We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and we'll appointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cape Khamai Guest House
Ranked #10 of 81 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
north east
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Spacious and we'll appointed”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Stayed here for two nights to visit the Stellenbosch area wine estates. The hosts are friendly and our room was spacious and well appointed with everything we needed on hand. The room was spotlessly clean and had french windows to a small private garden area that was just lovely. The bathroom was nicely laid out and shower was high quality. Breakfast had buffet service fruit, cereals, meats and cheeses with freshly cooked eggs and bacon. Very nice and got the day off to a good start sitting on the terrace.
So, the reasons I have rated this guest house 4/5 rather than 5. It is advertised as having a heated pool, the owners said they were disappointed at how little guests use the pool, that's because it was VERY COLD. Also the advertised hot tub is not used. It had clearly not been used for a long while, covered and very dirty and whilst the owner said they were happy to empty and refill it they are not prepared to heat it as the electricity costs are too high. Hence if the pool and hot tub are your major factors for choosing the property I would give it a miss. Otherwise the only real negative was the blinds are curtains in the room let a lot of light in so be prepared that once the sun is up the room is very bright.

Room Tip: Room 2 is spacious with access to a lovely garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IRISHDRAFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
92
12
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leiden
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Beautifully decorated house and rooms, immaculately clean and two friendly hosts - the swiss couple Kurt and Simone. We stayed here for one night, going from Capetown to Gansbaai. We booked the Guest House based on the reviews on TripAdvisor and the comments were definitely not overrated. There are three outside areas, two communal and one private, little sitting area per room. They also have self catering rooms (we were shown all of the rooms as part of a `tour`), which are spacious and well equipped. Obviously, as we were there only for one night, we had a normal room. I have to add, this one was quite spacious as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulbagh, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We had a wedding at Lourensford, spent Saturday night and Sunday morning at Cape Khamai. Excellent service, beautiful rooms and friendly hosts. Great breakfast. Very good value for money. Will definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Room 2 is large and quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRVLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We spent six nights at Cape Khamai Guest House and truly fell in love with it.

As we had planned to spend some time in Somerset West on our three week South Africa trip in December 2011, I checked the reviews on tripadvisor for a recommended accommodation there.
Given the outstanding reviews of Cape Khamai (and the fact that luckily they still had a vacancy) we decided for this guesthouse.

The guesthouse is located in a quiet, safe and upscale residential neighborhood, consisting of villas and mansions.

Upon arrival, our hosts Simone and Kurt helped us with our luggage and showed us our room, which was tastefully appointed and very spacious. Furniture and decorations were of high quality and the layout of the room was very good, offering access to our private patio with two deck chairs. Also, the rain shower in the bathroom was very nice!

All premises (the room, the pool, hot tub and the building as such) were very well kept and super clean.

Simone prepared very delicious breakfasts, which we highly enjoyed. Both her and Kurt also had valuable suggestions for exploring the surroundings and were very pleasant to talk to. We felt cordially welcome and were even invited for their son’s birthday party, which we happily joined.

This is the place where Swiss precision and hospitality are at their best and we certainly wish to return!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I had a wonderful stay at Cape Khamai. The owners are very friendly and helpful, the room was very comfortable (they referred to it as the little room but it wasn't anything smaller than the rooms at most guest houses) and there is no better way to start the day then with breakfast out on the stoep. The guest house was very nicely situated in a quiet are of Somerset West withing easy reach of the surrounding attractions.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FireflyAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I stayed at this guest house over Christmas and New Year.
During this time I found the owners most friendly and accomodating where noth ing seemed to be too much trouble
I can highly recommend Cae Khamai to first time visitors .

I will certainly come back on future trips to Cape Town.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

All other positive reviews are very well deserved. Have been to SA several times and stayed at many guesthouses across the country and this one ranks among the best! And if you also consider value for money it's a true bargain.
Simone and Kurt really go out of their way to make our stay smooth and troublefree. Arranged a rental car for us when all rental cars in the cape seemed booked and arranged restaurant bookings and airport pickup effortlessly.
Nice breakfast, lovely big rooms. I could go on but to sum up: truly a great find in one of the best places in the world to spend your vacation. Would gladly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlleT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
1.7 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
308 reviews
0.5 mi away
Albourne Boutique Guest House
Albourne Boutique Guest House
#6 of 81 in Somerset West
191 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stellendal Guesthouse
Stellendal Guesthouse
#9 of 81 in Somerset West
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 81 in Somerset West
369 reviews
1.8 mi away
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Southern Cross Guesthouse
#5 of 81 in Somerset West
221 reviews
4.2 mi away
Vredenburg Manor House
Vredenburg Manor House
#7 of 81 in Somerset West
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Khamai Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Khamai Guest House

Property: Cape Khamai Guest House
Address: 45 Bulties Way, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Khamai Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cape Khamai Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Khamai Guest House Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing