We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
428
13
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
428
13
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jo anne fruit platter guest house cape town personal attention snoek luxurious accommodation home from home south africa breakfast table fully equipped kitchen welcoming hosts every respect wonderful breakfast beautiful garden every morning underfloor heating
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Had the priviledge of having breakfast for my sister's wedding here. It was absolutely amazing! To the last slice of fruit was perfect. I know my sister was relaxed knowing all was taken care of by the owners who was so awesome! Thank you for giving her the start to her big day without any worries. You deserve to be nr 1!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank TrailBlazer584404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pappabear1, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Dear Friend

It was such a wonderful experience for us to have a huge table with a bride to be, mother, sisters, friends and kids all having a good time. The mirth and laughter set the tone for the rest of the day's hustle and bustle. Thank you for this review and being so appreciative. We were only doing what we do best: spoiling our esteemed guests.

Best wishes

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

From the moment you put your foot over the threshold until your hosts wave you personally goodbye, your stay at Blaauwheim Guest House will be pure pleasure. Your spacious room / suite, supplied with every amenity you can think of, caters for your every need. The bed is pure luxury and will not be at fault if you do not have sweet dreams. In the morning, be prepared for a scrumptious breakfast starting with Johan's world renowned fruit platters, cereal buffet and yoghurt, hot breakfast and the freshest of fresh croissants and rolls, coffee, tea and fruit juice.
The building, grounds and surrounding environment may be superb, but homeliness and a sense of value as a person would have lacked if it was not for the hosts of this unique guest house. Johan and Joanne go out of their way to ensure that your stay will not be the first or last, but one of many. Once a guest at Blaauwheim Guest House, afterwards you will be a friend and part of the family.

Room Tip: 2 Suite type Rooms if you want to stay for quite a while and need to feel like home
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 55Carina1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pappabear1, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Carina

This review is so you! We always appreciate your enthusiasm and your love of life. Thanks for your brutal honesty that makes me feel all warm and fuzzy on this rainy day. And yes: we do value our guests, every single one of them. The degrees of comparison for "guest" must be "Guest", "Friend" and eventually "Part of the family".
Thank you for your third visit and may there be many more.

Stay safe

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Johan and Jo-Anne were excellent hosts. Johan prepared enormous tasty breakfasts, The room had a very comfortable bed. A stunningly clean and spacious room and bathroom. Very well positioned in proximity to The Strand and the wine routes. A myriad of excellent restaurants in close proximity. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Greg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pappabear1, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Dear Greg

Thanks for this little gem that certainly covers all the bases! We also thoroughly enjoyed having you at Blaauwheim. I am also glad that you reviewed the restaurants the two of you raved about but their are many more with more delectable fare to sample when you come back to Somerset West!

Ragards

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

Flying down to attend a wedding in May and the easy access to the R44 gave me the ideal opportunity to stay at Blaauwheim. The excellent breakfast and daily prepared fresh fruit platter as well as the personal attention to the finer details and the friendly hosts have once again impressed me, It's excellence shows each of the five stars of this B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhodian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pappabear1, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Rhodian

We feel so privileged every time you come back to Blaauwheim because you travel to all sorts of wonderful destinations!Thank you for always sharing your experiences with us. Thank you too for putting pen to paper (or hands to keys) to actually write reviews. Please do not wait for another wedding to come back to Blaauwheim!

Regards

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

arrived at the guest house, Johan and his wife were waiting for me, and had everything prepared. i stayed in the pinotage suite, warm features, great bathroom and comfortable bed. this couple definitely did not spare any expense in ensuring that their guests are always comfortable and relaxed after a long day.

Johan makes the best breakfast by far..these were the highlights of my mornings. i also enjoyed the great conversation in the mornings at breakfast with the couple.

Blaauwheim is a great place to stay, i would strongly recommend it to anyone travelling to sommeset west, as it is ideally situated to everything you may need.

security is great, privacy at its best.

thank you for making my stay all the more pleasant Blaauwheim.

V

Room Tip: the pinotage suite is the best room
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Viresh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pappabear1, Owner at Blaauwheim Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Dear Viresh

Thanks for this unconventional review! We love it! You were a great guest and we enjoyed having you here. Discussing both Wimbledon and the cricket was indeed fun. Come back to Blaauwheim when duty calls in the Cape.

Regards

Johan and Jo-Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews