We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blaauwheim Guest House
Ranked #1 of 82 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The owners, Johan and Jo-Anne really give their all in making everyone comfortable. They are passionate about their guesthouse and guests and this is evident in the personal attention. From crispy white bedding to a lovely lush garden; breakfast is not only a feast for the eyes but it is by far the best we had experienced at ANY guesthouse. Warning: this place will definitely make you come back and that is exactly what we did !!!
Thanks Johan and Jo-Anne for another great stay at Blaauwheim; we will be back

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsabe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Elsabe

It was a lovely surprise to get that telephone call from your husband! It was indeed a pleasure welcoming you back at Blaauwheim. You are so appreciative of what we do because you know what it takes to do it day in and day out. I think you have identified your own passion in our passion and that is a huge compliment. A mere "thank you" does not convey the whole message... Until next time!

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

After a long absence, a business meeting brought myself back to Cape Town and, of course, Blaauwheim.
Having travelled extensively I have come to expect certain minimum standards for a traveller.
When it comes to Guesthouses, Blaauwheim surely ranks amongst the best in the world. I will even say that the room equals or exceeds the standard of that of a 5 star hotel.
The breakfast table is delicious. My wife and I left each morning feeling that we do not have to eat the rest of the day :)
Johan and Jo-Ann, you are gracious hosts with world class facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LJCotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear LJ

Wow! Your review makes us feel humble all over again. The hospitality business is a cut throat industry with very high highs and equally low lows. Your review humbles but leaves us on a high - however contradictory it may sound. Thank you for coming back to Blaauwheim, thank you for writing another stunning review and - last but not least - thank you for the beautiful proteas. We know that the two of you will be back.

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

A warm welcome was received on a very cold day upon arrival. The hosts were incredibly friendly and the rooms were immaculate, spacious and luxurious. I was very impressed with the Nespresso coffee machine and pods in my room. Breakfast was a beautiful and tasty variety of hot and cold options, made to order and served by the owners themselves. A beautiful guest house, really worthy of the five star rating!

Room Tip: Descriptions on website very accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GermaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Germa

Someone has to brighten up the cold days in the Cape and I am delighted if we managed to do just that. You also brightened our day with your positive review. Reviews from corporate guests are very special because you took time from a busy schedule to do it. Thanks so much. See you next time with more of our Blaauwheim hospitality!

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Wow what a weekend, Thank you Johan and Jo ann made us feel at home, we will definitely return to this little paradise, everything where perfect and the breakfast delicious !!!!!!!! We will definitely recommend this paradise to friens and family, Aj & Lin

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Linda

You came here on such a tight and stressful schedule but if you felt at home, we certainly succeeded. Our "little paradise" has to provide a homely base to every guest who comes here. Johan loves to cook but enjoys it even more when it is appreciated.

Thanks for expressing your appreciation in a review - and remember the breakfast promise!

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I once again would like to commend Johan and Jo-Anne for their unlimited hospitality. I am a frequent guest and not once was I disappointed. It is especially now, during winter time, that I am reminded of the sheer luxury that “my” room, Shiraz, holds for me. What a pleasure to come home after work to a beautiful and cosy room. To warm the body - the room is fitted with hot towel racks and under floor heating in the bathroom, an electric blanket and crisp linen on a huge bed. For inner warmth – it has Muskadel and a charming little red coffee machine. To warm the soul – there are always friendly faces and happy chats! Thank you for looking after me when I am away from home. I know, from experience, that every time somebody is lucky enough to cross your threshold, your service will always be above and beyond anything that anyone could possibly ask for.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Karen

Thanks for the new review. You are THE authority on Blaauwheim as no-one has crossed our threshold as many times as you have. No wonder we often refer to Shiraz as "Karen's room"...

Guests deserve certain things of which hospitality certainly is #1. Comfort after days as hectic as yours, comes standard at Blaauwheim. Unfortunately I cannot get George Clooney to get you your next Veluto and you'll have to use the red machine yourself! Pity...

You certainly are no longer only a guest: you are part of the family and we look forward to those special e-mails announcing your next visit. Long may they continue to come!

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I was there in March 2014 on a business trip but Johan and Jo ann made me feel at home and pampered me with delicious breakfasts every morning. The guesthouse is in a beautiful garden, rooms are spacious and equipped for self catering too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Linda

Your have such a busy life and still found time to write a review! Thanks a lot!

We are glad that you felt at home even on a business trip. And yes, some guests enjoy Johan's special breakfasts but use the self catering facilities for all other meals and thus have the best of both worlds!

Here's to future business and welcoming you again!

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Thank you Johan, Jo-Anne and Richard for an amazing stay at Blaauwheim. We arrived as strangers and left as friends. Your hospitality and friendship, attention to detail, lovely garden and wonderful breakfast left nothing more to be desired. Your accommodation is superbly furnished with every detail completely attended to. You will definitely see us again at your 10 star guest house when we visit our friends in Helderberg Village. Ernie & Merilyn Sterne

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merilyn64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Merilyn

Wow! Thanks for a lovely review and thanks for acknowledging Richard as well. It more than made his day to see his name on TripAdvisor again. He is such an integral part of Blaauwheim, quietly getting on with work behind the scenes. We are as lucky to have him as we are to have guests like you noticing him!

It was a pleasure hosting you after what could have been a disastrous week end... In the end we had so much fun. Appreciative guests like you and Ernie make us realize why we do this.

Until next time!

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
3.9 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
317 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
357 reviews
3.6 mi away
Willowbrook Country House
Willowbrook Country House
#3 of 6 in Somerset West
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
202 reviews
22.5 mi away
Dongola Guest House
Dongola Guest House
#1 of 40 in Constantia
452 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cape Vermeer
Cape Vermeer
#4 of 82 in Somerset West
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blaauwheim Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaauwheim Guest House

Address: 22 Bakkerskloof Road | Jonkershoogte, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range: £117 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blaauwheim Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blaauwheim Guesthouse is a luxurious upmarket 5 Star Guest House offering bed & breafast accommodation in Somerset West near Cape Town, South Africa. Nestled at the foot of the Helderberg Mountain in the Cape Winelands, Somerset West is a tranquil and up market suburb in Cape Town East, only 20 minutes from Cape Town International and a 40 minutes from Cape Town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blaauwheim Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blaauwheim Guest House Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing