We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My holiday 'oasis'....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Firmount Guest Suites
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Over the last couple of years I have stayed at Firmount Guest Suites 5 times. Once I had discovered this oasis there was simply nowhere else for me, each visit has been an absolute pleasure. Janet, Grant and family are excellent hosts and have the unique knack of making you feel welcome and at ease from the moment you arrive without being intrusive. The accommodation is spotless, bright and fresh looking along with being well equipped for self catering for breakfast or those rare evenings that you may prefer to eat in. Both Daisy and May Suites have a lovely patio, Jasmine has it's own balcony with a view. I have stayed in all three and they are all unique in their own differing ways. The gardens are excellently maintained and offer a calming effect as soon as you drive in, parking is secure with electric gate access. Firmount facilities are brilliant and coupled with the warm welcome offered it clearly stand outs, people make a place a success, Janet and her wonderful family offer unique customer service to all their guests.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank KATE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 14 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

This visit was as enjoyable as our last one two years ago. Combining a stay in Jasmine with a 4 day stay in Jasmine makes for a wonderful break and allows for both a city and a more scenic holiday. The Firmount location dictates a peaceful environment but also close to many amenities eg malls, restaurants and local shops. The latter walkable.

Jasmine has a 2 room configuration with plenty of space and is very well appointed, with a pleasant balcony.
All amenities are cared for and eating in is as easy and convenient as eating out.

The suite is well looked after and maintained on a daily basis and Janet and Grant are welcoming and caring hosts.

We will be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morleykeith48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

went back for a 2nd time from Joburg for my annual trip to do the Argus cycle tour and as with our first visit we were very satisfied with everything. Janet and Grant definitely go out of their way to make sure everything is tip top.I am sure we will be back next MarchThanks. Karlie and Rosemary Heidt

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karlie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I stayed with Grant and Janet for about 2 weeks in November 2013 in the Jasmine room. It was wonderful - quiet, private, comfortable and as always at Firmount - beautifully clean and well-cared for. They go the extra mile to make sure one has everything one needs. I loved the room, great for an extended stay and it felt like I had my very own little home where I could come and go as I pleased. I highly recommend Grant and Janet's little piece of heaven to you, it is by far the best accommodation I have stayed in in Somerset West.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Owner at Firmount Guest Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comment about our establishment, Firmount Guest Suites. We know that guests like the personal touch and so connecting with our guests in this way is very important to us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again before very long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Our room was large with a garden patio and well equipped so we could have some meals there. The bed was very comfortable with top quality linens and room was very quiet.
The owners were friendly and very helpful with helping us to make the most of the area. The nearby wine country was a highlight! The property had beautiful gardens and a secure gated entrance with parking. We wish we could have spent a month there!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Owner at Firmount Guest Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you very much for your helpful review of Firmount Guest suites. Yes, many of our guests really enjoy eating on the patio in summer under the fully leafed, cool vine adjoining the May Room. we, ourselves, value both cleanliness and a good night's rest and we are so glad that you found both of these to be true of the state of our May Room and our beds.
We are blessed to be located in a MOST beautiful part of South Africa and there are certainly, as you say, some really lovely sites to visit.
Thank you again for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Firmount Guest Suites are a great place to stay and you are well located for everything that Somerset West and its surrounding areas has to offer. Janet and Grant are the most delightful hosts who go out of their way to make you feel welcome. This has been our third trip staying in the Daisy Room. The room is always exceptionally clean and it is very practical - there is a small kitchen unit (sink, microwave, fridge, kettle, toaster), good shower facilities and plenty of storage space for two sets of luggage. Outside you can sit at a table and bench and enjoy the warm evenings. In our view, Firmount Guest Suites offers great value for money. There is also room to park your car on a secure driveway. We can't wait to go back in 2014!

Room Tip: very quiet location and a really peaceful place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearl915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janet C, Owner at Firmount Guest Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for your kind words about our establishment, Firmount Guest Suites. A good number of our guests agree wholeheartedly with you about how conveniently situated we are and with how much there is to offer in and around Somerset West. The Daisy Room is the smallest of our rooms and yet it is the one that guests, like yourselves, ask for repeatedly...this never fails to amaze us and we are intrigued by the charming effect that this smallish room has on our dear guests.
Cleanliness is very important to us and that is one of the most frequent comments we receive from our guests about the accommodation we offer. The other most frequent comment is about the tranquillity and peaceful ambiance of our establishment.
When building the guest rooms we asked ourselves what one would need when staying in holiday accommodation and then we put in all these things that we ourselves would require.

Thank you again for your comments and we are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
0.1 mi away
Woodlands Guest House
Woodlands Guest House
#19 of 82 in Somerset West
91 reviews
1.1 mi away
Southern Cross Guesthouse
Southern Cross Guesthouse
#5 of 82 in Somerset West
226 reviews
0.1 mi away
KaapsePracht Bed & Breakfast
KaapsePracht Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 82 in Somerset West
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Somer Place B&B
Somer Place B&B
#33 of 82 in Somerset West
31 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
356 reviews
0.3 mi away
a'Vue Guesthouse
a'Vue Guesthouse
#58 of 82 in Somerset West
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firmount Guest Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firmount Guest Suites

Address: 15 Firmount Road, Somerset West 7130, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Somerset West
Price Range: £37 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Firmount Guest Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Firmount Guest Suites centrally positioned in a lovely neighbourhood of Somerset West and is within walking distance of our local market and wonderful restaurants. We have three very comfortable self-catering suites - two studios and a one-bedroom suite. Each suite offers wireless internet connection, their own external access, outside sitting area and secure off-street parking. The Daisy Room is our smaller en-suite studio with a queen bed. It has a kitchenette (sink, bar fridge, kettle, toaster and microwave). It opens onto its own patio area. The May Room is an en-suite studio with either a king bed or 2 single beds. It also has a kitchenette (sink, bar fridge, kettle, toaster and microwave). It also opens onto its own patio area. Room Jasmine: a one bedroom flat which includes a large spacious bedroom with queen bed, a full bathroom and an open plan kitchen / dining / living area opening onto a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Firmount Guest Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Firmount Guest Suites Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing