We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”

Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours
Ranked #1 of 8 Tours in Somerset West
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wine Escapes was born out of a love for South Africa, its great wine and a passion to share our wine culture and heritage. Our vision is thus to partner with various wine farms in building South Africa's reputation as a wine destination of choice. To do this we offer specialized, exclusive wine tours where guests are introduced to some of the best Estates and wines, whilst providing them with excellent service and hospitality.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We booked a half day wine tour with John through Cloudes Estate where we stayed for a lovely weekend in Stellenbosch. We always enjoy a good glass of wine but are by no means experts when it comes to wine. John picked us up at the estate and very much tailored the afternoon to our wishes and level of existing knowledge. We went off to Franschhoek as we were recommended by friends to go there. John took us around Franschhoek a bit to introduce us to the area before we visited 3 different wineries. At the first estate (called Chamonix) we learned about local "champagne" production including a visit to the cellars, followed by a great wine tasting where we learned a lot about the various grapes and different aspects of wine production. At the second estate (called Le Motte) we visited the production site and cellar where we learned about individual production steps as well many things related to barrel production and storage. At the 3rd estate (a small estate called La Maison???) we did another wine tasting and learned about various foods and how they suite different wines (truffels, cheese, chocolate...). John is a great guide and we very much enjoyed his company (not just due to the rising level of alcohol)! We would book a tour any time again and highly recommend booking a day with him. J+N

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jadine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Crown Jewel of our Cape Town Trip”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Wine Escapes is a first class operation - every detail was perfectly accounted for: from the moment we booked our tour, John inquired what we wanted to do/what types of wines my husband and I enjoyed, what we wanted to see while in the Winelands, etc - and from there the tour was incredibly well catered to us; all in all, a very special experience. The farms he selected for the day were superb (and you could tell he and Wine Escapes in general were well liked everywhere we visited), and John kindly answered our many questions about the area, wines, tasting and wine making. The tour was further bespoke as when John found out that we were avid golfers (during lunch that day), he quickly set up a special tour of the Ernie Els wine farm down the road - it was such a special experience and an incredible day. We can't say enough good things about Wine Escapes and their true attention to detail, customer service, and knowledge of the area. Do yourself a favor and book a fantastic day with John and Wine Escapes - you will not be sorry you did!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank asblanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding bespoke wine tours from Cape Town”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

John Grant hosted us for a personalised wine tour in Stellenbosch to take in some sauvignon Blancs and full bodied reds. It was a superb day out and John's manner and wine knowledge were exceptional. He is an absolute expert and has a full and detailed knowledge of the region's farms and wines. John easily becomes your friend for the day and he is excellent company. I would unreservedly recommend John and Wine Escapes to anyone visiting Cape Town , the personalised service is worth it and I would not consider a group trip after this memorable experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry-Linn, Owner at Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to send us such a kind review. We appreciate it very much and are so glad you enjoyed your day and of course, the wines! Our beautiful Winelands and wines make our jobs so easy and fun, we love it here!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“A perfect day”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My husband and I had a fantastic day with John and Wine Escapes. They helped us put together a great itinerary, and had a wonderful recommendation for lunch. Its clear that John knows a lot about the wines and the history and characteristics of the region. We learned a lot, had special treatment at the vineyards, and enjoyed the itinerary and customer service. I highly recommend Wine Escapes for any customer - international or local visitors!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry-Linn, Owner at Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to send us a review. We are so glad you enjoyed the day and the wines of course, some special ones were brought out!! See you next time you are in SA!,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The tour with John was absolutely perfect. His polite and kind nature, his knowledge of wine, the history of wine and the history of the Western Cape were admirable and made for stimulating and fascinating conversation. John picked a great range of wineries in the Stellenbosch and Franschkoek areas and gave me a highly interesting overview of larger as well as smaller boutique wineries.
I cannot recommend a tour with Wine Escapes too highly! It will be a perfect, unforgettable and, above all, a very tasteful day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank WJCN04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherry-Linn, Owner at Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you so much for sending us a review. It was a great pleasure spending the day with you and are very glad you enjoyed the wines. South Africa's history and wines are so interesting and we love sharing them with our guests. See you back in SA soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours also viewed

Somerset West, Cape Town
Somerset West, Cape Town
 

Been to Wine Escapes - Exclusive Cellar & Vineyard Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing