We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somerset Villa delight”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Ranked #18 of 79 Somerset West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Somerset Villa delight”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed over for only one night, but will definitely be back as the service was amazing, food delicious and the pool looked so inviting, have to be back to dive in! Well done, Rocco and team!

Erna Goedhart

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank egoedhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    45
    11
    6
    0
See reviews for
42
50
2
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Beautiful surroundings, welcoming atmosphere and friendly staff make this our home away when we return to CapeTown. Situated next to the wineries around Stellenbosch and close to Airport. Best value on our trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Somerset Villa Guesthouse is an absolute gem situated in the heart of the Cape Winelands...and I recommend it wholeheartedly. From the minute you are welcomed by Jurg, Rocco and team you realise that this place is special.

Our family room was spacious, neat and well furnished with all that was required, including a small fridge for personal use and a private patio area. The guesthouse pool and the garden area was perfect for late afternoon swims and relaxation with a glass of wine.

Breakfasts were wholesome and served in an airy dining room or on the patio. The wide range of dishes provided all the energy needed to travel in and around this beautiful part of the world.

It was the hospitality of Jurg, Rocco, Graeme and the staff that impressed me most. No request was refused and they helped out as much as possible to make our stay enjoyable. This included supplying eating utensils for visitors who joined us for braai's in the evening and doing washing over the 15 days that we stayed there.

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Somerset Villas and look forward to visiting again…

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wade V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pfreimd, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The guesthouse is in town, but very quiet with a beautiful garden. Jan and his Team were very friendly and helpful to plan trips and Restaurants. The reception area is very nice to relax. An excellent place to start wine tours.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Reinhard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The rooms are very nice, clean and spacious. They provided a babycot for our daughter (1yr). The guesthouse has also a nice garden and swimmingpool. The staf was very friendly and helpfull. They also allowed us to use their kitchen for preparing some babyfood.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Wilco97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This is a wonderful place set in a quite and peaceful environment. Close to all amenities.
Stunning views of nature.
Excellent service and personal care. Wonderful staff and Management.
Selvan Pillay & Family
Durban
S.A

Room Tip: Luxury suite, ground floor, opening to private garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank selvan1pillay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

On arrival at the guesthouse one finds immediately a sense of being on a farm with the original 90 year old farmhouse part of the guesthouse. A well located guesthouse in a quiet area with guinea fowl that provided music for the evening. A spacious room with direct access from the main house as well as a private door leading to the patio and swimming pool. The breakfast was delicious with a variety to choose from. Rocco was throughoiy veru friendly and informative. Can definitely recommend the guesthouse for a peacefull and relaxed stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2westernboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Somerset West hotels
0.7 mi away
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
NH Cape Town The Lord Charles
#1 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
3.1 mi away
Erinvale Estate Hotel
Erinvale Estate Hotel
#2 of 6 in Somerset West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.5 mi away
Winelands Villa Guesthouse & Cottages
Winelands Villa Guesthouse & Cot...
#20 of 79 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Blaauwheim Guest House
Blaauwheim Guest House
#1 of 79 in Somerset West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
1.7 mi away
Albourne Boutique Guest House
Albourne Boutique Guest House
#6 of 79 in Somerset West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silver Forest Boutique Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset Villa Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset Villa Guesthouse

Property: Somerset Villa Guesthouse
Address: 136 Helderberg College Road, Somerset West 7130, South Africa (Formerly The Beautiful West)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Somerset West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Somerset West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset Villa Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discreetly hidden from public view is this tranquil oasis offering nine, exquisite rooms for the discerning guest who values great comfort and out-standing hospitality. The refreshing, large swimming pool situated in a lush garden provides the tranquil setting for a lovely holiday or conference in the heart of the Cape Winelands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Somerset Villa Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Villa Guesthouse Somerset West, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing