We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandpa and Grandma in Africa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windermere Quinns Holiday Home
Ranked #56 of 82 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 January 2013

When we became grandparents of our grandson who was born in Capetown, we planned to go for one month to South Africa. For us it was stressfull to surf on Internet to look for a good place to stay. From the first contact with Sylvia and Dieter we felt safe and at home. It was possible to make good arrangements. So we flight to S.A. on the 13th of december 2012 to Capetown. We had a wonderfull first week at Windermere Quinns Holiday Home. Sylvia an Dieter appear to be very nice people and very helpfull, especially when our son and his wife came to visit us at Windermere with our grandson. We are very thankfull that they also could use all the facilities and therefore we spent an unforgettable time with them. So we decided to spend also our last week in Windermere. We thank the both of you for your kindness and coöperation. Best regards and we hope to meet you again sometime, Roelof and JosjeTimmerman, from Holland.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roelof t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvia Q, Owner at Windermere Quinns Holiday Home, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Hi Grandma & Grandpa in Holland,

thanks a lot for this nice words it is always a plesure.
As long you had a good time - we are happy too. We loved your family as well the small little boy having here with us.
Hope the time will be soon see you both again ?

Lovely greetings from South Africa
Sylvia & Dieter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2012

Thanks to the great welcoming and attention of owners Sylvia and Dieter and the comforts of their
Bed&Breakfast, why look elsewhere, when you got it all here?! Breakfasts are good and hearty and well presented, breakfast room nice place to meet other guests and mingle. The location is ideal and safe for all the interesting sites there are to visit in the area from there and their pool area a nice resting and refreshing spot to just take it easy.

Room Tip: Rooms in front of the pool and to the side of the breakfast room are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

this is the 2nd time this year that we visited Quinns Holiday Home, the neat, quiet little corner close to everything is the best place to stay ever. The breakfast has everything you would like, from different cheeses, breads, fresh fruit, you name it, it's available and we could even order supper, the perfect German feast. We will definitely go visit again. Thank you Sylvia and Dieter for your hospitality, Miss you already :)

Room Tip: The Blue room is my favorite!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corrie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We had a good nights rest in a spacious room. Good value for money and very friendly owner.
Breakfast was great and we appreciated the attention to detail and service.
Definate must stay for nest time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petrisna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Everything was comfortable,spacious and felt like home.From the warm welcome from the owner to the delicious breakfast in the morning was very much appreciated, will definitely recommend this guest house to anyone!Thank you for the lovely stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

A very nice place to stay, close to the beautiful wineyards (around the corner). Sylvia and Dieter are good hosts and very helpfull. Windermere has a nice swimmingpool and the breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

My recent visit and stay to S.A. and at the "Windermere/Quinns Holiday" S.S.W. have proved to be well worth the wait! Stylish and comfortable rooms for a good nights sleep, scrumptious breakfasts every morning for a great start of the day and wellness treatments won me over completely! Great location for sightseers and golfers alike with the very warm welcoming given by hosts Sylvia and Dieter make this place a real home away from home. Waiting 4 a chance to go back!!

Room Tip: For Families nice big rooms at the poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
0.3 mi away
Willowbrook Country House
Willowbrook Country House
#3 of 6 in Somerset West
200 reviews
0.5 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ongegund Lodge
Ongegund Lodge
#57 of 82 in Somerset West
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cape Khamai Guest House
Cape Khamai Guest House
#10 of 82 in Somerset West
169 reviews
22.2 mi away
Somerset Sights B&B
Somerset Sights B&B
#24 of 82 in Somerset West
43 reviews
1.2 mi away
Albourne Boutique Guest House
Albourne Boutique Guest House
#6 of 82 in Somerset West
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windermere Quinns Holiday Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windermere Quinns Holiday Home

Address: 198 Lourensford Road | Land en Zeezicht, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range: £49 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very warm welcome from Windermere/ Quinns Holiday Home Our Guesthouse is idyllically situated in the quite and beautiful town of Somerset West at the foot of the Helderberg Mountain. V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain and Cape Town is only a 40 min drive from Somerset West. Cape Town Airport can be reached by car in approximately 30 minutes. In near proximity you also have white beaches, 4 fantastic Golf Courses in Somerset West and more very close, the Winelands with lots of Winefarms are nearby. Not to forget good shopping opportunities and excellent Restaurants are around. You can go to a Game drive - only a 2 hour drive. All rooms have access to the sparkling pool, are equipped with fridge, television, heater, fan, hair dryer and electric kettle for your choice of either tea or coffee. In some rooms you can find a small kitchen or kitchenette for light self catering. The sunny lounge as well the breakfast area offers a direct view of the solar heated salt water pool. The private, over 1200m² property invites you to relax and to get away from the daily stress. Recuperate and relax is our motto. Come and enjoy one of the best Holiday Destination with German Hosts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Windermere Quinns Holiday Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Quinns Holiday Home Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing