after an overnight flight. Accommodation is superb, all arrangements are taken care of and breakfast is excellent with lots of chat with our hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Lawrence

It was such a pleasure to welcome you and your charming wife to Blaauwheim this time around as friends with familiar faces and not just names on e mails! Thanks for the many many laughs - we still chuckle when we use a credit card! Thank you for the review and priceless anecdotes.

Do return again!

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Being warmly welcomed by the Blaauw’s close to midnight and looking forward to slip in one of these very comfortable beds makes the 12 hour flight already half forgotten. And Johns fruit platter the following morning lets quickly forget the torture of the economy class seat as well. There are for sure many other very nice places to stay in the area, but there remains something “extra” at Blaauwheim. We’ll be back for that!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CNKZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear friends from Zurich

When we were small, it was quite fashionable to find framed pictures in Grandma's house with "What is a house without a Mother?" in elaborate curls or sometimes embroidered in the style of a sampler. What would Blaauw's house be without regular visits from you guys? Whether you come in at midnight or the wee hours of the night, we'll be waiting! And so will Johan's famous fruit platters for breakfast. Thank you for approving of what we do by writing such an appreciative review every time.

Come back soon

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We are regular visitors to Blauuheim, and just as regularly rave about the place. This is more of the same, I'm afraid - sorry.....

Blauuheim is quite small - 3 rooms only. Actually 2 very large, comfortable suites (small apartments) and a large double bedroom. All the accommodation is beautifully fitted and the level of comfort is very high, as befits a genuine 5 star B+B. Beds and linen are super comfortable and the bathrooms are luxurious by any standard. If you would expect to find it in a luxury hotel room, then Blauuheim has probably got it.

House is set in an attractive, mature garden and breakfast is taken on a sunny patio, overlooking the greenery. Once you have moved the sleeping cat to get to your seat at breakfast, a fruity visual delight is set in front of you, together with fresh juice, great coffee and the best croissants I have met on the Western Cape. Don't, whatever you do accept Johan's offer of the full "English"; trust me and be selective, or you won't have space for your croissant!

Your hosts are knowledgeable and ever helpful - a big plus if you are new to the area. Breakfast tends to be a protracted affair around a big table. Don't worry about the reversing vehicle approaching you, beeping as you eat - it's only the parrot! And don't get up briefly from the table for any reason, or the cat will be back in your seat!

Blauuheim is an outstanding 5 star guest house, and its rating is well deserved. We will be back next year, always assuming my reviews have not moved too many of you readers to get your reservation in before we do!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grahamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Grahame

Our season would not be complete without your visit and/or your review. Once again: a big thank you for finding time on your busy list of reviews to be written for Blaauwheim's. As for those protracted breakfasts... We love them as much as you do because so many of the best memories are made right there over copious cups of coffee or tea. We cannot visit all the restaurants or wine estates so your input around the table is as much beneficial as it is entertaining!

See you next year DV

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Johan and Jo-Anne are superb hosts of an amazingly beautiful house. Our private suite had a full bathroom as well as a separate guests’ toilette, all in honey coloured travertine and stunning bathroom fittings. The king-sized bed is draped in plush linen and silk duvet and pillows and hung with ample, thick sound and light absorbing curtains. Most outstanding are the heirloom pieces and sought after artwork by famous artists in both the private sitting room and bedroom. There is a well stocked bar fridge in the kitchen area. Here you will be able to do a bit of self-catering (equipped with a dishwasher) The kitchenette fits in with the rest of the accommodation with exceptional high standard of finishing Johan, a retired diplomat, dons the chef’s coat with pride. His fruit platters are a decorated artwork. Breakfast is superb starting with the best fresh fruit platter I have ever had, freshly pressed orange juice and a good selection of muesli’s and cheese and a cooked platter. Did I mention that this must be the guesthouse with the best dressed table – Spilhaus silver cutlery and Noritake bone crockery The garden with its collection of rare cycads, indigenous trees such at Outeniqua Yellowwood and Broad-leafed Yellowwood is home to squirrels and numerous birds including paradise flycatcher. Jo-Anne is especially proud of her collection of Clivia Maniata. The garden is ensconced by a lattice of horizontally layered saplings. The guesthouse is situated behind high walls and electronic gates. This friendly guest house is recommended wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsabe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Elsabé

Talking about Blaauwheim in such glowing terms almost make me blush! Thank you for this wonderful review. It is really special because it comes from the owners of such an esteemed establishment who understand every aspect of this industry and who know that the devil is in the detail! It was so lovely talking to you and to realize that all owners of guest houses share Murphy as a "friend"... Keep up the good work in your nick of the woods!

It will be a pleasure and an honour to welcome you back at Blaauwheim.

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Blaauwheim on two separate occasions while on a golfing holiday in the Western Cape. We booked the Pinotage suite as we were travelling with golf clubs and it is on the bottom floor so much easier for carrying clubs from the car to the suite. The accommodation is excellent and furnished to a high standard and Johan and Jo-Anne are great hosts, who try very hard to make their guests feel at home so we have no hesitation in highly recommending Blaauwheim.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SpanishflyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear SpanishFly

It was lovely meeting you and really like welcoming you home when you arrived for the second stay at Blaauwheim. The lovely aromas wafting our way from Pinotage often tempted us to report for dinner and the tasters you saved were beyond delicious. And the laughs. And the anecdotes. Simply the conviviality. Your review made our day - thanks so much. Beware: next time we might just demand dinner...

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

When I stayed at Blaauwheim for the first time in January last year I had found „my Somerset home“ far away from actual home in Germany (after many previous visits to Somerset). It was clear to me that this was the only place I would stay when visiting Somerset West in future. So I did in January this year, when I got the confirmation that my choice was absolutely right. There is certainly no better Guest House in the area.

The hosts Jo-Anne and Johan always go out of their way to really make you feel like being home and the way they run their guest house is simply amazing. Though the official grading considers a maximum of five stars Blaauwheim certainly deserves a 6th. Every aspect making ones stay enjoyable and relaxing cannot be described more positively. The cozy Shiraz room and the two suites are immaculately clean and furnished with everything (and more) for a perfect stay. The daily highlight undoubtedly is the breakfast on the terrace. The huge fruit platter prepared by Johan is a piece of art with changing designs and with a minimum of eight fruits used. Eggs prepared in many variations are available, whatever else you ask for you will get it.

I can only praise Blaauwheim in the highest way and will definitely be back to „my home away from home" next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Claus

Blaauwheim is abuzz with excitement when we receive your booking and even Richard looks forward to your visits. It is effortless to have you here and the leisurely way in which you enjoy breakfast rubs off on all the other guests. Enjoying simple things in a big way is usually indicative of a great mind. We love your review and appreciate the time and thought going into it. Looking forward to having you in Chardonnay next time.

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
3.9 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
317 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
358 reviews
8.1 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Dongola Guest House
Dongola Guest House
#1 of 40 in Constantia
452 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cape Vermeer
Cape Vermeer
#3 of 82 in Somerset West
155 reviews
4.3 mi away
43 on Sandstone Guest House
43 on Sandstone Guest House
#2 of 82 in Somerset West
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blaauwheim Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaauwheim Guest House

Address: 22 Bakkerskloof Road | Jonkershoogte, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range: £117 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blaauwheim Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blaauwheim Guesthouse is a luxurious upmarket 5 Star Guest House offering bed & breafast accommodation in Somerset West near Cape Town, South Africa. Nestled at the foot of the Helderberg Mountain in the Cape Winelands, Somerset West is a tranquil and up market suburb in Cape Town East, only 20 minutes from Cape Town International and a 40 minutes from Cape Town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blaauwheim Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blaauwheim Guest House Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing