We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vredenburg Manor House
Ranked #7 of 78 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We needed a comfortable place to stay in the Winelands before going to CT airport. It was a beautiful manor house in a lovely setting and well located for both the local wineries and the airport. The staff were very. kind and let us change and freshen up after we'd checked out.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank digitaldique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vredenburg Mano... G, Guest Relations Manager at Vredenburg Manor House, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Just a quick thank you for the lovely review you wrote on Tripadvisor. It is much appreciated!
We hope to see you again in 2015 with much more to see and enjoy!

Kind regards

Vredenburg Manor team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    17
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
104
3
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Beautiful Cape Dutch style B&B. We booked one of the smaller rooms available and weren't disappointed. Beautiful bathroom and bed, overlooking the courtyard and entrance. The staff were all very friendly, the breakfast was good. The managers went out of their way to cater for our late night returns to the B&B without any issues. Overall, a very nice & relaxed stay, with easy access to other vine yards.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahjc112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vredenburg Mano... G, Guest Relations Manager at Vredenburg Manor House, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Sarah

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor we appreciate your input very much. Please let us know how we could change the ratings for 'very good" to "Excellent !"
Hoping to see you again soon!

Kindest regards

Vredenburg Manor team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed at the Manor House for two nights and held our wedding reception next door at Winery Road Forest. Christo and his team were excellent hosts and attended to all our requests. They held a breakfast for +-25 guests on the morning after the wedding which was also top notch. The premises are elegant and the rooms are spacious!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, Arkansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Vredenburg Manor was just fabulous in every way. The atmosphere, the hospitality, the food, the rooms, the location were perfect. And Cristo could not have been more helpful and accommodating. We hope to be back soon.
Jim and Kerri - Fayetteville, AR: jcorrell@uark.edu

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

A beautiful traditional manor house with high ceilings and altogether very spacious. In fact, the owners could well have made the ground floor into more rooms but clearly chose to leave very grand rooms for use by the guests.

Well furnished with antiques and modern comfortable sofas inside and on the covered terrace too. The bedroom was very spacious too and very comfortable, with a separate dressing area toilet and lovely bathroom with freestanding bath and a separate large walk-in shower with twin washbasins.

Lovely mature grounds and a large swimming pool that is surrounded by very comfy loungers and parasols. Watch the squirrels dart about.

Very friendly helpful owner, Christoff, and staff too made the stay most enjoyable.
Great breakfasts served either on the covered terrace or in the dining room.
Needed at least a week here to explore the winelands etc and not just 2 days.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reichenau, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Great rooms very comfortable renovated with all you need. Great service, very supportive management in restaurant tips and reservations. Vinearea is very interesting to visit. Stellenbosch is like little Europe - summer in France.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kerstin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valkenburg, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Beautiful Manor House, garden, old trees, very nice pool and excellent service.
The owner was also very helpfull in making reservations in good restaurants in the neighbourhood. Our cottage was well equiped, with own terrace/garden and BB facility. A place to return to and recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
2.6 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
5.7 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
1.9 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 78 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Albourne Boutique Guest House
Albourne Boutique Guest House
#6 of 78 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
3.4 mi away
Cape Vermeer
Cape Vermeer
#2 of 78 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
2.8 mi away
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
#21 of 78 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vredenburg Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vredenburg Manor House

Property: Vredenburg Manor House
Address: Winery Road | 2. 1km From M9 Crossing and 2. 4km From R44 Crossing, Somerset West 7137, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Vredenburg Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vredenburg Manor House is a Cape Dutch styled farmhouse, dating from the 1800's and is situated in the heart of the Cape Winelands, between the towns of Stellenbosch, and Somerset West. Spend your days discovering the Cape's must-see attractions, or unwind in the farming atmosphere, relaxing next to the pool or in winter warming up next to the fireplace. Two hectares of exotic garden landscape, five beautifully styled bedrooms, and two elegant fully furnished self catering cottages. Only the cottages are pet friendly. Vredenburg Manor House is the perfect spot to start your holiday and to end it again, before taking the short drive to the airport. An efficient local run team complete the Vredenburg Manor House experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vredenburg Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vredenburg Manor House Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing