We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Squirrels delight!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vredenburg Manor House
Ranked #6 of 79 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Squirrels delight!”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Beautifully decorated, spacious rooms, well appointed kitchen. Setting is park-like with so many squirrels darting about - they were a delight to watch, scurrying up and down trees and chasing each other around! We really enjoyed our stay and the surroundings. We went for a lovely walk around the estate as well.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
104
3
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Thank you Christo and Vredenburg staff for accommodating us before our Wines2Whales mountain bike stage race. A great looking farm and manor house restored to pristine condition, settled amongst the hills of Somerset area. Hope to see you again soon!
Dr Wynand van der Merwe

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wynand V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My wife and I booked into Vredenberg for a night before the start of the Wine to Whales mountain bike ride. Vredenberg is a lovely 1800 manor house surrounded by old oak trees and pristine gardens that really captivates the feel of the Cape Winelands. The Manor House has been meticulously restored to a very high specification and contains some amazing Cape Dutch antique furniture and books,

We stayed in Room 5, which Mandy rated as good as any 5 * hotel we have stayed in. Room 5 was great - lovely view overlooking spacious patio and gardens. Happy wife = happy husband.

Christo and the Vredenberg staff went out of their way - bent over backwards - to accommodate our every need. Breakfast was served at 6am to accommodate our early start.

Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Room 5 was great - lovely view overlooking spacious patio and gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warwick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vredenburg Mano... G, General Manager at Vredenburg Manor House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hi Warwick and Mandy
Was great hosting you. Next time you should stay longer and try out some of our local MTB - routes in the area. Christo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Friendly, warm, welcoming home away from home. Olden day splendour, very cosy and romantic.

The owners make you feel right at home! Beatiful surrounds, views and garden.

Wonderful complete breakfast!

Can recommend to anyone!Excellent value for money!!

Will see you again most certainly!

Almarette de Wet (Rosie&Kobus)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rettels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vredenburg Mano... G, Manager at Vredenburg Manor House, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Hello Almarette.

Thank you for the great review. It was an absolute pleasure hosting

It was absolute pleasure hosting Rosie and Kobus.

Kind regards

Vredenburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We spent the first night of our honeymoon at Vredenburg and found it to be the perfect start to our marriage. Christo was very hospitable and accommodating. The bedroom and surrounds are beautiful and the service and food were outstanding! We hope to come back in future as staying there was a memorable experience. The manor house itself has an interesting character and the location is perfect for anyone wanting to relax and yet have easy access to Stellenbosch, the winelands and surrounds.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have a central lounge area and balcony which is great if you are staying in group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jhb
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Beautiful surrounds and gardens, glorious old manor house (circa 1800's), however with modern and luxurious finishings. Oak trees, squirrels, ducks etc.

Breakfasts and servise top class. Plenty parking and safe environment.

Room Tip: Any, but self catering flatlets great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mpumalanga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2013

My stay at Vredenburg Manor this time was for a get-away and once again, thoroughly enjoyable. A peaceful and tastefully decorated home away from home, especially to unwind in. The room was very comfortable, equipped with a fantastic mattress, an assortment of pillows and quality towels (heated towel rail). Situated in the wine lands, I find the location central, enabling you to take in all that Cape Town has to offer. The staff are warm, efficient and friendly and serve scrumptious breakfasts. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Room 5 s on the ground floor and has access to the patio and pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
2.5 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
5.6 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.8 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 79 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Albourne Boutique Guest House
Albourne Boutique Guest House
#7 of 79 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cape Vermeer
Cape Vermeer
#3 of 79 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
2.7 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#18 of 79 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vredenburg Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vredenburg Manor House

Property: Vredenburg Manor House
Address: Winery Road | 2. 1km From M9 Crossing and 2. 4km From R44 Crossing, Somerset West 7137, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vredenburg Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vredenburg Manor House is a Cape Dutch styled farmhouse, dating from the 1800's and is situated in the heart of the Cape Winelands, between the towns of Stellenbosch, and Somerset West. Spend your days discovering the Cape's must-see attractions, or unwind in the farming atmosphere, relaxing next to the pool or in winter warming up next to the fireplace. Two hectares of exotic garden landscape, five beautifully styled bedrooms, and two elegant fully furnished self catering cottages. Only the cottages are pet friendly. Vredenburg Manor House is the perfect spot to start your holiday and to end it again, before taking the short drive to the airport. An efficient local run team complete the Vredenburg Manor House experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Vredenburg Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vredenburg Manor House Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing