We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect starting point to explore the near winelands”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blaauwheim Guest House
Ranked #1 of 82 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2010

On our recent trip to Cape Town and the Garden Route we spent the last four days at Blaauwheim. It was the perfect place to end our holiday, because Johan & Jo-Anne thought of the entire nice little details weary travellers appreciate when they built and decorated their B&B. Besides the warm welcome and personal service we found ourselves in a very spacious two-room apartment, stylishly furnished throughout with high quality goods. Everything at Blaauwheim is simply generous from the personal attention to the oversized and very comfortable beds. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CNKZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2010

We were 10 days guests (and not clients ) in Jan.2010 in Jo-Anna & Johanns Blaauwheim Guesthouse.They have 3 brandnew apartments in a lovely garden.The suites are very spacious with a big living-room,a kitchen with all inside and a well stocked fridge,excellent bath and sleeping-room with super kingsizebed.Look the photos on the owners website !
Johann and Jo-Anne help you by the choice of restaurants,golfcourses and sightseeing.
Our personal tip :Take the breakfast prepared by Johann.It is excellent,specially the eggs.
We was coming as guests and leaving like friends.
In our opinion it is not a 5 star guesthouse,it is a 6 star guesthouse !

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PitGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

Truly a 5* guest house. Luxury accommodation with every need taken care of! Excellent breakfast and the most friendly and welcoming hosts who make you feel you are part of their family. This was our favourite stay in South Africa and we wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wood138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at Blaauwheim. A 5-star gem in a beautiful environment, and at a fair price. The hosts go out of their way to make your stay a memorable one. Highly recommended for the discerning traveler.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldcitizen111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

The accommodation is 5* plus with the finest fixtures and fittings. Cleanliness is of the highest standard and the breakfast is fabulous, (especially since we taught Johan how to cook porridge to our liking!) Nothing is too much trouble for the proprietors and they will go the extra mile to make your stay unforgettable. We stayed for 15 nights and Johan located and booked a different restaurant each night for most of our stay and they were all good. The location gives easy access to the winelands and Stellenbosch within 10 minutes. Drive in the opposite direction and you are on a wonderful beach at Strand also in 10 minutes. Cape Town takes about 35 minutes with a good motorway link. If you like golf there are several courses close bye. The pool is only small and is only good for cooling off but this is a price worth paying. We have enjoyed holidays all over the world and this is one of the best places we have ever stayed.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilpshireboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

During our stay at Blaauwheim, we were treated with respect. The owners go out of their way to make it a unforgetable experience.

The rooms are well decorated with everything you need, heated towel rails in the bath room, mini bar, satalite tv, plasma mounted tv in the bedroom and lounge.

You are surrounded by the mountain views and birdlife with upmarket shopping malls a few miles away.

Thanks for the proffesional service and making this a stay to remember!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spikkels_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

I am a tour operator and even though I have been to this inumerous places, this is the second time I write about a place.

The place is immaculate, from the rooms, bathrooms, main house to the garden. Everything looks like new and well mantained.

Extremely luxurious and stunning good taste when it comes to decoration. Rooms are very spacious and there are flat screen TVs in both room and living area.

Kitchenette completely equipped. There is even a dishwasher and a conventional/microwave oven.

Besides the beautiful bathroom, there is also a guest loo, the attention to details is everywhere.

The owners are incredible, Johan and Jo Anne will go out of their way to please you, they were always very helpful and never said no as an answer.

Breakfast is definitely one of the best I have ever had. There is a bit of everything and again their attention to details is immaculate. And they do dinner on request, also one of the best meals I have ever had, ask for the lamb!

And the best of all is that the value for money is amazing!

I will definitely send a lot of customers their way cos I know as a fact that they will be happy.

I would recommend it for people wanting to stay well located in the Winelands or for people who want to be away from busy Cape Town, since it's not far and also for the ones who like to play golf, since there are million of golf courses in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camila_del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
3.9 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
316 reviews
1.0 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
356 reviews
8.1 mi away
Chocolate Box Guest house
Chocolate Box Guest house
#1 of 27 in Gordon's Bay
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Dongola Guest House
Dongola Guest House
#1 of 40 in Constantia
452 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cape Vermeer
Cape Vermeer
#3 of 82 in Somerset West
154 reviews
4.3 mi away
43 on Sandstone Guest House
43 on Sandstone Guest House
#2 of 82 in Somerset West
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blaauwheim Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blaauwheim Guest House

Address: 22 Bakkerskloof Road | Jonkershoogte, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range: £116 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Blaauwheim Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blaauwheim Guesthouse is a luxurious upmarket 5 Star Guest House offering bed & breafast accommodation in Somerset West near Cape Town, South Africa. Nestled at the foot of the Helderberg Mountain in the Cape Winelands, Somerset West is a tranquil and up market suburb in Cape Town East, only 20 minutes from Cape Town International and a 40 minutes from Cape Town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Blaauwheim Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blaauwheim Guest House Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing