We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rating scale is still inadequate!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Room With a View B&B
Ranked #27 of 78 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The rating scale is still inadequate!”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

My wife and I returned to Room With A View in February for another three week stay. (Please see our review dated April 2013 for our previous comments all of which still apply).
It remains the best B & B we have ever stayed at and is definitely worth more than a 5 rating. The place is immaculate, the linens pristine and everything contributes to a feeling of luxury. Hanly and Danie are perfect, caring hosts while respecting the privacy of their guests. They are always available and helpful as well as being great company.
The location is wonderful and the views across the bays and over Helderberg mountain are spectacular. We were very reluctant to leave and dearly hope we will have the opportunity to return before too long.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. Our favorite is Ocean View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John and Tish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
33
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had a wonderful weekend at Room with a View B&B! The rooms are beautiful and the view is truly spectacular. Hanli and Danie were very accommodating hosts and we felt most welcome.
We will visit again soon I hope!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAYE360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I came to Somerset West on a 2 week business trip and my company booked this quaint B&B for me. I was thrilled to wake up after arriving in the dark to see all of Cape Town - the mountains and the sea all from my big window. Then it was off to the terrace for a wonderful breakfast outside with even a better view. Hanli and her staff look after you as if you were their relatives. I will definitely be back to my Room with a View!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnDoty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timbuktu, Mali
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

All my extensive business travels around the world are in hotels and Room with a View was my first stay in a guest house. The personal touch makes all the difference in making my stay a very pleasant one. You feel part of the family and when you are away from home, this definitly wins over a hotel. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Carl Ekman

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abc D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuruman, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Room with a View B & B : Hanli and Danie are a fantastic couple and we thoroughly enjoyed their hospitality, warmth and friendliness. The location is perfect, rooms are gorgeous and the surroundings peaceful. I would defnitely recommend this accommodation.
Jan and Lynn Nel
Kuruman
Northern Cape

Room Tip: Panorama Room is an excellent choice - Spacious with a lovely view of Gordons Bay, False Bay and sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LNel1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We spent last night at Room with a View.
Thank you for an extremely comfortable , delightfully decorated , peaceful stay,.
You can sleep with the windows wide open in the Helderberg Room.
Hanlie and Danie your wonderful hospitality made us feel very welcome and we hope to visit you again one day soon

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beegee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Fortunately, wefound Room with a View and enjoeyed every day there with the fantastic view to the bay, wine yards and mountains. Breathtaking view combined with a excellent continental breakfast (nicely prepared, fresh and tasty), that's what we found. Hanli and Danie made a familiar stay possible: their warm and friendly wayto assist with golf booking, restaurant findings, places you must have seen, were discussed and made every day special. All rooms are well equipted, modern and state of the art, nicly decorated and is best condition. Bathrooms a sheer pleasure and the tranquillity surrounding to rest and relax, we have to mention. We will be back soon...

Room Tip: all pictures in the internet you find are reality!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
3.1 mi away
Guesthouse Beautiful View CC
Guesthouse Beautiful View CC
#20 of 78 in Somerset West
49 reviews
0.1 mi away
Somerset Sights B&B
Somerset Sights B&B
#23 of 78 in Somerset West
42 reviews
2.1 mi away
Woodlands Guest House
Woodlands Guest House
#18 of 78 in Somerset West
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
43 on Sandstone Guest House
43 on Sandstone Guest House
#2 of 78 in Somerset West
116 reviews
3.8 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 78 in Somerset West
365 reviews
3.2 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room With a View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room With a View B&B

Property: Room With a View B&B
Address: 42 Romulus Street, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Room With a View B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This perfectly located Cape Town Accommodation is nestled on the slopes of the sighing hilltops of Western Cape / Hottentots Holland Mountains. You can lie in bed and take in the mountain vistas and panoramic views of False Bay - unmatched and breathtaking sea views from Gordon's Bay to Cape Town. This elegant Somerset West guesthouse offers three luxurious en-suite bedrooms, with king-size double beds lead out onto balconies with breathtaking views. The spacious bedrooms, elegantly decorated with luxurious linen, all allow you to absorb the breathtaking sea views. We have recently been acclaimed (endorsed by) a superior Status 4 Star accommodation by the AA Quality Assured Assessment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Room With a View B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room With a View B&B Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing