We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Night Out”

Wang Thai Somerset West
Ranked #27 of 119 Restaurants in Somerset West
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Night Out”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Excellent Sushi and very helpful and friendly service. View was great over looking Somerset West/Strand and the sea. Would recommend the pork and Blue Island Cocktail!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rich173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    62
    29
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Overall disappointing”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

An overall very disappointing experience (3 times in a row now) from a restuarant that used to be considered one of the best in the town. Food arrived ice cold (carrots were still frozen on the dumplings) and had to be sent back, previous experiences include poor service and overpriced. No plans to return in the near future.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very good sushi and Thai food”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We had a good evening with very good food here. Sushi and Thaifood was very good. Easy place to go to

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank asimonalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food - out of this world”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I have only ever had the best Thai experience at Wang Thai. Although the decor is now getting a little out dated the food deserves a full 5 stars!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MoniqueFourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“suprisingly high quality and authentic”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We are lovers of spicy food and have eaten thai food on four continents, and remarkably this is our favourite thai restaurant outside of thailand . The service is excellent and the staff are always friendly , given how busy the place gets , and they are always happy to mix things up a bit to give us the seared tuna with the salad and dressing that we want or the curry or stirfry with the right components to give us a great meal, packed with tastes and flavours. we eat there at least once a week through the summer , and the kitchen provide a very consistent and high quality across the days and shifts - as far as we can tell anyway .

We eat a lot at the fancy gourmet winery favourites ( camphors, equus, waterkloof,rust en vrede, longridge ,tokara etc ) , and find that the wang thai is an excellent complement to these expensive and fancier places - and a bit more relaxed as well

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geoffexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wang Thai Somerset West also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Wang Thai Somerset West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing