We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blaauwheim Guest House
Ranked #2 of 78 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

With every visit to Blaauwheim Guest House we feel more at home. Our stay is an absolute delight. We love our suite, the Chardonnay Suite has every luxury needed & our favourite in winter, under floor heating, heated towel racks and an electric blanket, Sherry & chocolates next to our bed that is puled back ready for us to relax and fall asleep in the comfort of luxury. We always wake to the most delicious breakfast in a relaxing environment. If you take a walk through the gardens after breakfast you can hear the birds at play in the beautiful gardens and are blessed to see tiny Chameleons in the trees. We can not wait for our next visit. Thank you Blaauwheim for our home away from home.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyOwgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Tracey

Your review just makes me want to say "Aww!" because your visit to Blaauwheim during the wet winter warranted the use of all those lovely amenities to make guests feel pampered and provided for. I must say stepping onto a cold floor is not my idea of fun either... Warm floors, warm towels and a warm bed are essentials towards a feeling of well being! As for calling Chardonnay "our suite" says it all.

It is so satisfying reading such an appreciative review that a mere "thank you" sounds so bland...

We know that as long as Stellenbosch is near Somerset West, we'll have the pleasure of hosting you (in Chardonnay) at Blaauwheim.

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
162
29
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Every time we travel to Cape Town to visit my daughter studying at Stellenbosch there is only one place we want to stay.. Blaauwheim! It is nicely located close enough to the highway and centrally situated for quick access to Stellenbosch and Cape Town. With the luxury offered, I would rather stay there than at home! Don't skip breakfast!! You will regret it!! :-)

Room Tip: Get a suite! Luxury beyond belief!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Adam

Thanks for this delightful review! Is it possible to read the twinkle in someone's eye in a review? If it were, I just have!

Thank you for returning to Blaauwheim time and time again and for brightening up everyone's day with your infectious sense of humour - and then I'm not even close to mentioning the outrageous things your T-shirt tells your beautiful daughter's suitors you will do to them...

You know how much Johan enjoys creating his individual fruit platters according to the season's bounty and preparing breakfast and by being so appreciative you inspire him even more.

Stay safe until you return to Blaauwheim!

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilderness, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The owners, Johan and Jo-Anne really give their all in making everyone comfortable. They are passionate about their guesthouse and guests and this is evident in the personal attention. From crispy white bedding to a lovely lush garden; breakfast is not only a feast for the eyes but it is by far the best we had experienced at ANY guesthouse. Warning: this place will definitely make you come back and that is exactly what we did !!!
Thanks Johan and Jo-Anne for another great stay at Blaauwheim; we will be back

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsabe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Elsabe

It was a lovely surprise to get that telephone call from your husband! It was indeed a pleasure welcoming you back at Blaauwheim. You are so appreciative of what we do because you know what it takes to do it day in and day out. I think you have identified your own passion in our passion and that is a huge compliment. A mere "thank you" does not convey the whole message... Until next time!

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

After a long absence, a business meeting brought myself back to Cape Town and, of course, Blaauwheim.
Having travelled extensively I have come to expect certain minimum standards for a traveller.
When it comes to Guesthouses, Blaauwheim surely ranks amongst the best in the world. I will even say that the room equals or exceeds the standard of that of a 5 star hotel.
The breakfast table is delicious. My wife and I left each morning feeling that we do not have to eat the rest of the day :)
Johan and Jo-Ann, you are gracious hosts with world class facilities.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJCotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear LJ

Wow! Your review makes us feel humble all over again. The hospitality business is a cut throat industry with very high highs and equally low lows. Your review humbles but leaves us on a high - however contradictory it may sound. Thank you for coming back to Blaauwheim, thank you for writing another stunning review and - last but not least - thank you for the beautiful proteas. We know that the two of you will be back.

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

A warm welcome was received on a very cold day upon arrival. The hosts were incredibly friendly and the rooms were immaculate, spacious and luxurious. I was very impressed with the Nespresso coffee machine and pods in my room. Breakfast was a beautiful and tasty variety of hot and cold options, made to order and served by the owners themselves. A beautiful guest house, really worthy of the five star rating!

Room Tip: Descriptions on website very accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Germa

Someone has to brighten up the cold days in the Cape and I am delighted if we managed to do just that. You also brightened our day with your positive review. Reviews from corporate guests are very special because you took time from a busy schedule to do it. Thanks so much. See you next time with more of our Blaauwheim hospitality!

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Wow what a weekend, Thank you Johan and Jo ann made us feel at home, we will definitely return to this little paradise, everything where perfect and the breakfast delicious !!!!!!!! We will definitely recommend this paradise to friens and family, Aj & Lin

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Linda

You came here on such a tight and stressful schedule but if you felt at home, we certainly succeeded. Our "little paradise" has to provide a homely base to every guest who comes here. Johan loves to cook but enjoys it even more when it is appreciated.

Thanks for expressing your appreciation in a review - and remember the breakfast promise!

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morningside, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I once again would like to commend Johan and Jo-Anne for their unlimited hospitality. I am a frequent guest and not once was I disappointed. It is especially now, during winter time, that I am reminded of the sheer luxury that “my” room, Shiraz, holds for me. What a pleasure to come home after work to a beautiful and cosy room. To warm the body - the room is fitted with hot towel racks and under floor heating in the bathroom, an electric blanket and crisp linen on a huge bed. For inner warmth – it has Muskadel and a charming little red coffee machine. To warm the soul – there are always friendly faces and happy chats! Thank you for looking after me when I am away from home. I know, from experience, that every time somebody is lucky enough to cross your threshold, your service will always be above and beyond anything that anyone could possibly ask for.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blaauwheim, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Dear Karen

Thanks for the new review. You are THE authority on Blaauwheim as no-one has crossed our threshold as many times as you have. No wonder we often refer to Shiraz as "Karen's room"...

Guests deserve certain things of which hospitality certainly is #1. Comfort after days as hectic as yours, comes standard at Blaauwheim. Unfortunately I cannot get George Clooney to get you your next Veluto and you'll have to use the red machine yourself! Pity...

You certainly are no longer only a guest: you are part of the family and we look forward to those special e-mails announcing your next visit. Long may they continue to come!

Johan and Jo-Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
3.9 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cape Vermeer
Cape Vermeer
#1 of 78 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.9 mi away
Silver Forest Boutique Lodge & Spa
2.6 mi away
Albourne Boutique Guest House
Albourne Boutique Guest House
#7 of 78 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blaauwheim Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaauwheim Guest House

Property: Blaauwheim Guest House
Address: 22 Bakkerskloof Road | Jonkershoogte, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Blaauwheim Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blaauwheim Guesthouse is a luxurious upmarket 5 Star Guest House offering bed & breafast accommodation in Somerset West near Cape Town, South Africa. Nestled at the foot of the Helderberg Mountain in the Cape Winelands, Somerset West is a tranquil and up market suburb in Cape Town East, only 20 minutes from Cape Town International and a 40 minutes from Cape Town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Blaauwheim Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blaauwheim Guest House Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing