We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely manor house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vredenburg Manor House
Ranked #7 of 81 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights from 17 May, as surprise guests from the UK for our sons birthday bash held here.
Thanks to Christo, keeping us out of sight in this lovely location, our son was suitably surprised and very happy to see us.
We stayed in one of the cottages on the estate and made use of the main manor house facilities, including a great full English breakfast. The cottages were actually quite large for holiday accommodation and were well equipped for self catering. Dimmed lighting in the main room and bathroom added to the luxury feeling of the cottage. Super accommodation in a lovely location, we would recommemd this manor house to others and look forward to a return visit in the not too distant future.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Wonderful and friendly service that made it a comfortable stay.
There is not much to add. Very relaxed atmosphere and very helpful staff.
Beautiful location and not to far from Stellenbosch. Very quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carlo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vredenburg Mano... G, Guest Relations Manager at Vredenburg Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Carlo

We at Vredenburg Manor would like to thank you for the lovely review you have written. We strive for excellence and we are grateful that we succeeded in making your stay a memorable one.

Kindest regards

Vredenburg Manor team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We needed a comfortable place to stay in the Winelands before going to CT airport. It was a beautiful manor house in a lovely setting and well located for both the local wineries and the airport. The staff were very. kind and let us change and freshen up after we'd checked out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank digitaldique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vredenburg Mano... G, Guest Relations Manager at Vredenburg Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Just a quick thank you for the lovely review you wrote on Tripadvisor. It is much appreciated!
We hope to see you again in 2015 with much more to see and enjoy!

Kind regards

Vredenburg Manor team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Beautiful Cape Dutch style B&B. We booked one of the smaller rooms available and weren't disappointed. Beautiful bathroom and bed, overlooking the courtyard and entrance. The staff were all very friendly, the breakfast was good. The managers went out of their way to cater for our late night returns to the B&B without any issues. Overall, a very nice & relaxed stay, with easy access to other vine yards.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahjc112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vredenburg Mano... G, Guest Relations Manager at Vredenburg Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Dear Sarah

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor we appreciate your input very much. Please let us know how we could change the ratings for 'very good" to "Excellent !"
Hoping to see you again soon!

Kindest regards

Vredenburg Manor team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed at the Manor House for two nights and held our wedding reception next door at Winery Road Forest. Christo and his team were excellent hosts and attended to all our requests. They held a breakfast for +-25 guests on the morning after the wedding which was also top notch. The premises are elegant and the rooms are spacious!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Vredenburg Manor was just fabulous in every way. The atmosphere, the hospitality, the food, the rooms, the location were perfect. And Cristo could not have been more helpful and accommodating. We hope to be back soon.
Jim and Kerri - Fayetteville, AR: jcorrell@uark.edu

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

A beautiful traditional manor house with high ceilings and altogether very spacious. In fact, the owners could well have made the ground floor into more rooms but clearly chose to leave very grand rooms for use by the guests.

Well furnished with antiques and modern comfortable sofas inside and on the covered terrace too. The bedroom was very spacious too and very comfortable, with a separate dressing area toilet and lovely bathroom with freestanding bath and a separate large walk-in shower with twin washbasins.

Lovely mature grounds and a large swimming pool that is surrounded by very comfy loungers and parasols. Watch the squirrels dart about.

Very friendly helpful owner, Christoff, and staff too made the stay most enjoyable.
Great breakfasts served either on the covered terrace or in the dining room.
Needed at least a week here to explore the winelands etc and not just 2 days.
We'll be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somerset West
2.6 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
383 reviews
5.8 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
Erinvale Estate Hotel and Spa
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
344 reviews
4.2 mi away
Spier Hotel
Spier Hotel
#5 of 17 in Stellenbosch
2,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 81 in Somerset West
400 reviews
20.6 mi away
Glen Avon Lodge
Glen Avon Lodge
#3 of 40 in Constantia
207 reviews
4.5 mi away
Albourne Boutique Guest House
Albourne Boutique Guest House
#6 of 81 in Somerset West
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vredenburg Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vredenburg Manor House

Address: Winery Road | 2. 1km From M9 Crossing and 2. 4km From R44 Crossing, Somerset West 7137, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range: £72 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vredenburg Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vredenburg Manor House is a Cape Dutch styled farmhouse, dating from the 1800's and is situated in the heart of the Cape Winelands, between the towns of Stellenbosch, and Somerset West. Spend your days discovering the Cape's must-see attractions, or unwind in the farming atmosphere, relaxing next to the pool or in winter warming up next to the fireplace. Two hectares of exotic garden landscape, five beautifully styled bedrooms, and two elegant fully furnished self catering cottages. Only the cottages are pet friendly. Vredenburg Manor House is the perfect spot to start your holiday and to end it again, before taking the short drive to the airport. An efficient local run team complete the Vredenburg Manor House experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Vredenburg Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vredenburg Manor House Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing