We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“PARADISE CLOSE TO HOME”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vredenburg Manor House
Ranked #7 of 78 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
“PARADISE CLOSE TO HOME”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Friendly, warm, welcoming home away from home. Olden day splendour, very cosy and romantic.

The owners make you feel right at home! Beatiful surrounds, views and garden.

Wonderful complete breakfast!

Can recommend to anyone!Excellent value for money!!

Will see you again most certainly!

Almarette de Wet (Rosie&Kobus)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rettels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vredenburg Mano... G, Manager at Vredenburg Manor House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hello Almarette.

Thank you for the great review. It was an absolute pleasure hosting

It was absolute pleasure hosting Rosie and Kobus.

Kind regards

Vredenburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
104
3
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We spent the first night of our honeymoon at Vredenburg and found it to be the perfect start to our marriage. Christo was very hospitable and accommodating. The bedroom and surrounds are beautiful and the service and food were outstanding! We hope to come back in future as staying there was a memorable experience. The manor house itself has an interesting character and the location is perfect for anyone wanting to relax and yet have easy access to Stellenbosch, the winelands and surrounds.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a central lounge area and balcony which is great if you are staying in group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhb
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Beautiful surrounds and gardens, glorious old manor house (circa 1800's), however with modern and luxurious finishings. Oak trees, squirrels, ducks etc.

Breakfasts and servise top class. Plenty parking and safe environment.

Room Tip: Any, but self catering flatlets great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpumalanga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

My stay at Vredenburg Manor this time was for a get-away and once again, thoroughly enjoyable. A peaceful and tastefully decorated home away from home, especially to unwind in. The room was very comfortable, equipped with a fantastic mattress, an assortment of pillows and quality towels (heated towel rail). Situated in the wine lands, I find the location central, enabling you to take in all that Cape Town has to offer. The staff are warm, efficient and friendly and serve scrumptious breakfasts. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 5 s on the ground floor and has access to the patio and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

The experience that Ian and myself have at Vredenburg Manor House is always a really good one. This is why we continue to stay at your B&B. The service is really good, friendly and warm. The rooms are very comfortable, clean with the emphasize on tasteful style and interior. We would recommend this accomodation with out a doubt.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clarissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Exception service. REALLY well looked after but I found the property in general lacking in character. Brilliant place for business travel but a little unexciting for a special weekend or a holiday. Well located for winelands and Stellenbosch though and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Luludavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vredenburg Mano... G, General Manager at Vredenburg Manor House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Contacted the guest afterwards to get ideas on improving. Feedback:
"I want to stress that we booked into Vredenburg for one night as we needed somewhere to stay on the night of my daughter’s matric dance – she is at Somerset College and we live in Cape Town. It was not a work trip or a site inspection and Vredenburg suited our needs perfectly. We arrived late, went out to dinner and then left after breakfast the next day so I had very little exposure to the property as a whole.

We were brilliantly looked after (even being given a jar of homemade marmalade to take home) and I could not fault the service and accommodation – beds were extremely comfortable and rooms well equipped.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

Quite simply this is a fantastic place to stay - set in the outlying Somerset West area, it should be a must for anyone looking for excellent accommodation at a very reasonable rate. I stayed in the self catering unit for 2 nights, and could not find fault with anything. A super comfy bed, beautiful bathroom with a great shower and well equipped kitchen.
The setting is beautiful, the staff and owners are very friendly and welcoming.
You are far enough from the hustle and bustle to relax, but close enough to enjoy the best that the Cape has to offer.
The deluxe units in the guest house are stunning and well worth the extra charge per night, having a lovely view of the Stellenbosch mountains from the main window.
Do yourself a favor and book this - I have stayed in many places around Cape Town and this is my favorite so far

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
2.6 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
5.7 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.9 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 78 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Albourne Boutique Guest House
Albourne Boutique Guest House
#6 of 78 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cape Vermeer
Cape Vermeer
#2 of 78 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
2.8 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#18 of 78 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vredenburg Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vredenburg Manor House

Property: Vredenburg Manor House
Address: Winery Road | 2. 1km From M9 Crossing and 2. 4km From R44 Crossing, Somerset West 7137, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vredenburg Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vredenburg Manor House is a Cape Dutch styled farmhouse, dating from the 1800's and is situated in the heart of the Cape Winelands, between the towns of Stellenbosch, and Somerset West. Spend your days discovering the Cape's must-see attractions, or unwind in the farming atmosphere, relaxing next to the pool or in winter warming up next to the fireplace. Two hectares of exotic garden landscape, five beautifully styled bedrooms, and two elegant fully furnished self catering cottages. Only the cottages are pet friendly. Vredenburg Manor House is the perfect spot to start your holiday and to end it again, before taking the short drive to the airport. An efficient local run team complete the Vredenburg Manor House experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vredenburg Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vredenburg Manor House Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing