We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good stay at Blaauwheim guesthouse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blaauwheim Guest House
Ranked #1 of 78 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very good stay at Blaauwheim guesthouse”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was there in March 2014 on a business trip but Johan and Jo ann made me feel at home and pampered me with delicious breakfasts every morning. The guesthouse is in a beautiful garden, rooms are spacious and equipped for self catering too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Linda

Your have such a busy life and still found time to write a review! Thanks a lot!

We are glad that you felt at home even on a business trip. And yes, some guests enjoy Johan's special breakfasts but use the self catering facilities for all other meals and thus have the best of both worlds!

Here's to future business and welcoming you again!

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
167
30
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Thank you Johan, Jo-Anne and Richard for an amazing stay at Blaauwheim. We arrived as strangers and left as friends. Your hospitality and friendship, attention to detail, lovely garden and wonderful breakfast left nothing more to be desired. Your accommodation is superbly furnished with every detail completely attended to. You will definitely see us again at your 10 star guest house when we visit our friends in Helderberg Village. Ernie & Merilyn Sterne

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merilyn64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Merilyn

Wow! Thanks for a lovely review and thanks for acknowledging Richard as well. It more than made his day to see his name on TripAdvisor again. He is such an integral part of Blaauwheim, quietly getting on with work behind the scenes. We are as lucky to have him as we are to have guests like you noticing him!

It was a pleasure hosting you after what could have been a disastrous week end... In the end we had so much fun. Appreciative guests like you and Ernie make us realize why we do this.

Until next time!

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We recently stayed at Blaauwheim for one night and we had the most amazing stay. Firstly, the welcome received from owners Johan and Jo-anne was wonderful - they are so warm, friendly and attentive and nothing is too much trouble. The attention to detail of the guest house is fantastic - we stayed in the Chardonnay suite and it was not only incredibly well appointed, spotless and gorgeous, but very spacious too. You literally feel like you are staying in the presidential suite of some hotel, as everything has been thought about and is provided. We really loved our stay and are planning another 3x night stay in July. Johan and Jo-anne go out of their way to talk to you and are truly interested in their guests - we loved chatting to them over a delicious breakfast and really felt by the end of our stay they were old friends. My husband and I have travelled all over the world and would highly recommend this as one of the best places we have stayed. It is so very rare to find this kind of personalised service.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chardonnay suite - it has one of the best showers ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Lynnie

Thanks for this lengthy chapter on Blaauwheim!

Blaauwheim is our passion. Guests are our passion and so is personalized service. To read phrases like "presidential suite", "best showers" and all the other superlatives is all the praise we need to carry on in this relentless industry.

We are so looking forward to welcoming you as friends for your stay in July!

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We visited Somerset West for a friend's funeral and stayed in Blaauwheim, where we were treated like royalty. We had breakfast and ate like kings. The room was luxurious and the bed was turned down. The availability of internet was a bonus. Johan and Jo-anne's hospitality made us feel welcome and we really enjoyed their beautiful garden. Thanks, it was a wonderful experience. We can really recommend Blaauwheim to all our friends with the greatest confidence.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Paul

Way back in the day the first people called "Blaauw" worked for royalty dyeing material blue, hence "royal blue". We've known all along to treat people like royalty and why not? Under the circumstances we met, you could do with the pampering and we are honoured to have been chosen to do it. Thank you for making time for a review in your very busy schedule - it is much appreciated. And thanks for mentioning the little things! Send those friends and do come back yourselves.

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacksonville, florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Johann & Joanne are the perfect hosts at this lovely guest house. It is ideally situated in Somerset West near the main wine route to Stellenbosch, with the beach, shopping and best restaurants all just a few kilometers away. The guest house is nicely furnished, with large and luxuriously decorated rooms, and extremely comfortable beds. The internet works well (often an issue in ZA), and there is a nice covered patio and lovely gardens. Breakfast is a feast for the eyes, with a large variety of fresh fruit, fresh orange juice and sumptuous choices of french toast, omelettes or full english. Each evening one's bed is turned down. Their help, Richard, is wonderful in keeping the rooms extremely clean, and our hosts ensured that we had a pleasant stay with their advice and warm hospitality. We felt truly pampered. It is no wonder that this guest house gets its well-deserved consistent 5 star rating. Bravo!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheadle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Cheadle1

Wow! Thanks for that pat on the back! We love the fact that you loved Blaauwheim and Somerset West. And a big thank you for mentioning Richard as well. He is so unassuming and quiet in his ways but utterly reliable and trustworthy. Johan really enjoyed preparing breakfast for you because your requests tested his creativity and inspired him. We never use maple syrup without mentioning the two of you! One of these days we will find time to go "leaf peeping" on a drive to Franschhoek or the Hex River Valley. Enjoy all your South African wine. Next time around we will have even more fun - do make it soon!

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Once again we were lucky enough to stay at blaauwheim, the rooms and especially the exquisite linen are a reason to come back again and again. Our breakfast was six star! It is just so nice to stay at blaauwheim with knowledgeable hosts! We will be back soon thank you!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Astrid R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Astrid

Thank you for venturing into the TripAdvisor community ahead of your overseas trip! It will be a pleasure to see more of you when your daughter comes this way. Thanks for mentioning the linen and breakfast because we view the bed and the breakfast as two of the most important elements of any guest house. You also mentioned new touches in your suite when you were here: we have just added coffee machines! Enjoy your trip and writing many more reviews before coming back to Blaauwheim!

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

It was my first visit at Blauuwheim. I enjoyed my stay in your house very much. Your breakfast
Was excellent, and the beds were very comfortable.
I hope to visite you next year again and thanks for the hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear Karen

Thank you for taking time to write this lovely review. It was great to have you at Blaauwheim and to meet your friends as well. It is wonderful to see how you travel and manage everything all by yourself. Hope to wee you again.

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
1.0 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
310 reviews
3.6 mi away
Willowbrook Country House
Willowbrook Country House
#3 of 6 in Somerset West
199 reviews
8.1 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Cape Vermeer
Cape Vermeer
#3 of 78 in Somerset West
150 reviews
22.5 mi away
Dongola Guest House
Dongola Guest House
#1 of 40 in Constantia
437 reviews
4.3 mi away
43 on Sandstone Guest House
43 on Sandstone Guest House
#2 of 78 in Somerset West
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blaauwheim Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaauwheim Guest House

Property: Blaauwheim Guest House
Address: 22 Bakkerskloof Road | Jonkershoogte, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blaauwheim Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blaauwheim Guesthouse is a luxurious upmarket 5 Star Guest House offering bed & breafast accommodation in Somerset West near Cape Town, South Africa. Nestled at the foot of the Helderberg Mountain in the Cape Winelands, Somerset West is a tranquil and up market suburb in Cape Town East, only 20 minutes from Cape Town International and a 40 minutes from Cape Town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Blaauwheim Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blaauwheim Guest House Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing