We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most awesome hotel around.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vredenburg Manor House
Ranked #7 of 79 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most awesome hotel around.”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

What can you say, so much to say. Amazing accommodation, neat, tidy, relaxing (completely relaxing). The staff were so professional and well groomed. Martine is one in a million, thank you thank you.

Will defiantly be back. Especially for those breakfasts.

A must stay hotel in beautiful Stellenbosch / Somerset West.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
104
3
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lambourn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We had four nights at Vredenburg in January. This might be the best place we have ever stayed. It is beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable but it also has an extraordinarily calm and peaceful atmosphere and is completely relaxed and unpretentious whilst being very stylish and sophisticated. A lot of this is due to Martine and Christo who run the place and are so welcoming and professional. They clearly understand how to make the guest feel special and the distinction of the personal touch for people travelling or on holiday. I can't recommend this place highly enough and we are already planning a return trip, something we have never done before on all of our travels.

Room Tip: both the self-catering units and rooms in the house equally luxurious, depends on whether you want b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

My recent stay at Vredenburg Manor House was excellent and exceeded my expectations. The sumptuous breakfast is served on the terrace over looking the gorgeous well-kept gardens and pool - the perfect way to start one's day.

The spacious guest cottages are decorated to a high standard with an eye for detail.

The Vredenburg is in the ideal location to explore the local wine farms, or to pop into Stellenbosch.

The owners and staff made me feel extra special and welcome - their hospitality went the extra mile!

This is a property I would certainly recommend and I will returning.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyMambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freilassing, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We had a 12 night stay in dez 2012. 6 night in room no1. With breakfast. Beautyful, spacious room with a wonderul bathroom. The room was very quiet and clean.
The other 6nights we stayed in one of the self catering cottages.
Here you get a nice room and also a huge bathroom. If you like to cook, you will get a fully equiped kitchen. At the backdoor you will have a private garden with braai grill.
We had wonderfull warm nights and had. Our self prepaired meals in the garden with some wine from the region.
If you do not like to cook, there are very good restaurants like 96 vinery or stephanies place to reach in 15 min driving distance.
The pool area ist nice too. There are 6 sunbeds and umbrellas, the pool is a saltwaterpool, noz zo big, but suffizient.
Please note, you need a car.
You are in 45 min. In capetown, 10min. In somerset west and stellenbosch, and if you like in 20 min. At nike beaches.
There is a lot to do, such as wine tasting, mountain hiking, 5golfcourses in 15 minutes, and a lot of other courses in 30-45 minutes.
Thank you martine and christo for the beautiful days we could spend at your place
Heidi and norbert

Room Tip: Take room no 1 with breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gehtoans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpumalanga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2012

This is a tastefully furnished (antiques- which I love),upmarket, guest house, conveniently located between Somerset West & Stellenbosch. Wine route / beaches / V&A water front all close by. Dinner reservation made at the receommended restaurant, 96 on Winery Road- excellent meal. Peace and tranquility best describe the ambiance at the guest house. The service is very personal, catering for all your needs. I stayed in a deluxe suite which was spacious and equipped with exceptional lighting throughout. Good quality linen and a selection of pillows to suit all needs. And dont let forget the aircon for the middle of summer. Exquisite bathroom, with heated towel rail, dbl basin, dbl head shower and large bath. More than adequate cupboard and storage space for a long stay. Facility in your room to make filter coffee. There are many lounges to relax in, while reading a book. Breakfast was serviced on the verandha, over looking the pool area and always scrumptious (far too much for an expanding waistline!), with a packed breakfast for the long road, on departure. The patio is equipped with ceiling fans. My booking was for 5 nights on a business trip, but extended for another day to enjoy Cape Town. This is value for money accommodation in the area, especially considering the facilities offered. Not well known yet, but "Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Pamper yourself in a deluxe suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2012 via mobile

My husband sent me away for four days to get some much needed rest and relaxtion. This Guest House was more than perfect. Its was not only stunningly beautiful but peaceful and the hosts were so wonderful to me.
Breakfast on the stoep was magical and I was made to feel so at home. My room was gorgeous, and my bathroom was huge!
Thank you so much for making it absolutely perfect!!!
I will be returning for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brakpan, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

My second stay at the lovely Vredenburg Manor House! It's not just the wonderful setting, beautiful furnishing and superb service, but by far the personal touches and kindness of Martine and her team. Hand packed lunch boxes for early morning trips, reservations at highly recommended restaurants and all that makes life easy when away on business!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
2.5 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
5.6 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 79 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Albourne Boutique Guest House
Albourne Boutique Guest House
#6 of 79 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cape Vermeer
Cape Vermeer
#3 of 79 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.7 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#18 of 79 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vredenburg Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vredenburg Manor House

Property: Vredenburg Manor House
Address: Winery Road | 2. 1km From M9 Crossing and 2. 4km From R44 Crossing, Somerset West 7137, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vredenburg Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vredenburg Manor House is a Cape Dutch styled farmhouse, dating from the 1800's and is situated in the heart of the Cape Winelands, between the towns of Stellenbosch, and Somerset West. Spend your days discovering the Cape's must-see attractions, or unwind in the farming atmosphere, relaxing next to the pool or in winter warming up next to the fireplace. Two hectares of exotic garden landscape, five beautifully styled bedrooms, and two elegant fully furnished self catering cottages. Only the cottages are pet friendly. Vredenburg Manor House is the perfect spot to start your holiday and to end it again, before taking the short drive to the airport. An efficient local run team complete the Vredenburg Manor House experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Vredenburg Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vredenburg Manor House Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing