We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of the best - Richard Hilton, winemaker”

Greatest Africa Private Wine Day Tours
Ranked #3 of 8 Tours in Somerset West
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: exclusive private wine tours of the Cape of South Africa
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best of the best - Richard Hilton, winemaker”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were fortunate enough to have Richard as our guide for our wine tour in the Cape. He has an incredible knowledge about viticulture and oenology He is a graduate of the world famous Lycée Viticole in Beaune, France. We tasted the wines at, Buitenverwachting, Klein Constantia, Meerlust and Vergelegen. Everywhere we turned up with Richard we were treated like royalty. He also knows about South African history, very pleasant personality with a great sense of humour. - a bonus! We had a fantastic day and considering the service we received, value for money. This tour is a must do on the Cape.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MAGICMTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greatest A, Owner at Greatest Africa Private Wine Day Tours, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Jurg & Irene,
Absolute pleasure!! Was lovely to meet you both. Hope you are continuing a superb holiday onward.. Keep well.
Kind regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
western cape
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ultra thorough, professional and personal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Greatest Cape boss Richard and his staff are the most conscientious and professional in the business. He knows about hidden gems ahead of the pack, and has a keen antennae for anywhere that's going 'off the boil'. Whether it's a wine personalised wine tour or accommodation/transport booking; you are in the best hands.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank alicheshirecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greatest A, Owner at Greatest Africa Private Wine Day Tours, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you Ali - its always a pleasure to assist people in their holiday plans and make sure they get the best treatment, as well as the best prices!
kind regards,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Definitely a "must do"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

A day with Richard Hilton on one of his private wine tours is a definite "must do" to be on everyone's list. A thoroughly enjoyable & entertaining day. Richard is incredibly knowledgeable and passionate. He's a great host and we visited some fantastic places we would never have found on our own. Tasted some lovely wines, had a superb lunch and generally had a very memorable day out.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greatest A, Owner at Greatest Africa Private Wine Day Tours, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hi Nick - lovely to meet you and Georgie.. so pleased you enjoyed your day out in the winelands. I get a huge kick out of showing people around and informing them about the Cape and all its wine history, as it is so very special. Please come back! And I will guarantee you the best accommodation prices with Greatest Africa as you are a past client.
all the best for the year ahead,
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A superb day out - a "must do" in Cape Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

If you would like a great day out learning lots about wine, Cape Town, visiting some wonderful places, having a great lunch and spending a day with a really nice chap, book up with Richard Hilton. You could not be disappointed!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greatest A, Owner at Greatest Africa Private Wine Day Tours, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hi Anthony - much enjoyed meeting you all. A friend of yours by the name and Nick Moore and his wife has contacted me and we will tour the w/lands on 20 January! many thanks for the referral. Very best, richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of Cape Town's Very Best Day Trips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

If there is only one trip that you do while in Cape Town this should be the one. Richard's knowledge of wine is extensive. His considerable work experience in European vineyards, combined with his love for Cape Town, and South Africa's wine industry all combines into making this a very interesting day out. Not only are you guided through the intricacies of some of South Africa's most exciting working vineyard but you are done so by a guide who is a talented winemaker in his own right. One of his most recent wines won the top accolade (5 Stars) in the 2014 John Platter guide. If you are fortunate you can ask to taste some of his own wine over lunch - something that I would highly recommend. All in all a fabulous experience. Thank you.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greatest A, Owner at Greatest Africa Private Wine Day Tours, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Rupert, it was an absolute pleasure and a treat to share my vinous experiences with you and your friends! have a great Christmas, super 2014, and look forward to seeing you at some point in the new year.
Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greatest Africa Private Wine Day Tours also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Greatest Africa Private Wine Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing